ready or not

This Friday, August 12th, was the start of my 32nd week of pregnancy.  Yes, you read that right.  It probably didn’t hit you as hard or give you a “whoa” moment nearly as much as typing it did to me.  This pregnancy is flying by.  We are more than ¾ of the way there.  The baby can live outside my womb, with medical intervention, if need be.  Beckett is going to be a big sister in less than 9 weeks. 

So much of this pregnancy is the same as it was the first time around. The miracle of a life growing inside of me is just as powerful.  Perhaps it hits me even more, when I look at the vivacious, free-thinking, utterly amazing toddler that I grew and birthed just three years ago.  It’s absolutely incredible to think what a single pleasurable act can bring forth into this world and how miraculously well-equipped the female body is to grow, nurture and birth a living human. 

This pregnancy is going just as smoothly as it did with Beckett.  My weight gain is in the single digits and the nights are relatively restful with the exception of mandatory bathroom breaks.  The swelling is non-existent and the food cravings are basically limited to fruit smoothies, water and cinnamon rolls.  The physical changes are more magnified the second time that my balloon is getting blown up.  The baby’s movement is significantly more intense with my insides being assaulted on a regular basis.  And, she has decided that the hours that Beckett is asleep are her time to shine.  So, from 10pm to midnight and in the wee hours of the morning, Jacob and I enjoy a spectacular belly show of ballet like acrobatics.  I think this little one has decided to take a backseat to the show that is Beckett from sun up to sundown.

We are moving forward with baby names and plan to have a handful ready for when our little one makes her arrival.  We want to look in her eyes and see her face before we make the final decision.  The baby’s room is progressing along nicely and once the queen size bed is removed from the center – I’ll post some pictures.  It’s full of cheer and whimsy and gives my heart love for the welcoming place it’s become.

My due date is officially October 10th, but I am working with September 28th or October 3rd.  Beckett was two weeks early and weighed in at a healthy 8 pounds and measured 20 inches.  I can’t count on going all the way to the finish line and I like to plan ahead as much as possible.

Here’s the latest baby picture update.  The belly is bigger, the jeans are still my pre-pregnancy ones buttoned and zipped all the way and the adorable cutie next to me is one excited big-sister-to-be!

This entry was posted in practically personal, random rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ready or not

  1. ilibrarianblog says:

    Love the photo! Such an exciting time of life. 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    Oh my gosh, how are you already 32 weeks??? Didn’t you JUST announce you were pregnant??

    • sacredbee says:

      Yes, I just announced it less than a month ago, Beckett was only born a year ago and there is no way Jacob and I have been married 10 years! Time is flying too fast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

