Brooks: be green. run green (review)

I dream of being a runner.  I imagine myself gliding effortlessly down the road on legs like gazelle.  My footsteps are light and bound from stride to stride.  My feet appear as if they are floating on marshmallow clouds and barely landing long enough to feel the ground below.  My breathing is rhythmic and soft.  My skin glows with a pleasurable hue and I smell like roses and fresh soap.  And, the calories drip off my body.  The fat turns from blubbery cellulite to rock hard, muscle that quivers with each movement.

Alas, it is all a dream.  I pound down the pavement like the step-child cross between a sasquatch and Quasimodo.  I heave guzzling breaths of air and wheeze like an old freight train.  And, my clothes are drenched in a reasonably unpleasant sweat that smells nothing like fauna or flora.

So, imagine my surprise and delight when I was exclusively added to a club of high-end, world-class running shoes and asked to review them.  It makes me smile to just think about it.  And, no – I’m not pulling your leg.  Well, I jumped at the chance and decided to make the most of the experience.  I may suck at running with a capital S, but I am mad power walker.  I’ll knock your socks off with my crazy stride, burn calories and keep up with the conversation.  And, that’s just what I did – I walked and walked.

Brooks Shoes is a company renowned for top-notch running shoes and gear.  They make the shoes that you see on professional athletes and runners (er, walkers) of the highest competitive caliber.  The company is headquartered and the shoes are designed in Seattle, Washington giving our little corner of the Pacific Northwest another nod to greatness.

Brooks’ latest collection was brought to my attention because of its innovative green components.  The Green Silence is a shoe that truly makes Mother Nature proud.  The shoe is packaging in 100% recyclable and 100% post-consumer recycled boxes, but the true genius is the shoe itself and its makeup.  The shoe is an engineering marvel when it comes to eco-friendly materials.  The midsole is made of BioMoGo – the world’s first ever biodegradable midsole for running shoes.  And, 75% of the entire makeup of the shoes are post-consumer recycled materials.  The laces, gillies and webbing are all 100% post-consumer recycled, too.

Have you ever heard of such a thing – a shoe made of recycled materials?  If you are like me, you are probably scratching your head and wondering about the practicality of such a shoe.  Does it look like a standard shoe?  Is it comfortable?  What’s it feel like?

Well, let me tell you!  They feel amazing and they are beyond adorable.  The shoes are lightweight in an almost eerie, cloud-like way.  The box feels empty when the shoes are inside and your feet forget that they are wearing any kind of substantial footwear.  The shoes I have are a light baby-blue that is accented with navy flower-like decorations and have navy soles and shoelaces.  They are fashionable enough to wear with any casual outfit and I find that they have become so much more than an exercise shoe for me – they are an everyday shoe.  I love that they are cute enough to wear with jeans or capris, but comfy enough that I can take a long walk, run after a crazy toddler or climb an endless set of stairs.

I am pleasantly shocked by how well Brooks has managed to put together a shoe that is on par with their other high-quality and competitive footwear and eco-friendly.  I can’t fathom how they were able to find a method for utilizing so much post-consumer waste and packaging it into one comfortable, supportive and very attractive shoe, but I’ve got say: I love it!

Where to buy?  Check out Brooks Running’s website for locations and to order.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Brooks on Facebook and Twitter!

This entry was posted in waste not, want not, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Brooks: be green. run green (review)

  1. ilibrarianblog says:

    These look GREAT! I see they’re sold on Zappos (what isn’t) and have 5 star reviews!

  2. cc says:

    I love Brooks (they’re a local company here in WA and they have “truckload” sales of discontinued styles twice a year at their outlet store — but have never seen these there so am going to have to ‘spring’ for a new pair and give them a try! thanks for testing them – your description of yourself running made me laugh and think “that’s me!” — so I know the shoes will be perfect!

  3. cc says:

    They’re at the Outlet store – Brooks Outlet –
    22627 Bothell-Everett Hwy, Suite C
    Bothell, WA 98021
    Phone: 425-402-1632
    They literally take over a chunk of the parking lot – put up a tent & back up a truck & unload — they have a email list for the outlet store – I just can’t find the address but I’m sure you can if you look through their web page — that way you get a week’s notice before the sale (they run Fri/Sat/Sun with much of the good stuff going/gone on Friday)

Leave a Reply

