i gotta go

Politeness is a virtue that deserves a lot of emphasis.  The common courtesies of “please” and “thank you” go a long way, but even a simple acknowledgement shouldn’t be overlooked.  For all its simplicity, politeness pulls together so many other admirable qualities – empathy, kindness, caring, giving and even love.  Raising children brings this “skill” to the forefront as you teach the basic virtues of humanity.  I strive to be the person I am raising my child to be.  And, this blog is the portrait I show of myself.  Oh, it’s not quite as rough around the edges or real as my hair in the morning, but it is ME, through and through.  I love the community we’ve created and the words of wisdom, encouragement and even enlightenment I am blessed with on a daily basis.  In a world where it’s easy to feel a distance between friends and others, I can reach so many of you with just the click of the keyboard and the glow of the computer.

I read blogs, but I’m a bit late to the game when it comes to blogging.  And, I am picky about who and what I read.  With two little kiddos now, my time is golden.  I have ten hours worth of stuff to cram into thirty minutes and I am forever playing catchup.  So, if you want me stick around your blog – don’t do these things.  Otherwise, I’m gonna say sayonara and go.

Write well.  I’m not talking pulitzer price worthy material, but I find it physically painful to muddle my way through grammatical errors, typos and disorganization.

Respond to my comments.  I am not asking for acknowledgement to all my comments, or even three-quarters of my comments, but just a “hey, I see you’re there, reading my blog” would be awesome.  I have a blogger I sorta follow with two children the same ages as Beckett and Camden (literally within weeks of the two girls’ birthdates).  I said hello, introduced myself, popped in with comments on a few posts and got nothing.  Nadda.  Zilch.  It’s hard to foster a relationship of any kind, even if it is just on the computer, if it’s completely one-sided.

Don’t cut-off your reader postings.  I love using my feed reader for the dozen blogs I follow.  But, a sure way to get my blood boiling and my mouse hovering over “unsubscribe” is to tease me with three or four sentences and ask me to click forward to read the rest of the post.

Don’t flood me with posts.  I like you or I wouldn’t be reading your stuff, but I have a bit of a sour taste in my mouth if I get hit with upwards of six or seven posts a week.  Participation in NaBloPoMo is one thing and I do think it’s fun to read the creative posts people string together for a month, but this event is only a month long thing – not an all.the.time thing.  On the flip side, don’t post so infrequently that I forgot who you are and what the heck you’re talking about.

These are just my common blog courtesies.  So, with a please and thank you – let’s hang out.

This entry was posted in random rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

