babee greens: organic cloth diapers (review & giveaway)

I was a cloth diapering fan before I had children.  Baby bums are adorable to start with, but when they are wrapped in pastel prints and bright colors, even non-baby lovers have been known to teeter on the verge of ooing and aahing.  The nostalgia of white inserts hanging to dry on the line in the brilliant sunshine is quintessential Americana at its best.

When I began cloth diapering Beckett, I grabbed a great starter set for under $60 from a local company.  I didn’t know what I was doing and I wasn’t fully committed to the investment.  I foolishly thought cloth diapering might be more expensive than disposable (it’s okay, you can laugh with me now) and it would mean an endless cycle of laundry.  I quickly fell in love with the ease and affordability and even converted my vehemently anti-cloth diapering husband to the reusable side.

Beckett was a heavy wetter as a wee one and needed us to keep a vigilant eye on her diapers at all times.  Disposables can hold an almost unrealistic amount of waste without leaking a drop, but cloth diapers are a bit more reasonable in their capabilities.  As Beckett grew older, she began holding what seemed to be all of her pee for release at night.  All.of.it.  We struggled to find diapers that could hold the tidal wave.  Her prefolds just couldn’t keep up and would invariably leak night after night.  Camden appears to have the same tendencies as her sister and is already pushing the limits of what a single prefold can soak up.

What I needed was a diaper that was affordable, provided wrap around protection in addition to the waterproof cover, could hold enough overnight pee that Camden’s well established nighttime sleep pattern was not interrupted and was made of a material that wicked away her wetness and kept her baby skin healthy.

Does such a diaper exist?  Yes, my friends, it does.

It is the Babee Greens Growing Greens Organic cloth diaper.  The diapers are a fitted style made of a blend of 55% cotton and 45% hemp and offer extreme absorbency for those heavy wetters (Hi, Camden!).  The cotton and hemp blend offers outstanding absorbency with healthy breathability for baby’s delicate skin.  The diapers’ optional inserts are trim and easy to keep attached with two snaps or just pop in and out as needed.

The diapers claim to fit a baby from 5 pounds to 35 pounds and I can attest to this statement’s accuracy.  In my experience, it’s the little bums that are the hardest to cover and provide adequate leak protection for without making the baby look like they are wrapped from armpit to armpit in thick wads of material.  I grow my kids long and lean – Beckett tops the scale at 46 pounds, but wears a 3T pair of underwear.  She is fully potty trained, but being a true blogger/tester, I put her in a pair.  And, true to the claim, the Babee Greens Growing Greens diaper fits her snugly.  I love that the diaper changes sizes by utilizing a clever band of snaps at the waistline.  The waist can be folded over or left at full-length depending on baby’s size and then the rows of snaps can be used to fit the waist portion snugly as needed.

Here is a great video of Babee Greens in action.  It’s so much better than any pamphlet or diagram.

I have struggled with the cost of organic cotton in the past, particularly cloth diapers and feminine products.  But, here’s the truth – cotton is the most actively pesticide sprayed crop behind coffee.  It’s the fabric that is coming into contact with your and your baby’s most gentle and delicate parts and if it is conventionally grown, not organic, you are subjecting yourself to the very real danger of toxic exposure.

Once the investment has been made for organic diapers, you are done spending.  Babee Greens diapers are affordable, at under $20 each, and can be used from birth through toddlerhood, from baby to baby and are flexible with almost whatever diaper cover or wrap you have or prefer.  The snaps that are key to the trim fit are PVC-free, too.

One of my favorite parts of Babee Greens is the line of wool covers they carry.  They are all up-cycled from 100% merino wool sweaters.  Each cover has the natural waterproof qualities of wool and the funky craziness of a unique material combination that makes each cover colorful and fun.

Babee Greens has put together an exciting fitted cloth diaper alternative.  The organic make-up ensures that your baby’s precious bum is safe from toxic chemicals and the price tag and size-range from birth to toddlerhood keep the investment affordable.  All of the products are made 100% in the USA and support our local economy.  Babee Greens is a company I am proud to feature on the blog and happy to support.

Where to buy? Check out Babee Greens’ website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Babee Greens on Facebook.

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a:

  • A one-size organic cotton diaper from Babee Greens

Interested in entering the giveaway?  Comment on this post and tell me:  Are you a cloth diaper user or a disposable diaper user? No kids… Did your parents use cloth diapers or disposable diapers with you?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Babee Greens on Facebook

Giveaway will be closed to entries on Saturday, March 24th, 2012 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in bundle of baby, oh! it's organic!, practically personal, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

141 Responses to babee greens: organic cloth diapers (review & giveaway)

  1. Lauriel says:

    Ooh we might be buying some of these, we need a better night time solution. We cloth diaper Scout in bum genius all in ones, we love them. However, we have found that we have to change her as many times as she nurses throughout the night. Not a huge concern, as she is already awake to eat, but we would love a more absorbent night time diaper!

  2. Lauriel says:

    We subscribe via email

  3. Lauriel says:

    We subscribe via google reader.

  4. katherine says:

    We use gdiapers for the convenience of both cloth and disposable when absolutely necessary. Love them, and would love to try these!

  5. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  6. christine kangas says:

    i’m a fan of babee greens on FB (christinekangas)

  7. christine kangas says:

    i’m a fan of sacred bee on fb (christinekangas)

  8. christine kangas says:

    we use cloth diapers, but mostly pockets. I’ve not tried fitteds or AIOs yet

  9. shana says:

    I use both. I need more cloth and a wet bag. So I can just use cloth. My parents used disposable ones. I was too busy doing my research on Breastfeeding that I forgot the diapering part. LOLnow I know.it is just expensive to get started being a single mother. I can follow on Facebook. Hope I Win!

  10. Jessica S says:

    We use cloth diapers.

  11. sherah says:

    We cd my son, and we’re gonna cd our second coming this summer. I’ve been wanting to try Babee Greens! 🙂

  12. sherah says:

    i like Babee Greens on fb

  13. Erin Spainhour says:

    We use Babee Greens for our nighttime diapers. They are fabulous! Not a leak yet, of ourse we are only 4 months into this baby thing 🙂

  14. Jennifer C. says:

    We plan on cloth diapering and my mom cloth diapered me with those terrible plastic pants you put on top!

  15. Jennifer C. says:

    I like Sacred Bee on Facebook!

  16. Jennifer C. says:

    I like Babee Greens on Facebook!

  17. I am 24 weeks along with our baby girl. We will be using cloth diapers and I am researching so many of them. I love these and would love to win some for our precious girl. Thank you so much!!

  18. I am following Sacred Bees on twitter, liked it on FB as well babee greens!!!!

  19. gemma schmit says:

    i’m cloth diapering my 3 month old – and my parents used cloth with me! I own 2 babes greens wool covers and absolutely love them! would love to try their fitted diapers!

  20. Alex Liz Robinson says:

    We are going to plan on cloth diapering and my parents used disposables on us.

  21. Alex Liz Robinson says:

    I subscribed by email

  22. Alex Liz Robinson says:

    Fan of sacred bee on FB as Alex Liz Robinson

  23. Alex Liz Robinson says:

    Fan of bebee green on FB as Alex Liz Robinson

  24. House of Kirk says:

    Like most people in my generation I grew up with the tales of cloth diapers being more expensive and taking sooooo much work. I was all set to cloth diaper my oldest 12 years ago until a co-worker and my husband talked me out of it. Fast forward four more babies and after much insisting on my part, we switched to cloth diapers. Not just diapers, butt wipes, feminie products, and household helpers: cloth napkins, towels, etc. My goal is to eliminate all toxins that can be avoided – and in this day in age plastic is in everything…or so it seems. We are getting back to nature one product at a time and loving every minute of it. Side note: I cannot say for certain, but I would say it is a fair statement that using cloth diapers aided in our being able to potty train our son by one year of age. He has been out of diapers (aside from a few precautionary long car rides and Grandmas’s house) for over a year (he is 25 months) and I am blown away! In fact, the only reason we have diapers in the house at all is because his older brother has digestive/potty training issues and requires diapers, who has been converted to cloth diapers as well. I sing cloth diaper praises from the roof tops, I hope the next generation will grow to embrase them.

  25. Christine says:

    I love cloth diapers; they are addictive.

  26. Christine says:

    email subscriber

  27. Soozle says:

    Cloth diapers all the way!

  28. Soozle says:

    Email subscriber

  29. Soozle says:

    I follow you on FB Suzanne Kristy

  30. Soozle says:

    I’ve shared on FB Suzanne Krsity

  31. Soozle says:

    I’ve grabbed your button for my blog
    http://www.sooozle.blogspot.com

  32. Soozle says:

    I liike Babee greens on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  33. Soozle says:

  34. Katrina says:

    I use cloth with my youngest.

  35. debnmike m says:

    i use cloth diapers on my boy and i love it. I am so old that my mom used cloth on me, too.

  36. debnmike m says:

    email subscriber

  37. debnmike m says:

    follow you on fb as debnmike moretti

  38. debnmike m says:

    tweeted

  39. debnmike m says:

    follow you on twitter as @boyzrule1

  40. debnmike m says:

    follow babee greens on fb as debnmike moretti

  41. debnmike m says:

    fb share with link

  42. Kimberlie T says:

    I’m a cloth diaper user and have been for 21 months. Getting ready for baby #4 due in August and preparing to cloth diaper him/her from birth.
    Thanks for the review/giveaway.

  43. Kimberlie T says:

    I get Sacred Bee emails…
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  44. Kimberlie T says:

    Sacred Bee FB fan – Kimberlie S.T.

  45. Kimberlie T says:

    I follow you on twitter – @JLJMommy and tweeted:
    https://twitter.com/#!/jljmommy/status/175820407578968064 3-2-12

  46. Kimberlie T says:

    Your button is on my blog’s right sidebar at http://theclothexperiment.blogspot.com/.

  47. Kimberlie T says:

    I’m a fan of Babee Greens on facebook as Kimberlie S.T.

  48. Soozle says:

    mar 3

  49. Kat says:

    I’m about to give birth and me and my husband have decided to cloth diaper our daughter…
    katch05 at gmail dot com

  50. Soozle says:

    mar 4

  51. Sonia says:

    I am a cloth diaper user! My youngest recently potty trained but I am expecting another one soon and need to build up a newborn stash. These would be great if they fit all the way through!

  52. Sonia says:

    I like you on facebook.

  53. Sonia says:

    I like babee greens on facebook.

  54. Jen C. says:

    I use cloth diapers on my 18 month old daughter, and I’m building a stash for my little boy due in June!

  55. Jen C. says:

    I subscribed via email.

  56. Jen C. says:

    I liked the Sacred Bee Blog on Facebook (Jen Daphne Closson)

  57. Jen C. says:

    Following on twitter and I retweeted the contest:

  58. Jen C. says:

    I became a fan of Babee Greens on Facebook (Jen Daphne Closson)

  59. debnmike m says:

    3/3 tweet

  60. debnmike m says:

    3/4 tweet

  61. domestic diva says:

    We use cloth diapers. I’d love to add an organic diaper to our stash.

  62. Soozle says:

  63. Jen C. says:

    Shared on twitter again 🙂

  64. debnmike m says:

    3/5 tweet

  65. Kimberlie T says:

    3-5 tweeted:

  66. Christine says:

  67. Soozle says:

  68. Jen C. says:

    tweeted 3/6

  69. Maria Ivey says:

    I have been using cloth diapers on our 2nd baby for about 5 months now. I’m constantly learning about cloth diapering and it’s been alot of fun. I really want to try a Babee Greens diaper!

  70. Maria Ivey says:

    I suscribed via reader.

  71. Maria Ivey says:

    I now follow you on Twitter and tweeted about giveaway

  72. Maria Ivey says:

    I am a fan of Babee Greens on FB as Lily Munoz Ivey.

  73. Soozle says:

    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  74. Christine says:

  75. Raechel b says:

    Subscribed via email!

  76. Soozle says:

    Mar 8

  77. Maria Ivey says:

    3/8 Tweet

  78. Marykate says:

    i have been checking out these diapers and am so glad you reviewed them! i’m thinking we’re going to use a combination of these, wool covers and sugar peas when our daughter arrives this summer. would love a free sample!

  79. Soozle says:

  80. Christine says:

  81. Kimberlie T says:

    Tweet for 3-9:

  82. Maria Ivey says:

    3/10 Tweet

  83. Soozle says:

    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  84. Soozle says:

  85. Christine says:

  86. Marykate says:

    subscribed via email

  87. Soozle says:

  88. Marykate says:

    i also subscribed via google reader

  89. Marykate says:

    i also linked you on my blog: http://purlonion.tumblr.com/places

    damn i hope i win that diaper!

  90. Soozle says:

  91. Christine says:

  92. Soozle says:

  93. Soozle says:

  94. Soozle says:

  95. Steph says:

    I am 2 weeks from being a stay at home mommy & will be switching to cloth when I can be home full time. While I certainly like the convenience of disposables, I HATE putting my little girl in them-I dont like the toxic material (makes me shutter to think about it!) I don’t like the icky scents! I cannot wait to get her little bottom into some natural dipes! 🙂

  96. Steph says:

    I also subscribe via email!

  97. Soozle says:

  98. Soozle says:

  99. Soozle says:

  100. Soozle says:

  101. Carolina says:

    I use disposables but am hoping to try cloth

    Littlemamameow at gmail dot com

  102. Soozle says:

  103. i am currently using disposable diapers, and really wanting to try out cloth diapers. this seems like a wonderful company to try from. thanks for the oppertunity!

    kaela.m.williams@gmail.com

  104. following you, and retweeted this giveaway!

    kaela.m.wiliams@gmail.com

  105. Soozle says:

  106. Soozle says:

  107. Soozle says:

  108. likwan says:

    My parents used cloth diapers.

  109. likwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  110. likwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  111. likwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/183665836370833408.

  112. likwan says:

    I follow Babee Greens on Facebook under the username likwan.

  113. Pingback: babee greens giveaway WINNER! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  114. Pingback: giveaway winners: babee greens, nature’s path & environmental toothbrush | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  115. Pingback: Bummis Organic Cotton Diaper Kit | Cloth Organic Diapers

  116. Pingback: giveaway winner – redraws – updates | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

