big kids

Beckett is big for her age.  She was born an average size (8 pounds, 20 inches), but shot up around the 9-month mark.  She hovers in the 200th percentile (whatever these numbers mean?!?) and is now the height of an average 6 year old.  By the way – she’s 3-1/2.  It would seem that Jacob and I grow ’em big because Camden is approaching the same growth pattern as her big sister.

Beckett is healthy as a horse and just utterly amazing, but having a tall kid does make for some challenges…

“Because she is 2”

When Beckett drops into a spread-eagle, body altering, extreme screeching, full throttle tantrum – her behavior is guaranteed to warrant the expected sideways glance from a few bystanders as I drag her out of the store.  But, it’s the wide-eyed shock of seeing a “five year old” acting like a toddler that never ceases to amaze me.  I am planning on putting together shirts that say “BECAUSE I’M 2” on the back for Camden.

Too fast

I am not ready to shop in the size 6 section of the consignment store and I am certain to get a bit weepy seeing bins already shelved with 5T clothes…

Trippy flippy flops

Beckett wears a size 11 shoe.  She wants flip flops just like mom. But, she can’t walk in flip flops without straps on the back.  I am on the hunt, and have been for six months, for what appears to be shoes that don’t exist.  Flip flop makers don’t seem to have picked up on the trend that some kids are big.

“But I can’t hold my head up yet”

I rely on infant car seats for those first few months when carting a sleepy baby in out of the car is so much easier if they are contained.  Too bad, my kiddos hit the length limit on the infant carrier well before they are ready to move to the full size car seat that works for babies to big kids.

“I’m tall enough”

Beckett is fearless and goes all out in everything she does.  There is a waterslide at the local pool she has been eyeing since she was about two.  There is no minimum age, but there is a minimum height – 48 inches.  Beckett has been striving to reach that “line” and is almost there.  She’s ready – ’cause she’s the height and has no fear.  Uh – but we’re not.  We’re working on the new reason she can’t go, since height won’t be a consideration soon.

Beckett at 5 months old

This entry was posted in family first, random rants. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to big kids

  1. rambleginger says:

    The “because he’s TWO” thing is SUCH a killer. You know we have a big kid too, and he’s often mistaken in size for a 4 year old–which I *KNOW* is a source of some of the side eye I’ve gotten.

    I love the idea of the shirt!

    • sacredbee says:

      I know that you know exactly what I’m talking about. In addition to carrying a large kid out of the store, you get the “looks”. We struggle with Beckett, too, because she is incredibly verbal and has been from a very young age – so you add big kid + talks like a big kid and people really assume she’s older. When I get the shirts made – I’ll let you know. 🙂

  2. rambleginger says:

    You know I feel you on this, especially the “because he’s two” bit. It’s so hard when he looks 4, but is only 2. I LOVE the idea of that shirt!

  3. houseofkirk says:

    We have a mix in our house, half look much older – due to size. The other half look younger – due to size. For example, I was just asking our niece if her 3-year-old daughter was in need of hand-me-downs from our 6-year-old. To my surprise her daughter is already in 5T (she doesn’t ‘look’ that big). We had a laugh and joked that our 6-year-old would soon be getting hand-me-downs from her 3-year-old. On the flip side, our boys (we have three) have very large heads and chest. Therefore they require MUCH bigger sizes to even get their clothes over their heads.

    On a side note, here is a link for DIY flip-flop straps for little ones. Hope this helps!

    http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2011/04/interchangeable-flip-flop-back-straps.html

    • houseofkirk says:

      I should add to our 6-year-old *JUST* got into size 6 and that is only thanks to adjustable waist bands. We made the switch because she wanted ‘more grown up styles’. She could easily wear a 4T still. She weighs a whole whopping 35 pounds soaking wet. Most kids in her class (1st grade) are 2-years older than she is and double her size. Such a little peanut.

    • sacredbee says:

      These straps are awesome for the flip flops! 🙂 Now I just have to find the time… It’s interesting how sizing pans out with kids. Our neighbor girl is almost exactly Beckett’s age, but wears 2T clothes. When you put the two together, you’d swear they were at least three years apart. Thank you again for the link!

Leave a Reply

