MadeOn Hard Lotion: the solution to dry skin (review & giveaway)

Pregnancy does strange things to your body.  Things that people neglect to tell you about when they mention those wonderful nine-months growing a baby.  By ‘strange’ I don’t mean weird or bad, just different.  There’s that bizarre itchy feeling that you get as the skin stretches on your belly.  There is the heartburn that creeps into your throat like a fire-breathing dragon.  And, then there’s the endless sweet one-on-one time with the baby kicks, late night hiccups and jostles.  It’s all utterly beautiful and special, too.

I carried Beckett for 38-weeks and Camden for 39-weeks.  My tummy got biggish and cumbersome as the weeks went on, but stretch marks weren’t part of my burgeoning belly.  Right after Beckett’s birth, I found a single stretch mark – about one-inch long.  Jacob and I referred to it as “Mark”.  He/it became a joke throughout this second pregnancy and my OB even joined in on the banter and checked on the Mark’s status with each appointment.  I gained a second stretch mark with the birth of Camden, so now I’ll need to find another nickname.

I’ve heard that the appearance of stretch marks are determined by genetics, but I can’t say I put much stock in that from what I’ve seen in my family.  I didn’t rely on any miracle creams that offered out-of-this-world results.  But, I massaged my belly, spent time learning its curves and bumps and talked to the growing babies inside.  And, itched that never ending scratch from the skin stretchage.

My favorite product during this pregnancy was Bee Silk by MadeOn Hard Lotion.  I have always been intrigued by massage bars, lotion bars and any like product that replaces a traditionally semi-liquid product.  But, I am usually frustrated because of the melting, globby mess they inevitably create that defeats the entire ease of having a bar instead of a lotion.  Well, the Bee Silk bar is nothing like my previous experiences.  It is a perfectly formed, designed and functioning lotion.  The ingredient list is simple with only three (!!) ingredients: shea butter, coconut oil and beeswax.  The bar delivers just the amount of moisture you want and slips right back into its metal case for easy storage.  There is literally no mess – to you or the bar.  It’s easier than lotion and lasts as long as a large bottle of the globby stuff.

The Bee Silk Bar is just one of the great products that MadeOn Hard Lotion has to offer.  I love the diaper rash cream and the lip balm, too.  We have gotten into the chilly nights that mean fall is here for only a short stay as the arrival of winter awaits.  It’s the season for dry, cracked lips and chapped hands.  MadeOn Hard Lotion’s products are just the quench our winter skin needs to keep from getting scaly.  I like that all of the products deliver a quantity that is on par with the traditionally large bottles and bigger brands, but keeps its packaging minimal and eco-friendly.  How cool is it to find a product that delivers the same number of applications as a 32-oz plastic bottle of moisturizer in a recyclable tin the size of a matchbox car?

I appreciate the way that MadeOn Hard Lotion has pulled together an entire line of products that are made of minimal ingredients that are all-natural and completely chemical free.  And, I love that they are rethinking both the packaging quantity and style and sticking with an entirely eco-friendly option.  Love that MadeOn Hard Lotion!

Where to buy?  Check out MadeOn Hard Lotion’s websiteGet socially connected: Become a fan of MadeOn Hard Lotion on Facebook.

Want to get snag some most excellent all-natural stocking stuffers from MadeOn?  Well, then you need to check out this giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a:

  • A Three-Pack from MadeOn including:

a family size Bee Silk hard lotion bar, a pocket size Bee Silk hard lotion bar and a natural lip balm

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Interested in entering the giveaway?  Comment on this post and tell me:  How does your wintery weather treat your skin?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of MadeOn on Facebook
  • Subscribe to MadeOn’s Blog

Winners will be drawn on Monday, December 15th, 2011 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in nice & natural, oh! it's organic!, practically personal. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to MadeOn Hard Lotion: the solution to dry skin (review & giveaway)

  1. houseofkirk says:

    Winter weather does not go well with skin care around this house. Our entire family has sensative skin and some of our little ones are super sensative. I have noticed a remarkable difference in my own skin since I began using Olive Oil (expeller pressed) to cleanse my face. I did have flaky dry skin around my eyebrows, dry scratchy skin on my jaw line and oily skin everywhere else. Using Olive Oil or a mixture of Olive Oil and Castor Oil (which I’ve been out of) works wonders! I have also started using Olive Oil with Tea Tree Oil for our daughter who suffers from dry scalp. I spend a few minutes massaging her scalp before cleansing with homemade shampoo or the ‘no poo’ method of baking soda and apple cider vinegar (conditioner). Our youngest child (who was lucky enough to come into the family after our go-natural quest has only used Castile soap for Shampoo and body wash and Olive or Coconut Oil and has yet to have any major skin issues. I would LOVE to get my hands on a hard lotion bar. They have been on my wish list for some time but it just hasn’t made it from the ‘want’ list to the ‘need’ list.

  2. Molly says:

    Lizard skin!!! Even my touchscreen doesn’t like my wintertime dry skin!

  3. Carol says:

    The winter weather leaves my skin so dried out. My hands are rough and the cuticles are cracking.

  4. Rhonda Darbro says:

    My skin is always dry. The winter weather makes it even worse! It seems I can’t get enough lotion. The cool/cold weather has barely even started where I am and I already have cracks in my hands from the dryness. I would love to try the Beesilk!!!

  5. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I am a new subscriber via email.

  6. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I have added you to my Google Reader.

  7. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I am a new fan of yours on Facebook.

  8. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I shared this post on my facebook page (Rhonda Keely Darbro).

  9. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I am already a fan of MadeOn Hard Lotion on facebook.

  10. Rhonda Darbro says:

    I subscribe to MadeOn’s blog.

  11. Not good. Sometimes my knuckles crack and the kids have eternal chapped lips. In past years I’ve used udder cream, but I’m interested in trying this. 🙂 Thanks!

  12. I’m a fan of MadeOn on Facebook.

  13. Cynthia says:

    Winter weather, whether cold and wet or cold and dry, makes my skin itch. I tend to have problems with peeling skin on my fingers year-round, but winter makes them worse. I’ve tried other lotion bars with not a lot to show for it, so I’d be interested in trying these!

  14. Cynthia says:

    And… I subscribe to your email and enjoy it very much!

  15. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    As soon as we need to turn on the heater, my skin begins to dry out…(and I drink plenty of water). First my hands and elbows dry out, lips can get chapped and then there is the endless dry heel skin.

    I need this,,,pick me, pick me…

  16. Emily N. says:

    Winter weather makes my skin flaky and dehydrated.

  17. Emily N. says:

    reader subscriber

  18. domestic diva says:

    It dries my skin, so I try to drink lots of extra fluids and eat more healthy fats.

  19. We have cold and wind here, so it doesn’t matter whether you are inside or out, your skin is not happy. My son and I have sensitive, dry skin. My husband, on the other hand, is pretty lucky in that he has Nordic blood and does not suffer at all.

  20. linked on my blog swedenesefamily.wordpress.com

  21. button on my blogroll swedenesefamily.wordpress.com

  22. MadeON fan Christine M Tubbytelly

  23. follow MadeOn blog on google reader

  24. Becky says:

    Winter… dry skin, itching, chapped lips and cheeks and my husband saying lotion…men don’t wear lotion…what’s not to love…LOL. Thanks for the giveaway.

  25. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  26. Becky says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  27. Diane says:

    My skin is definitely drier in the winter.

  28. ikkinlala says:

    I’m not sure if Canadians may enter, but just in case: I get really dry skin in the winter. I do my best to use salves often enough to keep it from cracking, but a lot of lotions have scents that give me migraines. This looks like a great option.

  29. I get incredibly itchy and dry skin every winter. I bet this would work great.

  30. Michelle says:

    The wintry weather is very harsh on my hands. I have milk goats, and the washing of udders in cold weather is harder on the skin than I ever thought possible.

  31. Michelle says:

    I subscribed via email.

  32. Michelle says:

    I became a fan on FB.

  33. katherine says:

    the winter weather is not too kind to my skin! would love to try this lotion!

  34. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  35. Sara G says:

    My hands are always dry. This product sounds amazing. I would love to try it!

  36. Sara G says:

    Subscribe using Google Reader.

  37. Soozle says:

    The winter weather does not treat my skin well – beyond dry!

  38. Soozle says:

    I follow Sacredbee on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  39. Soozle says:

    Dec 11

  40. Soozle says:

    I like MadeOn on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  41. Lily Kwan says:

    Wintery weather dries out my skin.

  42. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  43. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  44. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and retweeted this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/147405276520259584.

  45. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/327190587291507.

  46. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow MadeOn on Facebook under the username likwan.

  47. Pingback: winners galore! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

