staying healthy this winter

When Beckett was a new baby, I became a vigilant germ-nut that started spraying visitors upon arrival with hand sanitizer.  I still pay attention to the coughs, sneezes and wheezles, but to a lesser degree with Camden.  There is only so much I can do when I have a walking germ-magnet – er, toddler.  Despite my best efforts we were hit with a whopper of a cold the second week home from the hospital and Jacob and I spent many a night sleeping upright in a chair because Camden couldn’t breathe at any angle short of 45-degrees.  But, I’ve found a few “LOVE ‘EM” products this winter that are staples in our medicine cabinet.  And, I thought I’d share them with you.  I’ve found them at local stores in my hometown and I see now that they are both available everywhere online.  They both fit the Ferry-Eco-Mama bill and are natural, safe and chemical free.  Stay healthy this winter season!

ZARBEE’S ALL NATURAL CHILDREN’S COUGH SYRUP

Simple ingredients, a flavor that’s not overly sugary and a remedy that relieves those horrible, hacking, keep-em-awake kid’s cough all make this medicine a must-have.  It costs about $9.99 a bottle, but lasts a long time with each kid’s dose being 1/2 to 1 teaspoon.  Oh, and I love that it is bees, bees, bees.  Honey makes everything sweeter.

CLEAN WELL HAND SANITIZER

Hand sanitizers are a wonderfully convenient option, but the alcohol can be harsh to wintery skin and sometimes the list of ingredients is enough to make an eco-mama shudder.  I found this great product in the spray bottle option at my local grocery store.  It’s about twice as expensive as the standard alcohol-based brand, but a little goes a long way.  The smell is awesome and it is just as effective as the knock-off brands.  We now have bottles sitting with the changing table and just inside the front door.  Can you say: Perfect Stocking Stuffer? 

This entry was posted in nice & natural, practically personal, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

