ChicoBag: Ba-bye Plastic Produce Bags! (Review & Giveaway)

The one thing I talk about A LOT on the blog besides honeybees and Beckett, is plastic and our uphill battle to get it out of house, our yard and our lives.  I’ve talked about bath toys and wooden toys and grocery bags and kids’ dishes.  I’ve mentioned food storage and lunchboxes.  But, there is something new in our lives that’s making it possible to get rid of one more plastic item – the ubiquitous plastic produce bag!

Please welcome the Produce Stand Collection from ChicoBag!  The natural fabric bags that are part of their Hemp-Cotton blend are just what we have been looking for.   Each bag is made of 70% hemp and 30% cotton.  The dimensions are a bit larger than your standard plastic supermarket bag at 12.5” by 15”, but I like that they are roomier and allow for a bigger head of lettuce, more broccoli or an Easter Bunny-size bunch o’ carrots.

The fabric is one of the keys to the bags’ appeal.  It’s a natural and eco-friendly combination of cotton and hemp, but it’s also the ideal environment for storing vegetables.  The fabric absorbs extra moisture (think about no more soggy lettuce that has been clinging to the inside of a plastic bag) and offers a comfortably dark place for root vegetables that like to hide (potatoes, yams, etc…).

I appreciate that ChicoBag has come up with an eco-conscious alternative to the endless stream of landfill-bound plastic produce bags.  With a price point of under $12 and a sizing that makes the most of your fridge space – this is one of the best choices for bringing home and storing your perishable vegetables, fruits and bulk items!

Where to buy?  Check out ChicoBag’s website for locations.  Get socially connected: Follow ChicoBag on Facebook and Twitter!

Thinking you’d like to stop using plastic produce bags!?  YAY!  Look down for the giveaway!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • A set of three hemp-cotton produce bags from the ChicoBag Produce Stand Collection

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite quick recipe for preparing vegetables fresh from the farmer’s market or grocery store?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of ChicoBag on Facebook
  • Follow @chicobag on Twitter
  • Sign-up to receive updates from ChicoBag’s blog

Winners will be drawn on Tuesday, May 31st at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to ChicoBag: Ba-bye Plastic Produce Bags! (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Jenny says:

    Ooh! This would be perfect for us this summer when we go to our local CSA and bring home all our goodies. Our favorite recipe is the
    easiest there is. We love to bring home tomatoes and slice them up. The sprinkle salt and pepper on them and some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. That’s it, cut, eat, enjoy. 🙂

  2. Catherine says:

    I would love to use these! I reuse the plastic ones they give me now as much as I can.

    My favorite veggie to make is spinach salad. Loose leaf spinach is so cheap, and you can just wash it, plop it in a bowl, add some parmesan and maybe strawberries and balsalmic vinagrette. Yum!

  3. Catherine says:

    I’m an e-mail subscriber.

  4. Catherine says:

    I’m subscribed in Google Reader.

  5. debbie m says:

    I love to drizzle with olive oil and some spices then grill them up on the bbq!

  6. debbie m says:

    email subscriber #1

  7. debbie m says:

    email subscriber #2

  8. debbie m says:

    email subscriber #3

  9. debbie m says:

    like chicobag on fb as boyzrule

  10. Ana says:

    My perfect salad is greens, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado with a lime juice/salt/pepper dressing!!! It is the only dressing you’ll ever see me making.

  11. Ana says:

    I subscribed via email.

  12. Ana says:

    I subscribed via yahoo reader.

  13. Cathryn says:

    I love to put fresh spinach or kale in my smoothies.

  14. Soozle says:

    I love mixing fresh zucchini and tomatoes in a frying pan with a little olive oil and tossing with garlic and some parm cheese!

  15. Soozle says:

    I am subscribed with reader

  16. Soozle says:

    I like Chicobag on FB (Suzanne K)

  17. Becky says:

    What a great product..and just in time for farmers markets. A super quick fav recipe when we have tomatoes galore is… fresh tomatoes with balsamic vinegar and olive oil , fresh basil, sliced fresh mozzarella cheese, and cracked black pepper. Yum!!

  18. Becky says:

    I subscribe via e-mail.

  19. Becky says:

    subscribe via email #2

  20. Becky says:

    subscribe via email #3

  21. Kimberlie says:

    I like to saute yellow squash and zucchini in a little EVOO with pepper and garlic. Yummy!

  22. Kimberlie says:

    I get your emails.
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  23. Kimberlie says:

    @bacredbee twitter follower – @jljmommy
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  24. Kimberlie says:

    @chicobag twitter follower – @jljmommy
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  25. Lily Kwan says:

    I like to roast eggplant and sprinkle olive oil and cheese on it.

  26. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email. #1

  27. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email. #2

  28. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email. #3

  29. Lily Kwan says:

    I posted this giveaway on my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/175692559155363.

  30. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and retweeted this giveaway at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/75749592586653697.

  31. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow ChicoBag on Facebook under the username likwan.

  32. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow @chicobag on Twitter under the username likwan.

  33. Pingback: ChicoBag giveaway winner! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

