dave’s gourmet: bringing italian goodness to any meal (review & giveaway)

I have a good friend.  He makes an appearance at least every week, if not twice.  His name is pasta.  He comes in curly-que noodles adorned with pesto and shredded parmesan.  Or he’s back into a delicious layered pie of handmade noodles, ricotta, spinach, mushrooms, hearty marinara sauce and a healthy dash of his cousins – oregano and basil.  Sometimes he’s a tri-colored salad with sliced black olives, plump round tomatoes and a good bathing of olive oil and garlic.  The freezer is almost always stocked with a pan of cheesy macaroni that’s being held together with a sauce of sour cream and milk and the tang of dried mustard.  But – the favorite, the good ‘ol standby is spaghetti.  It’s always on our weekly menu and it’s our fast last-minute meal that hits the table in under twenty minutes, feeds the masses and stuffs the guts.

"Mama's" plate of pasta for dinner

"Beckett's" plate of pasta for dinner

If you’ve been with this blog since last summer, you’ll remember my adventures with making homemade tomato sauce.  After acquiring the necessary tomatoes and hours of cooking, I was left with eight beautiful jars filled with a jubilant red and deliciously thick tomato sauce.  And, after a bit of number crunching, I came to the conclusion that each jar cost me over $6 before all my effort and time.   This summer the goal is to acquire free tomatoes – a.k.a. homegrown.   

Even with a pantry stocked full of homemade tomato sauce, albeit expensive, I am always on the lookout for a jar of good sauce with a classic heartiness and an abundance of Italian flavor.  I have found it.  It’s all conveniently packaged in a jar of Dave’s Gourmet sauce.

Dave’s Gourmet is an award-winning line of delicious pasta sauces.  Many of them are organic and each one of them packs a punch when it comes to flavor.  I love that the variety ranges from the classic marinara red sauce to fantastically unique varieties like the Butternut Squash sauce.  The biggest surprise came in the form of the Masala Marinara which hit me with a good tang and a subtle sweetness.  In addition to tasting incredibly good, the sauces are thick and hearty.  There is no runny liquid that collects on your plate and the sauces are stick to your bones scrumptious.

I have tried the pasta sauces from Dave’s Gourmet and make sure that there is at least one jar always ready on the shelf.  But, there is also a complete collection of hot sauces, condiments, spices and snacks.  If they are of the same quality as the pasta sauces, I know we are in for a real treat.  While not all their products are “organic”, they are each made with ingredients I’d find in my own kitchen and lack unnecessary preservatives and chemicals.  The website is organized into an “organic” section so you can easily find the products that fit that bill if it’s what you’re looking for.  If you have a good friend named pasta, I think that he’d like to be joined by some Dave’s Gourmet pasta sauces the next time he shows up for dinner!  Enjoy!

Where to buy?  Visit Dave’s Gourmet’s website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected: Follow Dave’s Gourmet on Facebook and Twitter.

Want to enjoy some Dave’s Gourmet?  Look no further than the giveaway below!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • An assortment of pasta sauces from Dave’s Gourmet!

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite pasta sauce/dish?  Oh, I and love recipes, too!

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Extra entry if you drop your favorite recipe into an additional comment.
  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Dave’s Gourmet on Facebook
  • Follow Dave’s Gourmet on Twitter @davesgourmet

Winners will be drawn on Tuesday, August 23rd, 2011 at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to dave’s gourmet: bringing italian goodness to any meal (review & giveaway)

  1. Lauriel says:

    someone brought us a baked ziti dish when scout was born and it was delicious, new favorite!

  2. Lauriel says:

    we subscribe via email

  3. Lauriel says:

    we subscribe via google reader

  4. Angie P says:

    We have spaghetti every week!

  5. Angie P says:

    I subscribe via google reader!

  6. Becky says:

    I love pasta salad in the summer…my kids LOVE mac n cheese.

  7. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  8. Becky says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  9. Barb says:

    I can’t believe I haven’t found this product….Will look for it now!! We use corn and other grain pasta’s here(the farmer is gluten sensitive….). Hope all is well…we are crazy busy here….Thank goodness harvest only happens once a year!

  10. katherine says:

    I love pesto (and now with gluten-free pasta — not as good as it used to be, but yummy nonetheless!)!

  11. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  12. Emily N. says:

    I like lasagna and ravioli the best.

  13. Emily N. says:

    reader subscriber

  14. Cee says:

    I like sun-dried tomato pesto on my pasta! Yum!

  15. ilibrarianblog says:

    I love a meatless ravioli topped with marinara made with lots of garlic and mushrooms!

  16. ilibrarianblog says:

    I subscribe via email.

  17. ilibrarianblog says:

    I “like” on Fbook.

  18. ilibrarianblog says:

    I’ve posted the SB button on my site.

  19. Becky says:

    I LOVE Fettuccine Alfredo!
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  20. Becky says:

    I follow via email
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  21. Becky says:

    I follow you on twitter

    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  22. Becky says:

    I like you on FB
    Becky Fluff
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  23. Becky says:

    I like Dave’s Gourmet on FB
    Becky Fluff
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  24. Becky says:

    I follow Dave’s Gourmet on twitter
    @rhuss85
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  25. I make a mean vegan lasagna! It is my favorite comfort food, for sure.

    larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  26. I follow Dave’s Gourmet on Twitter. I am @purplelarkspur

    larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  27. I subscribe via Reader (and I am so glad I found your blog! I am also a beekeeper, and love to hear about other beekeeper’s experiences!)

    larkspurpurple (at) gmail.com

  28. Lily Kwan says:

    My favorite pasta sauce is alfredo.

  29. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  30. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  31. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Dave’s Gourmet on Facebook under the username likwan.

  32. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Dave’s Gourmet on Twitter under the username likwan.

  33. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and retweeted this giveaway at https://twitter.com/#!/likwan/status/106196638720200704.

  34. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/123645534400872.

Leave a Reply

