morning glory muffins

It’s summer now, so I have plenty of time in the morning for a leisurely breakfast.  Well, it’s as relaxing and leisurely as you can have with a toddler in tow.  During the work week I find that I am less likely to have a rushed breakfast or skip it all together if there is something healthy I can grab and run with in addition to my standby banana or apple.  One of my favorite recipes is for a healthy muffin that pulls together a lot of the loose ends in the fridge, packs a sweet punch without feeling like a cupcake and fills you up from morning until lunch.  This recipe was first made by my stepmom, Claudia, during the weeks after Beckett was born and it was a perfect palm-full of food to munch on when I was nursing and nursing and nursing… I use my food processor or mixer’s grater attachment to prep the apples and carrots in a jiffy.  Enjoy!

  • ½ cup oil – I substitute this with ½ cup applesauce (it’s healthier, but keeps the moisture content of the oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 medium carrot, grated (about 3 ounces) – I often use a handful of baby carrots because it’s what we have
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple, unpeeled and grated (about 6 ounces) – I just use whatever apples we have at the time
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup oats
  • ¾ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 3 tablespoons wheat germ – I up this to ¼ cup because I like the heartiness of the wheat germ
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ginger

Mix together oil, eggs, sugar and vanilla.  Add carrot, apple, coconut, raisins and nuts.  Combine dry ingredients together then add to mix.  Bake at 375-degrees for 20 minutes in papered or slightly greased cupcake tins.  Makes 12 to 14 muffins.

This entry was posted in nice & natural, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to morning glory muffins

  1. Eileen says:

    These have been a favorite of our’s for a long time. YUMMY, moist and full of flavor.

  2. sacredbee says:

    These are one of our favorites! 🙂 I love how they pull together a bunch of ingredients and stay so full of flavor!

Leave a Reply

