mary meyer: stuffed toys with a green message

I can count on one hand the number of new stuffed animals that Beckett has acquired in her almost three years.  She has the Rainbow Bright from my childhood and sleeps with a birthday Care Bear from Jacob’s younger days and her basket is full of hand-knit, one of kind crafts fair finds from when we were wee ones.  They have character and are made with love, but they have moved from our memories to her real life.  I have pulled out a few long-ago stashed stuffed animals from Jacob’s and my childhood for this new little bundle of joy we are expecting, but I have also been looking for something or someone that could be special and “just his” or “just hers” – not big sister sharing or mama or papa hand-me-down.  I found it with Mary Meyer’s line of greener stuffed animals.

Mary Meyer is a family run business in Vermont that bears the distinction of being Vermont’s oldest toy stuffed toy company and gets 100% of its energy from cow power!  Cow Power is electricity that’s been produced by methane-generators that are fueled by cow manure.

The greener line of toys from Mary Meyer includes the Earthmates made from 100% organic cotton and my personal favorite – the Fuzz that Wuzz that’s made from 100% recycled plastic PET bottles.   The Fuzz that Wuzz toys are surprisingly soft and cuddly and bear no resemblance to their former counterparts.  The stuffed toys have adorably curly hair that’s been gently dyed and resembles some of the most whimsical characters – a moose, cow, turtle and bear.  The Earthmates collection has a sublime innocence to them.  The natural dyes are low-key and perfect for a special little one.  I love the rotund bellies and plump bums that have a Buddha-esque quality as the monkey, elephant and frog!

Mary Meyer has done a wonderful job of keeping a small, family-run business feel while staying competitive against big-name companies by using eco-friendly materials and manufacturing methods!

Where to buy?  Check out Mary Meyer’s website for locations.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of Mary Meyer on Facebook!

Ready to cuddle with some organic cuties?!  Good thing I have a giveaway lined up!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win one of following:

  • A stuffed animal of choice from Mary Meyer’s “Greener Toys” line

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What or who was your most favorite stuffed animal as a child?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook (leave me your first name & last initial in the comment )
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Badge and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Mary Meyer on Facebook

Winners will be drawn on Thursday, June 30th at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in bundle of baby, nice & natural, oh! it's organic!. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to mary meyer: stuffed toys with a green message

  1. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    love the cow…I think a visit to Vermont is in order. Where is this in Vermont? xoxo

  2. Christine M. says:

    I had a pink and white teddy bear brought back from Australia.

  3. Christine M. says:

    Subscribed via email.

  4. Christine M. says:

    Subscribed via rss (iGoogle)

  5. Christine M. says:

    FB fan Christine M.

  6. Christine M. says:

  7. Christine M. says:

  8. Christine M. says:

    Liked Mary Meyer on FB Christine M.

  9. ilibrarianblog says:

    These are adorable! Put me down as my “favorite” being a blanket, not an animal. Can’t remember any stuffed animal.

  10. ilibrarianblog says:

    I subscribe via email.

  11. ilibrarianblog says:

    I “like” on Fbook.

  12. Lauriel says:

    “Boeing Brown Bear”, a classic brown teddy bear with a red bow. won for me by my grandpa at a work picnic of my dad’s. It sits in our soon to be baby’s crib right now…but I would love to get a new special stuffed animal for our little one!

  13. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via email.

  14. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  15. Becky says:

    I had a couple of favorites. One is a Fievel stuffed animal. I’ve kept it all these years and now my kids have it.

  16. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  17. katherine says:

    Loved my winnie the pooh!

  18. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  19. Christine M. says:

  20. Christine M. says:

  21. Christine M. says:

  22. Christine M. says:

  23. Christine M. says:

  24. Christine M. says:

  25. Christine M. says:

  26. Christine M. says:

  27. Christine M. says:

  28. Christine M. says:

  29. Christine M. says:

  30. Christine M. says:

  31. Kathy Nguyen says:

    My favorite stuff animal was a hello kitty my godmother bought me. I love it and lugged it around everywhere I went.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  32. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subscribed via email
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  33. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subscribed your blog to my google reader
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  34. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of your facebook page.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  35. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow you on twitter
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31

  36. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of Mary Meyer on fb
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  37. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  38. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  39. Christine M. says:

  40. Soozle says:

    My favorite stuffed toy as a child was a little smurfs doll!

  41. Soozle says:

    I like Sacred Bee on FB – Suzanne K
    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

  42. Soozle says:

    I like Mary meyer on FB (Suzanne K)

  43. Soozle says:

    I’ve linked on FB

  44. Christine M. says:

  45. Christine M. says:

  46. Christine M. says:

  47. Christine M. says:

  48. Christine M. says:

  49. Christine M. says:

  50. Christine M. says:

  51. Christine M. says:

  52. Christine M. says:

  53. Christine M. says:

  54. Christine M. says:

  55. Lily Kwan says:

    I had a giant teddy bear that I loved very much.

  56. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  57. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the name Lily Kwan.

  58. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/86626416678019074.

  59. Lily Kwan says:

    I posted this giveaway on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/178854085508185.

  60. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Mary Meyer on Facebook under the name Lily Kwan.

  61. Pingback: mary meyer “green line” WINNER! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

