green toys: new life to old recycled milk jugs (review & giveaway)

One of my favorite things about this blog is that it is my outlet for shouting.  I love shouting from the rooftops and through the computer screen about amazing products.  These are the things that make me proud to be where I am, proud to have them in my house and proud to support companies doing really cool eco-conscious things.  Some of these things are newbies that I stumble upon or hear about through a winding, whipping grapevine.  But, then there are the other ones that were part of our lives long before this project began.  These are the ones that gave me hope I had been doing a least a few things right before I started purging our house of products, chemicals, companies and food I couldn’t stand behind.

If there is one toy brand you’ll find around our house more than any other it is Green ToysTheir tea set was a first birthday gift from Grandma CC and Grandpa Bruce.  The dump truck was a “just because” gift during a visit from California.  And, their cooking and dining set has become a must have in the make-believe kitchen where Chef Beckett whips up her endless specialties.  Spicy Tea.  Scrambled eggs from a pot. Or bagels with sprinkles.

{Below is a photo montage of Beckett and Green Toys through the ages.  Her adorableness and the speed at which she has grown up are enough to make my eyes stream tears.}

Happy 1st Birthday!

Truckin' around with a dump truck...

Whipping up a batch of scrambled eggs

Green Toys is worthy of a ginormous shout-out because of what they are making their toys out of.  Each toy is made with 100% recycled milk jugs.  All waste.  All recycled.  All repurposed into adorable toys.  The plastic used in milk jugs is high-density polyethylene (HDPE) which means that it is BPA, phthalate and PVC-free.  It’s amazing to me that Green Toys has found a way to create an entire product line that is made of 100% recycled material.  Shout that out!

And, keep it all manufactured in one single location.

Transportation costs are one of the hidden culprits when it comes to pollution and trying to keep things eco-friendly.  The argument is that a product that is shipped overseas and takes a round-the-globe ride before it lands in your home has guzzled up enough natural resources to make the “recycled” materials it’s comprised of almost worthless.

Green Toys uses raw materials from milk jugs recycled in California and manufactures the entire toy line from start to finish in the same state.  The farthest trek of their toys are going to make is from the west coast to the east coast.  Make that another 100% –  100% Made in the USA.  How ‘bout another shout out?!

Oh, and need I mention that the toys are suh-weet?  They are rugged (case in point: the picture of Beckett sitting in her dump truck!) and durable.  The designs are simple and completely kid-powered (a.k.a. battery-free).  And, the toys are dishwasher safe.

What’s not to love about Green Toys?!  They’ve got it all going on.  You can’t beat an unbelievably high-quality product made from 100% recycle material that’s made in the USA!

Where to buy?  Check out Green Toys’ website for location or our local toy stores: Fairhaven Toy Garden and Little Tiger Toys in Bellingham, Washington.  Both our food co-ops carry the toys, too!

Get socially connected: Follow Green Toys on Facebook and Twitter

Think Green Toys are cool?  Want to encourage your little one to whip up a masterpiece meal?  Then look no further than this giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • A Cooking & Dining Set from Green Toys

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What was your favorite toy as a child?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email)
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Become a fan of the Sacred Bee’s Blog on Facebook
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website and/or Facebook page (one entry for each – you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Become a fan of Green Toys on Facebook
  • Follow Green Toys on Twitter @greentoysinc

Winners will be drawn on Tuesday, June 14th PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in random rants, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to green toys: new life to old recycled milk jugs (review & giveaway)

  1. Virginia says:

    Well, this might sound weird, but my favorite was mud. I could do so much with it! I usually made small furniture and it felt like I was a real sculptor at work. I’d mix in the water to get the mud just right. Talk about a cheap toy!
    But I’d love to win this as playware at Grandma’s place!

  2. Cathy says:

    My favorite toys were Lincoln Logs and Legos. I liked to build things!

  3. Cathy says:

    I also subscribe with an rss feed. Thanks!

  4. Becky says:

    I loved the spring horse we had growing up and Lincoln Logs.

  5. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email.

  6. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email #2.

  7. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email #3.

  8. Barb says:

    Toys look really fun!! Love the teacup set!! We just had a baby granddaughter last week after 7 grandsons!! Just love the pink and purple again!!

  9. Christine says:

    I loved my pink and white teddy bear my uncle brought back from Australia.

  10. Christine says:

    1 I subscribed via email.

  11. Christine says:

    2 I subscribed via email.

  12. Christine says:

    3 I subscribed via email.

  13. Christine says:

    I follow on Facebook Christine L.

  14. Christine says:

    I follow on Twitter @guyanese_gal

  15. Christine says:

    I like GreenToys on Facebook Christine L.

  16. Christine says:

    I have your button on my blogroll http://swedenesefamily.wordpress.com

  17. Christine says:

    I follow GreenToys on Twitter @guyanese_gal

  18. Kimberlie says:

    My favorite toy was the Wooden Fisher Price cash register with the red yellow and blue coins. I also liked building with tinkertoys.

  19. Kimberlie says:

    1/3 I get your emails. ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  20. Kimberlie says:

    2/3 I get your emails. ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  21. Kimberlie says:

    3/3 I get your emails. ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  22. Kimberlie says:

    Twitter follower and tweeted:

  23. Kimberlie says:

    @greentoysinc twitter follower – @JLJMommy

  24. debbie m says:

    email subscriber 1

  25. debbie m says:

    email subscriber 2

  26. debbie m says:

    email subscriber 3

  27. debbie m says:

    like you on fb as boyzrule

  28. debbie m says:

    shared on my fb with a link to your site

  29. kimberlysummer says:

    My favorite toy as a child was dress up clothes and playdough!

    kimberlysummer40@aol.com

  30. kimberlysummer says:

    Fan of yours on FB
    Kimberly Summer Pollock
    kimberlysummer40@aol.com

  31. kimberlysummer says:

    I like Green Toys on FB
    Kimberly Summer Pollock
    kimberlysummer40@aol.com

  32. kimberlysummer says:

    I follow Green Toys on twitter
    @musicmakingmama
    kimberlysummer40@aol.com

  33. Naomi says:

    My favorite toy was SpinArt!

  34. Jen says:

    My favorite toy was a wooden kitchens set I had… would have loved these cute dishes!

  35. katherine says:

    Loved my cabbage patch doll!

  36. katherine says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  37. Francesca says:

    My favorite toy while growing up was a New Kids On The Block doll…crazy I know! haha

  38. Francesca says:

    I am a current e-mail subscriber 🙂 #1

  39. Francesca says:

    I am a current e-mail subscriber 🙂 #2

  40. Francesca says:

    I am a current e-mail subscriber 🙂 #3

  41. Francesca says:

    I am also subscribed via Google reader.

  42. Francesca says:

    I am already a fan of Green Toys on FB. (Francesca Kapper)

  43. Francesca says:

    Now following Green Toys via Twitter. @fkapper

  44. Nancy Ging says:

    1 of 3 for being a current email subscriber.

  45. Nancy Ging says:

    2 of 3 for being a current email subscriber.

  46. Nancy Ging says:

    3 of 3 for being a current email subscriber.

  47. Nancy Ging says:

    1 entry for subscribing via Google Reader

  48. Nancy Ging says:

    1 entry for being a fan on Facebook.

  49. Nancy Ging says:

    1 entry for retweeting this giveaway on Twitter today.

  50. Nancy Ging says:

    1 entry for posting a link to this article on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/nancyging

  51. Christine says:

  52. Katrina says:

    I loved my brother’s lincoln logs!!!

  53. Katrina says:

    I like green toys on facebook

  54. Christine says:

  55. Christine says:

  56. Kat Love says:

    Wow, how absolutely adorable. Unfortunately I don’t have any kids to buy these for… can I use them for myself? Or even better, do they make grown-up products?? Their not the first company to value recycling but they sure do know how to make cute things out of milk jugs. I have just stumbled upon your blog and haven’t had much time to read your posts, I admire what you are doing and am hoping that your blog can help me along my own “green journey.” Do you happen to know of any companies that make similar products for adults, I would love to become a customer!
    Thanks.

  57. Christine says:

  58. Christine says:

  59. Christine says:

  60. Christine says:

  61. Christine says:

  62. Guyanese_gal says:

  63. Soozle says:

    My favorite toy as a child was a plastic horse with wheels (think a bike sort of idea) that I named “Bucky”.

  64. Soozle says:

    I like Green toys on FB (Suzanne K)

  65. Soozle says:

    I like Sacred bee on FB (Suzanne K)

  66. Soozle says:

    I’ve linked on FB

  67. Christine says:

  68. Christine says:

  69. Christine says:

  70. Christine says:

  71. Ana says:

    I had 2 baby twin dolls (boy and girl) that were wearing a yellow outfit. I loved the girl one. I use to take it everywhere with me. You could tell which doll I liked the best because the boy one was always looking brand new.

  72. Ana says:

    I subscribed via email

  73. Christine says:

  74. Christine says:

  75. Christine says:

  76. Christine says:

  77. Christine says:

  78. Christine says:

  79. Christine says:

  80. Christine says:

  81. Lily Kwan says:

    I had a teddy bear that I loved very much.

  82. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  83. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Facebook under the username likwan.

  84. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Green Toys on Facebook under the username likwan.

  85. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Green Toys on Twitter under the username likwan.

  86. Lily Kwan says:

    I tweeted this giveaway on Twitter at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/80831253850497025.

  87. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/233008080059288.

  88. Pingback: green toys giveaway winner! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

