personalized cleanliness: nellie’s all-natural & eco-me (review & giveaway)

Now that Beckett is potty-trained, the amount of required cleaning in our house has dropped dramatically.  The most obvious change is a bit of a misnomer when it comes to cloth diapering – the lack of laundry involving one load of diaper inserts, leak-proof covers and cloth wipes every other day.  But, there is also the bathroom.  No more pail by the toilet to clean out and disinfect on a regular basis.  No more off-shooting spray from the nozzle that was used for unmentionably dirty diapers.

Let me be clear though: No more diapering has lead to less cleaning.  Not no cleaning.  That’s goes away when the hired help comes in.

Nellie’s All-Natural: Local & Funky

I am always on the lookout for a good cleaning product that replaces one of our non-eco-friendly or unnecessarily wasteful products.  A fantastic company, Nellie’s All-Naturals, was recommended to me by a friend, Cutzi, and has got two things taken care of for us.

The first that grabbed my attention when it came to Nellie’s All-Naturals was the adorable, reusable tins that their detergents and soaps are packaged in.  The website and logo design are reminiscent of 1950s nostalgia and the tins are classics from a bygone era.  The company is also local to our area with everything made in Vancouver, B.C. Canada!

The two products I have come to love from Nellie’s are their PVC-free Dryer Balls and Oxy Brightener.  During the warmer months of the year (which, by the way, have still not arrived here…), we hang all our laundry on the clothesline outside.  Our dryer is our method of choice the other seven eight eleven months of the year.  I had been using a great eco-friendly dryer sheet for keeping static manageable and freshening up a dryer load, but I hated that the sheets had a very short reusable lifespan and couldn’t be composted, recycled or disposed of in an eco-friendly way.  The Dryer Balls from Nellie’s Natural are PVC-free, infinitely reusable and handle static as well as the dryer sheets I’d been using.  There are also optional scented inserts if you would like to add a bit more pizzazz to your load.

The addition of Nellie’s Oxy Brightener to our laundry regimen has meant that we no longer need to use the powder in the bright blue container that came to us a via a shouting infomercial.  The Oxy Brightener gets the toughest stains out of Jacob’s grass stained and dirt imbedded baseball pants and can tackle the ickiness of accidents that inevitably happen with even the most well-potty-trained toddler.  The ingredients are chlorine-free and 100% biodegradable and hypoallergenic.  It works just as well as my infomercial brand, but has the added bonus of being good for the environment and safe for us!

Nellie’s All-Natural has managed to pull it all together: products that work and are eco-friendly and packaging that’s reusable and cute!

Where to buy?  Visit Nellie’s All-Natural website for locations.  Locally it’s available at Terra Organica in Bellingham.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Nellie’s All-Natural on Facebook and Twitter.

Eco-Me: Clean on the inside

I think that cleaning can be infinitely more fun if it has a personal twist.  Literally.  If the bottle says “Kate” – that makes me smile a bit during what would be a normally doldrum activity.  An organization that is very close to my heart and shares a mission many of us parents have, Healthy Child Healthy World, lead me to Eco-Me.

Eco-Me is a company that has an extensive line of natural cleaning, personal care and pet products.  Each of the cleaners has a personalized touch – a person’s name.   Besides making you smile, the name represents the vested interest that Eco-Me has in the individual – you and me – that are using their products and how they are working to keep harmful chemicals out of our homes and environment.

All of Eco-Me’s products are 100% natural and made from food-grade ingredients that are completely chemical-free.  The ingredients have a basic recipe that is tweaked for each product’s specific purpose, but center on the following: Vegetable Glycerin Soap, Sodium Bicarbonate (Baking Soda), Vinegar, Corn Starch and Pure Plant Essential Oils.

The number one product I enjoy is the “Kate” Floor Polish (duh!), but it’s followed up by a close second and third with the “Jack” Stainless Steel Cleaner and “Phil” Toilet Bowl Cleaner.  “Jack” does an excellent job of cleaning up our beautiful stainless steel pots and frying pans after a messy night with spaghetti dinner or when I need to remove that grunge that builds up over time.  And, “Phil” has a ridiculously fresh herb smell for being a toilet bowl cleaner.  I have a silly confession to make: I like cleaning the toilet.  I have such a sense of accomplishment when I look at a sparkling white toilet bowl that is gross-free.

I think that it is so cool that Eco-Me has created a huge line of products for you, me, the dog and our household that are 100% natural and effective.  The concentrates are a money- and package-saving option and the clever names make Eco-Me a product worth remembering and trying.

Where to buy?  Check Eco-Me’s website for locations and to purchase.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Eco-Me on Facebook and Twitter!

Ready to brighten up your laundry?  Well, then look no further than this giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • Oxy Brightener from Nellie’s All-Natural

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What “stain” is your greatest archenemy?  Mine is grease.

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Nellie’s All-Natural on Facebook
  • Follow Nellie’s All-Natural on Twitter @nelliesnatural

Winners will be drawn on Friday, July 1st at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to personalized cleanliness: nellie’s all-natural & eco-me (review & giveaway)

  1. Becky says:

    I don’t like mustard stains.

  2. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email. Thanks!

  3. House of Kirk says:

    I “liked” Nellie’s on Facebook.

  4. Ana says:

    Blueberry stains on my toddler shirts.

  5. Ana says:

    I subscribed via email

  6. House of Kirk says:

    My struggle is not so much a stain, although I have my battles. My biggest archenemy is the smell from the stain left by our preschooler who is still struggling with being fully potty trained. If you ever want to clear out a room…stratch that, clear out the entire house. Just bring down the wash from the bathroom. I never have this issue with our toddlers cloth diapers/training pants. It is just mind boggling how a little one can produce such a lasting effect like that. We make our own laundry soap and I’ve tried all the homemade natural stain/smell-get-er-outters that I can find. I’ve even purchased some really expensive products from the co-op. Sadly several things just get thrown away after washing them a half dozen times. Hopefully this phase will be over soon.

  7. Christine M. says:

    Mango, avocado, whatever baby is eating gets on his clothes.

  8. Christine M. says:

    Subscribed via email tubbytelly at gmail dot com

  9. Christine M. says:

    Subscribed via rss (google)

  10. Christine M. says:

    Like you on FB Christine M.

  11. Christine M. says:

    Follow Nellies on twitter @_tubbytelly

  12. Christine M. says:

    Like Nellies on FB Christine M.

  13. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    dried blood is the hardest stain for me. xoxo to my Ferry girls and to the Tucker

  14. JLJMommy says:

    So far Mustard has proven the hardest to get out. My 5 year old LOVES mustard on everything that people put ketchup on. And did I mention he is a super messy eater!!!

  15. JLJMommy says:

    I get your emails at ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  16. JLJMommy says:

    @sacredbee twitter follower – @JLJMommy

  17. JLJMommy says:

    @nelliesnatural twitter follower – @JLJMommy

  18. JLJMommy says:

    I subscribe via goggle reader.

  19. Christine M. says:

  20. katherine says:

    Marinara sauce!! Uuuggghhh!

  21. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  22. Christine M. says:

  23. Christine M. says:

  24. Christine M. says:

  25. Christine M. says:

  26. Christine M. says:

  27. Christine M. says:

  28. Jenna Mefford says:

    Mine is ketchup. redshadow1606@gmail.com

  29. Jenna Mefford says:

    I subscribed via email.

  30. Jenna Mefford says:

    I added you to my Google reader.

  31. Jenna Mefford says:

    I became a fan on facebook.

  32. Jenna Mefford says:

    I became a fan of Nellie’s All-Natural on facebook.

  33. Jenna Mefford says:

    I added your button to my blog.

  34. Jenna Mefford says:

    I linked you to my facebook page.

  35. Christine M. says:

  36. Christine M. says:

  37. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Baby food is my worst stains):
    Nguyengkathy at gmail dot com

  38. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subscribed via email
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  39. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subcribed you to my google reader.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  40. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of your fb page.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  41. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow you on twitter
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31

  42. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow Nelliesnatural on twitter
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31

  43. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of Nelliesnatural on fb
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  44. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  45. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  46. Christine M. says:

  47. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  48. Christine M. says:

  49. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  50. Christine M. says:

  51. Christine M. says:

  52. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  53. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  54. Christine M. says:

  55. Christine M. says:

  56. Christine M. says:

  57. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  58. Christine M. says:

  59. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  60. Christine M. says:

  61. Christine M. says:

  62. Christine M. says:

  63. Christine M. says:

  64. Christine M. says:

  65. Christine M. says:

  66. Lily Kwan says:

    Pasta sauce is my greatest archenemy.

  67. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  68. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  69. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at https://twitter.com/likwan/status/86989217992933376.

  70. Lily Kwan says:

    I posted this giveaway on my Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/227402540615521.

  71. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Nellie’s All-Natural on Facebook under the username likwan.

  72. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Nellie’s All-Natural on Twitter under the username likwan.

  73. Pingback: nellie’s all natural & maty’s cough syrup giveaway WINNERS! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

