Potting Shed Creations: Grow Bottles (review & giveaway)

Fall has descended on us like a heavy blanket.  It’s hard to say good-bye to the long days, warm evenings and gloriously abundant garden of summer.  But, with each season there is a sense of renewal and a warm welcome for the upcoming changes.  It doesn’t hurt that fall brought the anticipation, excitement and arrival of a new addition to our family and makes it so much sweeter to say hello to falling leaves, crisp apples, orange pumpkins and the bestest autumn gift of all – a healthy baby!

One of the plants I succeeded surprisingly well with this year was basil.  I have tried to grow it year after year, but failed mainly because of a lack of diligence and inadvertent over-watering by a “helpful” toddler.  But, this year, the basil flourished.  I made sure that it stayed pruned (big key!), didn’t flower and stocked our freezer full of pesto in serving size cubes.  With our first soggy week of rain and nighttime temperatures dipping into the low 40s, the basil bit the dust.  No more sweet smelling, delicious tasting basil meant the start of fall.

But, thanks to Potting Shed Creations, I have been able to bring basil into our house and have a garden on the kitchen windowsill.  Potting Shed Creations is one of those companies whose catalogs and website are filled with a crazy wishlist of wants and needs for me.  Even a complete black-thumb can’t resist the gorgeous packaging and abundant plant selections.  And, an eco-mama like me can’t get enough of their innovative packaging and unique eco-friendly designs.

The latest product to make it into our home is the Grow Bottle.  It’s a repurposed wine bottle that has been cut in half and inverted onto itself.  In the top portion sits a mixture of reusable pebbles, the growing medium.  The bottom portion is where the water sits and is drawn up with a natural wool wick.

The “pot” is a fantastic reuse of an item whose intended purpose is already used up.  The Grow Bottle line comes in an assortment of different herbs including basil, mint, parsley and chives that is sure to stock up your entire windowsill herb garden!  And, the affordable replant kit makes it possible to have herbs growing year round in even the most harsh, or dreary in our case, climates.

I love what Potting Shed Creations has come up with for a product line and their creativity never ceases to amaze me.  They are one of the companies you’ll continue to see featured on this blog because they show exactly how recycling, repurposing and reusing can be beautiful and functional.  And, if a company is able to make it more fun and appealing to try your hand growing a new plant and celebrate Mother Nature all year long, I’m a fan!

Where to buy?  Check out Potting Shed Creations’ website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected!  Become a fan of Potting Shed Creations on facebook and twitter!

Want to get a kitchen garden yearround?  Well, then you need to check out this giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a:

  • Grow Bottle from Potting Shed Creations

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Interested in entering the giveaway?  Comment on this post and tell me:  What is your favorite plant to grow year round?  Don’t have one – no worries!  What plant would you like to try to grow year round?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Potting Shed Creations on Facebook

Winners will be drawn on Monday, November 28th, 2011 at 8:00pm PST.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in glorious gardening, home & hearth, oh! it's organic!, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to Potting Shed Creations: Grow Bottles (review & giveaway)

  1. Becky says:

    These look great…I’d love basil year round. Mine didn’t do well this year.

  2. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  3. Becky says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  4. Kyle says:

    I love me some basil. Always a refreshing ingredient! Oregano comes in a close second though!

  5. Emily says:

    My favorite plant to (try to) grow is basil, because we use a lot of fresh basil and it gets so expensive to buy! I haven’t yet succeeded in making it through the winter (or even the summer) yet though.

  6. Emily says:

    I subscribed via email.

  7. Emily says:

    I liked you on facebook!

  8. Emily says:

    I’m a fan of potting shed creations on fb!

  9. Emily says:

    I’m following you on twitter and I retweeted. Or I think I did. I kind of suck at twitter.

  10. jane says:

    I always have parsley, thyme, and chives growing year round for cooking. Would live to try basil in the grow bottle.

  11. Cindy wood says:

    I would love to have basil in the winter! The dried stuff just doesn’t cut it.

  12. Lauriel says:

    Wow…this is amazing! I too would like to grow basil, I miss the fresh stuff during the winter.

  13. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via email

  14. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  15. Laura says:

    I’ve subscribed via email.

  16. Virginia says:

    These are both practical and attractive. Nice! I’d like to grow fresh spinach year round.

  17. Virginia says:

    I subscribe via email.

  18. Virginia says:

    I ‘like’ on Facebook.

  19. My favorite plants to grow year round are herbs, such as mint, sage and oregano! They come in handy almost every night when I am cooking.

    larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  20. I subscribe via Reader.

    larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  21. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    I would grow cilantro, it is a staple in our house. Definitely a product I would like to have!

  22. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    Like on FB

  23. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    subscribed via e-mail
    kimberjbro at hotmail dot com

  24. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    I follow on twitter and tweeted: kimberleecruz
    Potting Shed Creations: Grow Bottles (review & giveaway) http://wp.me/pKTN1-Si /via @wordpressdotcom A great product for growing herbs!

  25. Soozle says:

    I’ve tried growing banana pepper plants indoors over the winter – it didn’t work so well 😉 I do enjoy growing basil too!

  26. Soozle says:

    I like you on FB (Suzanne Kristy)
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  27. Soozle says:

    Oct 28 tweet (and Twitter hates me and auto unfollows my followers/followees at random, SO I may have to keep re-following you… it isn’t ME!)
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  28. Soozle says:

    I’ve linked your page on FB

    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  29. Soozle says:

    I’ve grabbed your button
    http://www.sooozle.blogspot.com
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  30. Soozle says:

    I like Potting Shed on FB (Suzanne Kristy)
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  31. katherine says:

    i too would love to grow basil year round… or cilantro!

  32. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  33. Lisa says:

    This looks so awesome! I would love to try and grow basil and cives year-round. 🙂

  34. Soozle says:

    oct 29

  35. Soozle says:

    oct 30

  36. Soozle says:

    oct 31
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  37. Soozle says:

    nov 1
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  38. Soozle says:

    Nov 2

  39. Soozle says:

    Nov 3

  40. Soozle says:

    Nov 4

  41. Soozle says:

    Nov 5

  42. Soozle says:

    Nov 6

  43. Soozle says:

    Nov 7

  44. Soozle says:

    Nov 8

  45. Diane Mutchler says:

    I would love to grow lettuce in the Winter! Actually, I’d love to grow anything edible and organic in the Winter!

  46. Soozle says:

    Nov 9

  47. Soozle says:

    Nov 10

  48. Soozle says:

    Nov 11

  49. Soozle says:

    Nov 12

  50. Soozle says:

    Nov 13

  51. Soozle says:

    Nov 14

  52. Soozle says:

    Nov 15

  53. Soozle says:

    Nov 16

  54. Soozle says:

    Nov 17

  55. Soozle says:

    Nov 18

  56. Soozle says:

    Nov 19

  57. Soozle says:

    Nov 20

  58. Soozle says:

    Email subscriber

  59. Soozle says:

    NOv 21

  60. Soozle says:

    Nov 22

  61. Soozle says:

    Nov 23

  62. Soozle says:

    Nov 24

  63. Soozle says:

    Nov 25

  64. Soozle says:

    Nov 26

  65. Soozle says:

    Nov 27

  66. Soozle says:

    Nov 28

  67. Lily Kwan says:

    I would like to try to grow tomatoes year round.

  68. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  69. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  70. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/141292975819988993.

  71. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/283209208387658.

  72. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Potting Shed Creations on Facebook under the username likwan.

  73. Pingback: winners galore! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  74. Marianne G. says:

    I know this is an older blog, but thank you in 2015 for your review!! I was looking for some herbs for my husband (he does all the cooking) and was hoping to find positive reviews on this product, as I already have two of these sitting in my shopping cart on the makers website. I hope we have the same luck as you!!

Leave a Reply

