architec: live smart (review & giveaway)

There is fine line between clutter and décor.  Our house was large when Jacob and I moved in, but it seems to be shrinking to claustrophobic proportions as our family expands.  I love having the personal touches around the house that décor offers, but my organizational tendencies send me into a full-body twitch if the décor begins to shift towards clutter and reaches proportions I can’t handle.

The one room where this tends to happen is the kitchen.  I love our kitchen.  It’s open with a spacious layout that allows me to see almost the entire house.  There is ample counter space (nevermind that it is teal formica) and the cupboard space is generous.  Using the word is generous is generous in itself.  We have enough cupboards for what we have to put in them.  There is no more room for new stuff.  None.

In order to keep the cupboards from feeling like they are burgeoning at the seams and ready to tumble forth with each opening of a door or drawer, I mix a bit of décor and functionality into the counter space.  If an item is worthy of being “displayed” – it needs to be both attractive and useful.  The first item that makes the cut is my drop-dead gorgeous cherry red Kitchenaid mixer.  It doesn’t hurt that it also weighs a gazillion pounds and could fall through the floor like a steel anvil.  The second item is our rice cooker.  It gets used on an every other day basis for morning steel-cut oatmeal and the standby side dish of rice for dinner.  And, the third item is my new set of mixing bowls!

The mixing bowl set is by Architec, a company I’ve featured on the blog before, and they are a beautiful eco-friendly accent that compliments my kitchen décor perfectly (think teal countertops…).  Architec is a company that has found a way to seamlessly coordinate recycled, biodegradable and recyclable materials into absolutely gorgeous kitchenware.

 My mixing bowl set is a three- bowl combination of lime green, turquoise and deep sea blue and the sizes are two, three and four quart.  They have a non-stick ring on the base that gives them some extra support when a toddler is helping scramble the eggs or you need to put some elbow grease into a hefty batter.  There is a slight slip around the edge that makes it easy to pour liquids without making a mess.  And, of course – they are dishwasher safe.

At first glance, the bowls resemble a standard plastic, but upon closer inspection you’ll see the flecks of color and nuances that make them much prettier than the average bowl.  The bowls are made of Purelast, an innovative new material that is 98% recycled materials and a natural alternative to plastic.

I love that Architec is a company devoted to making eco-friendly products for the kitchen that are both attractive and functional.  It is amazing to me that they are continually finding innovative ways to use recycled, recyclable and biodegradable materials to make high-quality products.  As long as Architec keeps up with this company commitment, you’ll keep seeing them on the Sacred Bee’s Blog!

Where to buy?  Check out Architec’s website for online retail locations.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Architec on Facebook.

Ready to bring a bit of Architec into your kitchen?

Two {!!} lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • A Mixing Bowl Set from Architec
  • A Recipe Rock from Architec

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite dual-purpose kitchen gadget?  Think décor and function in one item.

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Architec on Facebook

Winners will be drawn on Thursday, September 29th, 2011 at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to architec: live smart (review & giveaway)

  1. ilibrarianblog says:

    My favorite multi-purpose item is a combo tray/platter that serves as a fruit platter or bread plate or just for decor. It’s always on the counter, usually with fruit.
    Those bowls are lovely!

  2. ilibrarianblog says:

    I subscribe via email.

  3. ilibrarianblog says:

    The SB button is on my website.

  4. ilibrarianblog says:

    I ‘like’ SB on Fbook. (and I like very little on Fbook!)

  5. Danielle N. says:

    I “like” Architec on FB.

  6. Danielle N. says:

    I am a fan of SBB on FB!

  7. Danielle N. says:

    I shared your link from SBB on FB on my wall as well as in on my page Coupon Mamas. I will email link.

  8. Danielle N. says:

    My current favorite dual-purpose kitchen gadget is our Capreno Coffee & Spice Grinder. Not only can it grind coffee but as the name implies, you can also grind/blend/chop herbs with it. A few weeks ago, while taking care of my special-needs nephew I discovered a new use: it doubles as a ‘baby bullet’. LOVE that! I was able to pure’e a ton of things and because it is completely sealed, there were no worries that food particles would get down into the mechanical section and break it. Easily wiped clean with a little soapy water. I am so excited about the possibilies! The next thing I am going to try is homemade whipping cream and butter.

  9. Lauriel says:

    Our espresso machine, and our gorgeous stainless steel pots and pans that are hanging above the stove!

  10. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via email

  11. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  12. Kathy Nguyen says:

    My favorite dual purpose kitchen item would be my daughter’s Boon stash.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  13. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I get your newsletters.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  14. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a subscriber via Yahoo Reader.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  15. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow you on twitter.
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  16. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  17. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am now a fan of Architec
    https://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  18. Catherine says:

    Love these gorgeous mixing bowls. My favorite dual purpose kitchen item is the trifle bowl I use to store fruit when it’s not used for trifle.

  19. Catherine says:

    I’m a fan of Sacred Bee on Facebook.

  20. Catherine says:

    I’m an e-mail subscriber.

  21. Catherine says:

    I’m subscribed via Google Reader.

  22. katherine says:

    love my fruit-stand! so cute and also functional!

  23. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  24. JLJMommy says:

    I have a basket that lives on my island filled with fruit that serves as a fruit bowl, centerpiece, and a recipe holder. When I’m cooking, I use the basket to prop my recipe card up on or use it to keep the book open to the correct page.

  25. JLJMommy says:

    I get your emails… ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  26. JLJMommy says:

    twitter follower and tweeted:

    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  27. JLJMommy says:

    I’m a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook.
    Kimberlie S.T.
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  28. JLJMommy says:

    I’m a fan of Architec Housewares on Facebook.
    Kimberlie S.T.
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  29. JLJMommy says:

    Your blog button is on my blog at http://theclothexperiment.blogspot.com/
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  30. Soozle says:

    My favorite multi purpose gadget is my magic bullet – it may not LOOK pretty, but I use it to make smoothies, hummus, puree soups, crush nuts, make dips and more. It is HIGHLY used!

  31. Soozle says:

    FB fan Suzanne Kristy

  32. Soozle says:

    I’ve linked on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  33. Soozle says:

    I like Architec on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  34. JLJMommy says:

    Tweeted:

    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  35. Lily Kwan says:

    My favorite dual-purpose kitchen gadget is my mixer.

  36. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  37. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  38. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/119588569714147328.

  39. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/264985516866305.

  40. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Architec on Facebook under the username likwan.

  41. Pingback: architec giveaway winners! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  42. Pingback: kate quinn organics winner & a few re-draws | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

