EcoStrip: Power-Saving Strip (review & giveaway)

I am a multi-tasker at the core, but parenthood forces you to take the skill to entirely new level.  Between the constant chatterbox that is my toddler, the fried pregnancy brain that is overflowing with hormones and the general scatter-brained tendency my personality lends itself to – I am a walking pile of forgetfulness.  I’m basically useless.  And, that’s okay.  I rely on lists that stretch from here to Timbuktu, brightly flagged emails, alarms beeping at regular intervals for a variety of events and an answering machine that routinely has messages left from me to myself.  It all helps me round up the loose ends and stay on the road without skipping too many stops or off-ramps.

When you take all this into account, it’s no wonder that I get really excited over a product that thinks for itself and does the work without requiring any effort or brainpower on my part.  My latest find is the EcoStrip It’s a power strip that is both a surge protector and a power saver.  You might have heard the term “vampire electronics” that refers to devices that suck electricity even when their power switches are turned off.  The reference to the nocturnal bloodsuckers alludes to the fact that they are usually not being used at night and owners forget about the electrical requirements.

EcoStrip takes care of your vampire electronics in one easy device.  The latest model, the EcoStrip 2.0, acts like a normal power strip and surge protector, but shuts off power to all your computers peripherals when the computer is turned off.  In an electronic world that’s growing at a staggering pace, it completely eliminates the need to turn off all the switches when you are done with the computer.  Sometimes this is upwards of a dozen switches.  The strip is USB controlled and tied into your computer’s power setting.

We added the EcoStrip to our desktop computer set up in May.  I have noticed a small change in our electrical bill when I compare it to the usage last year during the same month.  It’s not a huge financial savings, but it must be taken into account that it’s a completely hands-off approach to saving electricity.  The strips cost around $35 and have posted an average savings of up to $100 per year on electricity.  If we are only saving $3 per month – but I estimate that it’s closer to $5 – the strip has paid for itself in less than one year.   I saved money I didn’t know I had spent and stopped using electricity I didn’t need or know I was using.

The EcoStrip is a perfect device for today’s day and age.  We live in an electronics world and between the batteries and the seemingly endless standby electrical usage – every little bit counts.  I appreciate that it’s a hand-off that takes care of itself when I’m racing after a toddler, enjoying the sunshine that we’ve been blessed with or spending time with a good book.  It’s a perfect eco-friendly solution to saving money and electricity.

Where to buy?  Check out EcoStrip’s website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of EcoStrip on Facebook and Twitter.

Looking to save some money without doing anything?  Check out the giveaway below!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • An EcoStrip Power Saving Device

Interested in entering the giveaway?  Comment on this post and tell me:  What job would you like to have taken care of without needing to do it?  Example: Automatic light-switch that turns off when your kids leave the room.

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of EcoStrip on Facebook
  • Follow EcoStripon Twitter @ecostrip

Winners will be drawn on Monday, August 29th at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to EcoStrip: Power-Saving Strip (review & giveaway)

  1. ilibrarianblog says:

    What a great product! The job I would like to have taken care of automatically is this: to have the blinds closed during those hot hours of the day and then opened back up.

  2. ilibrarianblog says:

    I subscribed via email.

  3. ilibrarianblog says:

    And I “like” on Fbook.

  4. Lauriel says:

    We might go buy a bunch..we have been trying to unplug and my new baby brain is way too tired. I wish there was an automatic switch that turned dim lights on and off in the night when I get up to nurse and change diapers!

  5. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via email

  6. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  7. Brenda says:

    Laundry that folds & puts itself away! In all honesty, I’d love to have the lights turn off… sensors on order.

  8. Brenda says:

    Already a FB fan

  9. Brenda says:

    Already subscribed via reader!

  10. Jenna Mefford says:

    I would like to have the dishes be done without me doing them.

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  11. Jenna Mefford says:

    I subscribed via email

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  12. Jenna Mefford says:

    I subscribed via a Reader

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  13. Jenna Mefford says:
  14. Jenna Mefford says:

    I follow on Twitter and Tweeted

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  15. Jenna Mefford says:

    I shared on FB

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  16. Jenna Mefford says:

    I added your button

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  17. Jenna Mefford says:

    I liked Eco Strip on FB

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  18. Jenna Mefford says:

    I follow EcoStripon Twitter

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  19. katherine says:

    Love the auto light switch idea 🙂

  20. katherine says:

    I follow via google reader.

  21. Becky says:

    So hard to pick just one…But I would like the laundry sorted, cleaned, dried, folded and put away without me having to do a thing.

  22. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  23. Becky says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  24. Our tv already turns itself off if it thinks we’re not using it…so I guess the automatic sensing light switch sounds pretty good, like the ones in Target’s grocery section that go on when you walk by.

  25. Facebook fan Christine M Tubbytelly

  26. Liked Ecostrip page Christine M Tubbytelly

  27. Becky says:

    I would like dishes to be washed for me!
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  28. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  29. Becky says:

    I like you on FB
    Becky Fluff
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  30. Becky says:

    I like EcoStrip on FB
    Becky Fluff
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  31. Becky says:

    I follow EcoStrip on twitter
    @rhuss85
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  32. Lily Kwan says:

    I would like to have taken dirty dishes taken care of without needing to do it.

  33. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  34. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  35. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/108370404770447361.

  36. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/241177655926094.

  37. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow EcoStrip on Facebook under the username likwan.

  38. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow EcoStrip on Twitter under the username likwan.

  39. Pingback: eco strip giveaway winner & green earth towels re-draw winner! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  40. Pingback: EcoStrip: Power-Saving Strip | EcoStrip

Leave a Reply

