bottle baby: green sprouts (review & giveaway)

This was a post that I had not intended to write for at least a few more months, but, oddly enough, I could have written it long ago.  My intention throughout my pregnancy with Camden and even after her birth was to nurse.  I didn’t think we’d have a constant stream of bottles, nipples and all the attachments parading through our sink, dishwasher and drainer.  And, I didn’t think I’d be filling our freezer with ample supplies of milk because the supply far exceeds demand at this point.  But, since I did spend most of my pregnancy operating in a maniacal state of “Just in case” we were stocked and ready for almost any situation.

Green Sprouts is a company that I have featured on the blog before because they embody so many of the characteristics I look for in products.  Their products are made of safe, non-toxic materials, tend to be recyclable or compostable and put the safety and well being of the child first and foremost.  In addition to that, the products are affordable and readily available locally and on the internet.

I have been fortunate enough with both my children to have an abundant milk supply.  So much so that I am able to stock our freezer, deep freeze and even look into milk donation – all after feeding my baby.  My storage vessel of choice with Beckett were the plastic bags that made extra milk easy to manage.  The downside was the bags were difficult to deal with because they couldn’t be reused, were plastic and took up a great deal of freezer real estate for being a small plastic bag.  Green Sprouts has come up with a excellent solution: milk storage bags that are compostable.  The Oxo-Biodegradable Milk Storage Bags hold 6-ounces of milk, are BPA-free and compostable under the right conditions.  I drop these into our curbside compost pick-up that works its magic in a high-temperature, industrial composter.

We have switched completely to glass bottles and now that we are going through upwards of eight or nine a day – I am picky about what we use.  In my quest to find a great glass bottle, I have fallen in love the Wide-Mouth Glass Bottle from Green Sprouts.  It comes in three sizes: 2 ounce premie, 4 ounce and 9 ounce.  The silicone nipples have an awesome milk flow that doesn’t choke Camden and are easy to clean.  And, wide mouth is really the only way to go if you are looking for effective, hassle-free cleaning.  I like the green accessories (collar and cap) because they are unique and don’t absorb the annoying food stains that sometimes distribute in the dishwasher.  The glass bottle has a sweet shape and fits just right in your hand.  All in all, it’s a great product and has a price-point that’s comparable to any wide-mouth, glass bottle on the market.

Green Sprouts and its partner company, i play, make products that an eco-mama can rely on for quality and safety.  And, as long as they keep up that promise, you’ll be seeing a lot of them on this blog!

Coupon Time!

During the month of January, get 20% off all Green Sprouts bottles using the code: IPJA12

Where to buy?  Check out Green Sprouts website to purchase and for locations.  Their products are available locally at our Community Food Co-op and Haggen grocery stores.  Get socially connected: Become a fan on Facebook and Twitter!

~

Two lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following Green Sprouts products:

  • One 4-ounce Wide-Mouth Glass Bottle
  • One 25-pack of Oxo-Biodegradable Milk Storage Bags

Interested in entering the giveaway?  Comment on this post and tell me:  How has your new year been so far?  Are you lovin’ 2012 or just wishing spring would arrive?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Green Sprouts on Facebook
  • Follow Green Sprouts on Twitter @iplayinc

Winners will be drawn on Wednesday, February 15th, 2012 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to bottle baby: green sprouts (review & giveaway)

  1. sumner6 says:

    I’m still waiting for winter to arrive here, screw spring! We’ve hardly had any snow and severe weather yesterday. Boo! 😦

  2. alejandra says:

    Im loving 2012 because my baby is due anytime now. In Jan.23. but she seems comfortable enough to come in later lol.

  3. Latonya R says:

    My new year has been moving very swiftly and anxiously awaiting for my ultrasound to find out what I am having.

  4. Latonya R says:

    I like on facebook as livivua chandler

  5. Latonya R says:

    I follow on twitter as vivaciousgold and https://twitter.com/#!/vivaciousgold/status/159677301347467264- retweeted

  6. Latonya R says:

    button is on the front of my blog- http://tlk-vivaciousgold.blogspot.com/- follow me

  7. Latonya R says:

    I like on fb as livivua chandler

  8. Latonya R says:

    i like green sprouts on twitter as vivaciousgold

  9. Dara says:

    I’m loving 2012 so far! my little one just turned 6 months old and I cannot believe how fast he is blossoming! I was dreading going back to work after a 4 month maternity leave this past fall, but now I am pretty much adjusted back into the swing of things, and after some trial and error, found childcare for my little pumpkin that my husband and I are happy with 🙂 But I’m always ready for the spring to arrive!

  10. Dara says:

    I like Sacred Bee on Facebook!

  11. Dara says:

    I like Green Sprouts on Facebook!

  12. Katrina says:

    so far our year is going great…I do prefer summer over winter though

  13. eileen martin says:

    2012 is going especially great since Jennifer & family are moving much closer. Right now I still can wait for spring as i do love to watch the snow.

  14. domestic diva says:

    Our year so far has been full of change. It’s going to be a great year (it is already!)/

  15. katherine says:

    the year has been great — loving our snow, but certainly ready for spring to arrive!!

  16. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  17. Lily Kwan says:

    The new year has been okay so far.

  18. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  19. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  20. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/169988750221385728.

  21. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/385209518172130.

  22. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Green Sprouts on Facebook under the username likwan.

  23. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Green Sprouts on Twitter under the username likwan.

  24. Pingback: green sprouts giveaway winners! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

