plastic pantry purge

My nesting tendencies are in full swing and I am leaving very few nooks or crannies unturned. A few weeks ago it hit me that our pantry had become an unbearable mess. Well, this is partly because we don’t actually have a pantry. We have two cupboards in the kitchen that house the day-to-day dry goods, an overflow cupboard next to the washer and dryer that is the bigger stuff and then shelves in the garage for the extras. I envision a future homestead with a beautiful root cellar, shelves lining each wall and a cool-temperature year-round that is perfect for storing food. A girl can dream, right?

Well, this last weekend, I went gung-ho on the pantry. I pulled out dozens of canning jars that were cleaned and ready for preserving, lid assortments and dumped the contents of our pantry. Out into the recycle went all the plastic storage containers with cracked lids and BPA-laden materials. Sayonara went any plastic baggies that used twist ties, zippies or any other closure method. The brown paper bags hit the compost pile and the bits and pieces were consolidated into single containers if possible.

The cupboard was left clear and concise. The jars were beautifully organized and the contents visible. I knew what I had and it felt really good to be able to make a grocery list at first glance. But, there is a mystery. See – my labeling of the hodgepodge containers and vessels had been less than stellar and I am left with some unknowns. Wanna help solve the mystery? Pretty, please!

Container #1 – haven’t a clue as to what this stuff is. It looks a bit like wheat bran or wheat germ, but it’s really like colored. It’s clearly a ground up grain of some type, but I can’t figure out any more than that. Got any thoughts?

Container #2 – this looks an awful lot like spelt berries (which I do keep on hand for a delish salad that I made from spelt berries, dried cranberries, walnuts and feta… yum!), but the picture below is spelt berries (I’m positive) and they sure don’t look the exact same. Any ideas?

The definite spelt berries for comparison...

Possible spelt berries...

Mason jars or canning jars are a great way to store dried goods. They are affordable and readily available at garage sales and on craigslist. They are airtight, recyclable and the lids are reusable if you aren’t sealing them in a canner.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to plastic pantry purge

  1. Amanda says:

    Oat bran and barley

    • sacredbee says:

      Great suggestions/ideas. Oat bran hadn’t even crossed my mind, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I’d picked it up for a recipe or muffins or something… I’m thinking I might just add it to muffins and see how it goes… 🙂

  2. Diana says:

    If you still had the twist ties and carefully wrote on them the bin number, which happens at the Co-op…we have a cross-reference list on our website under the Bulk Dept. (www.communityfood.coop/store/bulk.html) that identifies bulk items by bin number or by name.

    • sacredbee says:

      I wish I still had the twist ties… I usually use the brown paper bags and just write the number on those, but those are gone, too… I might just throw some of the stuff into a muffin and see how it does! 🙂

Leave a Reply

