Love love me do

Italy intrigues me.  My love of Italian food has ensured that I will never be the participant of a low-carb diet.  A sexy Italian accent makes my heart swoon and my knees buckle.  Then there are the olives.  And, the cars.  And, the history.  And, the landscape.  It goes on and on.

So, it would come as no surprise that I would throw an email out into cyberspace the second I read about a local company – Ciao Thyme – making handmade chocolates for Valentine’s Day.  And, I just about fell off my chair when I received an email back and the name of the husband that runs the duo business is Mataio.  Doesn’t the whole thing just sound lovely?

What’s not to love about a good Italian name, a heartwarming welcome, a local business doing it the right way (the handmade way) and a decadent treat for the one you love?  Oh, I was sold.

I love these chocolates.  The package was understated and pretty.  The hand-sketched label inside was reminiscent of the care and time of old world craftsmanship.  The recipes were creative and unique.  And, the chocolate was d.i.v.i.n.e.  It was rich and smooth and the flavors were sumptuous.  This was no ordinary box ‘o See’s Candy.

Now if I could just get myself onto a jet plane for the culinary trip of Italy they are hosting this fall?!  Looks like their extensive lineup of cooking classes and dinner parties will have to suffice.

Ciao Thyme; Mataio & Jess Gillis
207 Unity Street, Bellingham, Washington
info@ciaothyme.com
www.ciaothyme.com
This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, supper & sustenance, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love love me do

  1. Cynthia says:

    I have enjoyed more than 20 Ciao Thyme in the Kitchen cooking classes and dinners, and recommend them highly! And you’re right about those Valentine’s Day truffles… they are now a tradition for my husband and me.

Leave a Reply

