Baby update

This pregnancy thing is a whole different gig the second time around.  I am now 15 weeks along, but still experiencing the “wonderful” accompaniments of the first trimester including extreme food aversions, nausea and utter exhaustion.  But, the better days seems to be stringing themselves together for slightly longer periods of time.

It is absolutely life transforming to have a little one growing inside and a wild-rambunctious-vivacious-life-loving toddler outside.  It almost gives me more perspective on how monumentous of a process it is to bring a child into this world.  The three-inch “lemon” that is growing and butterfly kicking will grow into an amazing free-thinking individual.

One thing hasn’t changed – my brain is a muddle.  I actually gave Jacob the following answer to his question…

Jacob: “Are you sick like this all day or just in the evenings and at night?”
Me: “I sneeze during the day, but don’t cough.”  [pause] “And, I sneeze during the day.”

Huh!?  Good thing I made that clear.

I want to talk about food.  I miss it terribly.  I miss baking.  I miss thai food.  I miss spaghetti and meatballs.  I miss garlic bread.  I miss it all.  I am living off a diet of yogurt, apples and cereal.  And, cereal.  Lots of cereal.  Cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  It’s all that settles my stomach and it’s the one thing that I know will always taste good.

This diet plan of tummy turning somersaults has left me nine-pounds lighter, but contemplating a switch to maternity jeans because the baby bump is starting to pooch a bit.  Did I tell you I miss food?

I miss sharing with you what we are making for dinner and the experiments in the kitchen.  I miss my bees, but checking the hives would involve standing upright for longer than thirty minutes and skipping a nap.  And, I want to work out in the garden SO badly and get it ready for my seedlings that are beginning to start.

I suppose it’s all in due time.  I am healthy.  The baby is very healthy, very active and has a very strong heartbeat.  And, we are blessed to be bringing another life into this world. And, here’s to more about what the garden is doing, what the bees are doing and what’s shakin’ in the Ferry world in the coming months.

This entry was posted in practically personal, random rants. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baby update

  1. Eileen Martin says:

    Two new grandbabies at Christmas this year, how much fun will that be!!! Glad you are starting to feel better Kate.

  2. Barb says:

    Totally know where you are at!! Heaven knows why I did 4 times!! It was worth it !!!
    Hope you are feeling a little better!! A little advice–don’t have too many plans while pregnant–only do what you have to do and put your feet up more often!!

  3. Ginger says:

    I’m wishing you a return to food soon! I hope you feel better 🙂

  4. Sharon Sabin says:

    Just spent a few hours enjoying your website….how deliciously wonderful! and I had no idea you were expecting again….but then I hardly ever get over your way at work!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

