glob it on: botanical paints for a budding artist (review & giveaway)

There are very few things that my toddler will sit still for.  One is art time.  Beckett is an artist at heart and you can bet your bottom dollar that her “art folder” at daycare is always filled to the brim (even if I just emptied it).  Whether it’s toddler-friendly spray painting, sidewalk chalk drawings, finger painting or just some classic crayon work – it’s always art time around the house.

One of the things I have been on the lookout for is a natural paint that uses plant-based dyes instead of artificial colorings.  I found one that came from a reputable company, but had two problems.  The colors were drab and lacked any imaginative vibrancy.  And, they smelled.  They smelled natural and not “natural” in a good way.  Natural like old dirt that had been wet too long or a sock that lingered in a gym shoe.  The smell was there when the paint was freshly wet and stuck around even after Beckett’s masterpieces had dried.

But, then I found it – GLOB botanical paints.  They are bright, naturally colorful paints that smell incredibly good (seriously!).  The cherry-on-top is the minimal packaging that strays away from bulky and unnecessary jars and bottles.

GLOB’s line of paints are just perfect.  The “paints” are packaged in small packets (think kool-aid size) and mixed with water to create a consistency that can vary from watercolors to tempera.  The packets each make up to 3 ounces of paint, so they can stretch over multiple uses.  The colors are incredibly vivid and mimic a beautiful ROYGBIV rainbow of hues.  Each paint is dyed with a combination of vegetable, spice, flower and/or fruit pigments.

But, I can’t forget the smell.  It’s amazing!  Each packet is a delightful morsel of goodness.  The tangerine orange smells like a freshly cut citrus globe.  The blueberry blue smells like fresh baked pie.  They are intensely sweet and I shamelessly admit to taking deep whiffs as I mixed up Beckett’s paint.

In addition to the packet of six colors that is GLOB’s trademark product, they also carry more extensive products including a paint set that is in ready to mix jars and the paint kit that includes six color packets and bamboo paintbrushes.

Where to buy?  Check out GLOB’s website for locations.  Get socially connected: Become a fan of GLOB on Facebook and Twitter!

Ready to paint something beautiful?  And, smell yummy paint?  Good thing there’s a giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • A set of six color packets from GLOB

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favoritest color in the whole wide world?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook (leave me your first name & last initial in the comment )
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Badge and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of GLOB Paints on Facebook
  • Follow GLOB on Twitter @globiton

Winners will be drawn on June 22nd at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to glob it on: botanical paints for a budding artist (review & giveaway)

  1. Becky says:

    Thank you so much for bringing this product to my attention. It looks great!!
    I have been really digging the grays lately.

  2. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  3. Lauriel says:

    Awesome colors! I can’t wait to try it!

  4. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via email

  5. Lauriel says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  6. katherine says:

    I love YELLOW — so cheerful!

  7. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  8. Micaela says:

    GLOB is an inspiration for any artist who has accidentally put the wrong end of the paintbrush in their mouth. The first color on the tip of my tongue these days is Teal! A deep, soulful teal.

  9. Barb says:

    How fun is that!!! Beckett is a lucky little artist!!!

  10. Virginia says:

    PURPLE for sure!

  11. Virginia says:

    Beckett is a lot like her mom, I think. 🙂
    And I subscribe via email!

  12. Melissa says:

    My favoritest color right now is cobalt blue 🙂

  13. Melissa says:

    I subscribe via Google Reader

  14. susan says:

    I love green! Bright kelly green, or the green of deciduous trees.

  15. carole says:

    i’ve always loooved the red-orange crayon. as i got older it’s changed to sienna, etc… but red orange is still my fav.

  16. Heidi Seligman says:

    I love light purple!!!!!!!

  17. Heidi Seligman says:

    I became a fan and liked you on Facebook!!!!!!!
    Heidi Seligman

  18. Heidi Seligman says:

    I subscribed via email!!!!!
    Heidi Seligman

  19. Heidi Seligman says:

    I linked the Sacred Bees Blog to my facebook page and commented!!!!!
    https://sacredbee.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/glob-it-on/#comment-2199

  20. Heidi Seligman says:

    I tried to link what I wrote on my facebook page but I dont know how! sorry!!

  21. Heidi Seligman says:

    I became a fan of glob paints on facebook! Thanks!

  22. Aubrey says:

    Green! People tell me I need less green in my wardrobe but I love it!

  23. Angela says:

    Love YELLOW!

  24. Kim says:

    My favorite color is green!

  25. Amanda says:

    My favorite color is apple green!

  26. Andi says:

    We love cardinal red in this house 🙂

  27. karen says:

    i followed on fb 🙂

  28. karen says:

    my most favorite color is cerulean (and because it’s fun to say)

  29. karen j says:

    i subscribe via google reader too!

  30. karen j says:

    followed glob on fb

  31. Amber says:

    My favorite color is GREEN!

  32. Amber says:

    I subscribe to you by email.

  33. Amber says:

    I follow you by the Reader

  34. Amber says:

    I like you on FB as Amber Stawicki

  35. Amber says:

    I tweeted about the giveaway

  36. Amber says:

    I like GLOB on FB as Amber Stawicki

  37. Kathy Nguyen says:

    My all time favorite color is purple<3
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  38. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subscribed via email.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  39. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I subscribed this blog to my google reader.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  40. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of your fb page.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  41. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow you on twitter.
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31

  42. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I am a fan of GLOB on fb
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://www.facebook.com/xNguyenLim

  43. Kathy Nguyen says:

    I follow GLOB on twitter
    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com
    http://twitter.com/#!/Socalsunshine31

  44. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  45. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  46. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  47. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  48. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  49. Kathy Nguyen says:

    Nguyenhkathy at gmail dot com

  50. Lily Kwan says:

    I don’t really have a favoritest color but I like pink.

  51. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  52. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  53. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter under the username likwan.

  54. Lily Kwan says:

    I posted this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/237915152905136.

  55. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow GLOB Paints on Facebook under the username likwan.

  56. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow GLOB Paints on Twitter under the username likwan.

  57. Pingback: Faber-Castell: An eco-friendly approach to art (review & giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

