a peek in the medicine cabinet (review & giveaway)

Our medicine cabinet and toiletries cupboard has been one of the slowest transitions thus far with this project.  In an effort to keep things from going to waste completely, I have been replacing our old products with new, more eco-conscious, less toxic options.  The purge appears systematic, but I have also been known to chaotically chuck a highly questionable product when it’s still half-full and there is no replacement in sight.  And, I do have a tendency to pick up, after adequate oogling, a product that I just can’t live without even though the “okay” version is still being used at home.

I was thinking that you might like to take a peek into our bathroom and see what my new must-haves are.   Some of these are steals with rock bottom prices and all of them are natural, eco-conscious and free from the gnarly parabens, phtlates and other potentially harmful ingredients.

Maty’s Chest Rub & Honey Cough Syrup

Our household lives in a two-week cycle when it comes to sickness.  Between the germs from daycare and me in a public school – we are a literal breeding ground for sickness.  We seem to get two weeks of everyone at 100% and feeling fine and then two weeks of at least someone sick, if not all three of us.  Back and forth – round and round.

One of the products I was always using on Beckett was the standard, blue-tint petroleum jelly rub that is mixed with menthol.  Nighttimes are the worst and anything I can do to help her breathe and sleep is a plus.  I wasn’t a big fan of the ingredients of this name brand product and really didn’t like that it was petroleum jelly (can you say oil byproduct?), so I went looking for something else.  And, I found it with Maty’s.  It has the creaminess of a good jelly for staying on the skin and a wonderful, nose-clearing, breathe-easier smell that’s a combination of eucalyptus, lavender and chamomile.  It’s so refreshing to find a product that clears up that cold gunk that plagues good sleep and is menthol and petroleum free!

Maty’s also makes a wonderful line of all-natural cough syrup.  The syrups are honey based and work exceedingly well.  They aren’t sugary sweet like so many other cough syrups and keep the nagging nighttime cough at bay from bedtime until morning.  Jacob and I like them, but after a squint, gulp and shudder, Beckett informed me they were “too spicy” for her.  Spicy is her all-encompassing adjective for anything with a bit of a bite or strong taste.  After a slow introduction and warming up, Beckett had decided the trade-off of spicy is worth it for a good night’s sleep.

I like that Maty’s has found a way to offer all-natural alternatives to your common cold symptoms.  They work and have the added benefit of being free from any potentially harmful or eco-damaging ingredients.

Where to buy?  Check out Maty’s website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Maty’s on Facebook!

Alba Shave Cream

I sheepishly admit that the reason I decided to look for shaving cream at all is because I ran out of conditioner.  I used to use conditioner as a two-fer – it was primarily for the hair on my head, but it also worked decent for my legs and armpits.  But, then I started think about how expensive my conditioner was and I reasoned that if I could find product that was affordable and was intended to be used for shaving, I’d get it.

The Alba Shave Cream is from a trusted company that makes extremely high-quality, natural cosmetics and beauty care items and the ingredients are all ones that I can proudly live with.   At first glance, the price fit right in my budget at $3.13 for an 8-ounce tube.  But, it got even better when I realized you only need a smidgen for everything – literally, less than a dime size.  Plus, the smell is heaven.

Where to buy?  Check out my favorite one-stop-beauty-shop, VitaCost.com.


Alvera Deodorant

Let me be clear – I don’t sweat.  I glow.  But, glowing still stinks.  When my standard-name brand deodorant finally ran out, I picked up a bottle of Alvera Aloe & Almonds Deodorant.  Anything with almonds makes my heart pitter patter and at a price of $3.24 (3-ounce) – I couldn’t pass it up.  The first two ingredients are aloe vera and herb water and the remaining half dozen are natural and safe.  The deodorant smells divine and works incredibly well.  A little goes a long way and unlike most roll-ons – I am not left feeling wet under the pits before I’ve even started to “glow”.

Where to buy?  Check out my favorite one-stop-beauty-shop, VitaCost.com.

Ready to stock up your medicine cabinet with all-natural and eco-conscious body products?  Well, then look no further than this giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • All-Natural Cough Syrup from Maty’s

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What smell makes your heart go pitter patter when it comes to body care products?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Maty’s on Facebook
  • Sign up for a subscription to Maty’s blog

Winners will be drawn on Monday, July 4th (my birthday!!!) at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in nice & natural, practically personal. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to a peek in the medicine cabinet (review & giveaway)

  1. Becky says:

    Vanilla is my all time favorite sent!

  2. ilibrarianblog says:

    I’m with you on almond! I also like gardenia!

  3. Becky says:

    Already a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook

  4. ilibrarianblog says:

    I subscribe via email! (oh, and I agree with Becky about vanilla…then I like rose, too…it’s hard to choose just one!)

  5. Becky says:

    I Subscribe via email

  6. katherine says:

    love lavendar!!

  7. katherine says:

    i subscribe via google reader.

  8. Angie P says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  9. Angie P says:

    I tweeted! mommyp4

  10. edmontonjb says:

    Cucumber is my favorite body care scent

  11. Lily Kwan says:

    I love floral and fruit scents!

  12. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  13. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  14. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/likwan/status/88064697550639104.

  15. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/229731497057616.

  16. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Maty’s on Facebook under the username likwan.

  17. Pingback: nellie’s all natural & maty’s cough syrup giveaway WINNERS! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  18. Pingback: maty’s cough syrup, bamboosa & polished mama winners: re-draws | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

