check these out: a few must reads (giveaway)

Summertime is here – for most of you, I hope – it’s the perfect time to sit down in the sunshine, on the beach or under a tree and engross yourself in a good book.  ‘Tis the season to take a deep breath, relax and soak up some much needed Vitamin D.  Here is my latest list of must-reads.

Conscious Kitchen : The New Way to Buy and Cook Food – to Protect the Earth, Improve Your Health, and Eat Deliciously by Alexandra Zissu

I am all about books that pepper you with quick, to-the-point information that pertains to real life situations and choices.  If this same book can do this in a way that’s easy to follow and remember – I’m good to go.

The Conscious Kitchen by Alexandra Zissu is THE how-to guide for limiting your exposure to toxins, how to spend your dollars wisely when it comes to organic, how to eat locally, what kind of shellfish to eat, what kind of cookware is best for different jobs, how to decipher food labels and how to save energy when cooking – to just name a few.  It’s a quick read and is blissfully free from any preachiness or finger-pointing.  It’s the nuts and bolts of green choices, how to make them and what tools and information you need before you make them.

This book is an absolute must-read and one of those things you’ll find yourself coming back to often as a reference tool for questions and concerns.

To purchase: Please visit your local bookstore or my favorite stomping ground in Bellingham, Village Books’, website.

Plastic: A Toxic Love Story by Susan Freinkel

The anthropologist in me is drawn to real life stories.  I love reading about characters that lived and breathed and the fantastic adventures and histories of tangible items are no exception.

Plastic: A Toxic Love Story by Susan Freinkel wraps all of this up into one amazing read.  The book is of manageable length and the writing is a seamless combination of investigative journalism and expert storytelling.  The basic premise of the book is a history of plastic and how our society’s love affair began with this versatile product.  The story is told by taking an in-depth look at eight different common products: comb, chair, Frisbee, IV bag, disposable lighter, grocery bag, soda bottle, and credit card and examines the way that each of these represents a unique function and an introduction into a newfound use for plastic.

The book tells the story and history of plastic, but also offers up a plan for ridding or reducing the role that plastic plays in our everyday routine.  The book is well worth the read and if you’re at all like me, you’ll find yourself going, “Wow, I never knew that” more than a few times.

To purchase: Please visit our local bookstore, Village Books’, website or Susan Freinkel’s website.  Or look down a little further for a giveaway.

THE TOTE BAG by Jitesh Patel

I always find it interesting when an author or researcher can take a seemingly boring, everyday object and make it interesting because of its variety, history and plethora.  The Tote Bag by Jitesh Patel looks at the history of the tote bag and has pulled together a collection of different bags from designers around the world.  Each bag is presented with information on the designer and their creative thoughts.   The funky kicker is the packaging – the book is wrapped in a beautiful and unique reusable fabric tote bag!  It’s kind of a coffee-table book with a twist.

To purchase: Please visit your local bookstore or my favorite stomping ground in Bellingham, Village Books’, website.  Or look down a little further for a giveaway.

Want to ready something good this summer?  Then, look no further than this giveaway!

Three {!!} lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • Plastic: A Toxic Love Story by Susan Freinkel {one winner}
  • The Tote Bag by Jitesh Patel {two winners}

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite book of all-time?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.

Winners will be drawn on Friday, July 29th at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to check these out: a few must reads (giveaway)

  1. Midjie Drew says:

    the tote bag looks interesting..My favorite book of all time is the razors edge ..

  2. I loved “Darkness at Noon” by Arthur Koestler and the classic “1984”. I couldn’t pick just one 🙂

  3. katherine says:

    Don’t really have a favorite of all time, but enjoyed my most recent read… “the art of racing in the rain”!

  4. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  5. Catherine says:

    Whoa. Favorite book of all time is a tall order. One of my favorites is “Life of Pi.” I can’t commit to favorite of all time. 🙂

  6. Catherine says:

    I’m a Facebook fan.

  7. Catherine says:

    I’m subscribed via e-mail.

  8. Catherine says:

    And I’m also subscribed via Google Reader.

  9. Jenna Mefford says:

    I really like the Wheel of Time

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  10. Jenna Mefford says:

    I subscribed via email

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  11. Jenna Mefford says:

    I follow on Google Reader

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  12. Jenna Mefford says:

    I’m a Fan on FB

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  13. Jenna Mefford says:

    I follow on Twitter and Tweeted

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  14. Jenna Mefford says:

    I shared about this giveaway on FB

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  15. Jenna Mefford says:

    I added your button

    redshadow1606@gmail.com

  16. My favorite book of all time is Green Eggs and Ham!!!
    I am a simple girl.

  17. I subscribe via google reader

  18. I am a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook

  19. Meagan says:

    Oh gosh, how can I pick just one book?!? My favorite book of all time would have to be “The Last Lecture.” It helped me put everything in perspective. It’s so sad, yet so filled with hope.

  20. These all look like really interesting reads. I will pick up the Conscious Kitchen for sure–you can never have enough healthy cooking tips during CSA season!

    I think my all-time favorite book is still Raise High the Roofbeam, Carpenters, and Seymour: An Introduction by JD Salinger, but I just finished Kim Addonazio’s What Is This Thing Called Love?, a book of poetry, and it rocked my world too. And I consult Steve Solomon’s Growing Vegetables West of the Cascades almost every day, so I’d put that in my favorites too.

  21. carovee says:

    I can’t resist recommending “With Fire and Sword” because I love it so much. It is an old book written originally in polish and set during the Kossack uprising of 1632 (1650?). The author’s writing is so vivid and made the characters so compelling I cried my eyes out (and I almost never cry over books).

  22. Becky says:

    I can’t pick just one favorite….Nicholas Sparks is always a good read. For the kiddos I love reading the Llama, llama series. They are so cute. My fav (of the series) would have to be Llama, llama red pajama. But, they are all great! I can’t wait to get the new one coming out in August. Pete the Cat I Love My White Shoes is also a fun read for the kids.

  23. Becky says:

    I subscribe to emails.

  24. Becky says:

    I subscribe via Google reader.

  25. Soozle says:

    My favorite book is Girl Interrupted. I can read it over and over!

  26. Soozle says:

    I am a fan on FB (Suzanne Kristy)

  27. Soozle says:

    I posted on FB

  28. Lily Kwan says:

    My favorite book of all-time is a tie between Catcher in the Rye and Watership Down.

  29. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  30. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  31. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/likwan/status/97124698114113536.

  32. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/218727584839505.

  33. Pingback: summer reading giveaway WINNERS! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  34. Pingback: check these out: chickens, bees & a good read (giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

