A few favorite things: Ditto, Instinctive & Lopees

I love shopping, but under very set circumstances.  I do it in my comfy-cozy clothes at home on my couch with my computer in front of me.  And, I don’t buy.  I just look.  And, wish.  And, wander.  I don’t do malls.  I don’t do lines.  The favorite things section of this blog is my place to showcase these finds.  A place where I can tell you about nifty, one-of-kind and make-em-say-huh goods.  Everything has to fit the eco-friendly bill.  Local makes me delighted.  And, if something really breaks the mold or goes against the grain – this is where you’ll find it.

Ditto: Ecological Hangers
One of the most frustrating parts of this project is to remove plastic from our house – both inside and out.  To say that we live in a plastic world is a drastic understatement.  I call plastic our “duh” item.  It’s easy to forget how much there is and where it is all at.  You have to step back, look and then it registers.  Bristles on my Jacob’s favorite car washing tire brush? Yep!  Those are plastic.  Wrapping on the recycled wrapping paper I just bought?  Uh-huh.  That’s plastic.  Hangers in my closet?  Yup! Those are plastic.  It’s there.  Everywhere.   So, I love it when I find a company who is saying no to plastic and offering an eco-friendly alternative that 1) works and 2) utilizes recycled materials.

Let me introduce you to Ditto Ecological Hangers.  The design is simple because after all – they are a hanger.  They hang your clothes.  But, they are made of recycled paper.  100% tree-free recycled paper with a minimum of 70% post-consumer recycled waste.  The list goes on – they are also compostable and recyclable and non-toxic.  Each hanger can hold 20 pounds {!!} and has a nicely looped neck that keeps it from falling and slouching off your closet rod.  The non-descript sand color is attractive and there are multi-use (adult), children and infant sizes.   The price point for a 10-pack of adult hangers at $15 makes them more affordable than pricey wooden hangers and relatively affordable in comparison to disposable, cheapo plastic hangers.

I love that Ditto Hangers is thinking outside the box and offering an eco-conscious alternative to the chintzy plastic hanger that contributes to the ubiquitous clutter of most closets!

Where to buy?  Check out your local Bed, Bath and Beyond, Container Store or Ditto Hanger’s website for more locations.

Lopees: Environmentally Reusable Envelopes

I’ve mentioned my affinity for Australia and New Zealand on this blog before and I am continually astounded by the nifty eco-friendly products that come from this area of the world.

My professional job title at work is “accountant”, but I often think of myself as a professional “paper pusher”.  The invoices and purchase orders come on in and move on through.  The deposits and money land on my desk and then head to the bank.  In the door, on the desk, off the pile and out the door.   One of my standard methods of transport is the brightly colored and lined inter-department envelope.  I use paper to move paper.

I have been looking for an alternative to the genocide of trees that I am single-handedly responsible for at work.  Lopees has what I have been looking for – reusable {one star!} envelopes made from 100% organic cotton {two stars!} using fair-trade labor {three stars!}.  I love ‘em!

The envelopes come in an assortment of sizes – including both standard and legal sizes for paper.  They have a secure zipper closure and the smaller ones can be used as pencil pouches.  The “envelopes” with drawstring closures can also work in your kitchen as bread and produce bags since they are completely natural, breathable and washable.  I appreciate a product that offers an alternative to the standard paper-based counterpart and can be used in a variety of applications!

Where to buy?  Check out Lopees website for locations and to order.  Get socially connected – follow Lopees on Facebook and Twitter!


Instinctive: Recycled Bags & Backpacks
Kid’s backpacks amaze me these days.  The amount of weight they have to carry is nothing short of backbreaking.  Here’s the scenario at the high school I work at – there are 200 lockers for 1650 students.  A max of two students to a locker.  Four classes per day.  Three textbooks required on average per day.  Weight of textbooks between ten and twenty pounds.  That all adds up to a minimum of thirty pounds in your backpack each day.  Speaking as the mother of a forty-plus pound toddler – that’s a lot of weight to be carrying around – day after day.  And, in addition to needing to be rugged enough to carry massive amounts of weight, backpacks also need to be trendy enough to get students to buy and use them.

Let me introduce you to InstinctiveRecycled bags and backpacks.  The company is the brainchild of two former industry executives who were looking for a way to make backpacks that were sustainable and utilized eco-friendly manufacturing methods and disposal.  Well, they did it.

The bag is made of 100% recycled polyester, hardware and webbing.  They are rugged, they are tough and the patterns and styles are kid, adult and teenager approved.  That means that it can hold the hefty weight of a day’s worth of textbooks and looks like your standard backpack.  But, the feature that truly makes Instinctive unique is the closed loop process they have for recycling and collection.   They have a “lifetime takeback policy” that not only repairs any defects, but makes sure that usable backpacks make it into the hands of underprivileged children.  It also keeps the materials used in the construction of the bag in the places they belong whether it’s a new backpack or a recycle bin.

How cool is all this?!  I just love what Instinctive is doing and the methods behind the magic.

Where to buy?  Check out Instinctive’s website for locations and to order.  Get socially connected – follow Instinctive on Facebook!

Who knew there was a surprise giveaway down here?!

Two lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following:

  • A tote bag from Instinctive
  • Assortment of envelopes from Lopees

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What item(s) do you always seem to be packing around?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Follow Instinctive on Facebook
  • Follow Lopees on Facebook
  • Follow @lopees on Twitter

Winners will be drawn on Wednesday, May 18th at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, oh! it's organic!. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A few favorite things: Ditto, Instinctive & Lopees

  1. Pingback: A few favorite things: Ditto, Instinctive & Lopees | The Sacred … | greenandbaby.com

  2. Lauriel says:

    I’m always looking for a good way to pack around my lunch!

  3. Lauriel says:

    I am subscribed via google reader.

  4. Virginia says:

    All of these sound like great products! What I’m always packing around: a few books, my netbook, and then the usual “purse” things. It adds up. I usually carry a backpack.

  5. debbie m says:

    I am always packing around my infant’s things and 5 year olds art and reading supplies.

  6. debbie m says:

    email subscriber entry #1

  7. debbie m says:

    email subscriber entry #2

  8. debbie m says:

    email subscriber entry #3

  9. debbie m says:

    shared giveaway and blog on my FB as boyzrule
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Boyzrule/210721288957102

  10. Sharon says:

    I am always packing and carrying a reading book, either a quilting project or crochet project, don’t forget a pair of walking shoes or sandal’s to replace the work heels, my mac-book, snacks and water bottle are a must along with a shawl/scarf and gloves for cooler weather. Is there a backpack up to the challenge? Ready and willing to help me out? I sure hope so!

  11. Soozle says:

    I carry too much with me – the usual purse goodies like wallet & phone, but I also carry my mp3 player, a book and clothing for the gym..

  12. Soozle says:

    I like Instinctive on FB (Suzanne K)

  13. Soozle says:

    I like Lopees on FB (Suzanne K)

  14. Soozle says:

    I am subscribed via reader

  15. Becky says:

    I’m always on the look out for a great tote. I’m usually packing snacks, drinks, diapers and wipes, cleanwell hand sanitizer, badger lip balm, camera and the usual purse items (wallet, cell phone etc..)

  16. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email #1.

  17. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email #2.

  18. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email #3.

  19. Lily Kwan says:

    I always seem to be packing around snacks.

  20. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  21. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/71045418737348608.

  22. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Instinctive on Facebook under the username likwan.

  23. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow Lopees on Facebook under the username likwan.

  24. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow @lopees on Twitter under the username likwan.

Leave a Reply

