HappyMe, HappyYou, HappyBaby: Organic Goodness for Little Ones (Review & Giveaway)

Our car has become an extension of our kitchen.  It’s stocked with every imaginable snack, a handful of juice boxes and even a few extra water bottles.  This stockpile is the result of one of the lessons I learned very early in motherhood – a hungry child is an unhappy child.  The kind of unhappy that you can’t reason with, distract or dissuade.  If they are young enough – you better have a breast ready or a bottle full.  And, if they are getting older – you better have something, anything, that can be eaten independently and on the go.

In an effort to keep wasteful packaging to a minimum, I try my hardest to avoid individual serving sizes.  I opt for the big container and then divide it into smaller reusable baggies for the car.  The baggies work for both storage and distribution.  Plop it in the kid’s lap and we are good to go.

One of the food staples that has been in our house and car since Beckett was a wee thing and first toddling around is HappyBaby brand.  I opted to make a lot of her first pureed foods myself and freeze them in quickly defrostable and reheatable sizes (think ice-cube trays).  But, I couldn’t get her to touch a green food for the life of me and by about 8 months old, she seriously had an orangish-tint to her skin – thanks in large part a diet consisting primarily of breastmilk, applesauce, sweet potatoes, carrots, oatmeal and pears.   This is when HappyBaby brand first sold me.  I snagged a bottle of their Happy Organic GreensPuffs and figured the collard greens, spinach and kale would begin to offset her orange glow.  One bottle led to the purchase of a case of their HappyPuffs and a lifelong love of their food.

HappyBaby has an incredible array of food for your baby and child and it’s all certified organic.  The selection starts with cereals for baby and carries onward into toddlerhood with easy to grab snacks and fun meal additions.  The ingredients are ones you would find in your own pantry and the only sweeteners used are 100% real fruit juice.

Here are a few of our faves from the HappyBaby line –

HappyPuffs
Think O-shaped cereal made from wholesome, organic ingredients that dissolve in baby’s mouth and are not a choking risk.  The quantity we purchased during Beckett first year of life translates into a lot of revenue for both HappyBaby and our Co-op grocery store!

HappyBaby Frozen Meals
Like I said earlier, our freezer was stocked with a variety of vegetables and fruits that were part of the first half of ROYGBIV.  In addition to the HappyPuffs, I used the frozen meals to get a bit of cruciferous goodness into Beckett.  And, honestly, the ones that Beckett wouldn’t touch were so delicious that Jacob and I would finish the box off as a side to dinner.  While Beckett opted for Yes Peas and Easy Going Greens, Jacob and I gobbled up the Baby Dhal!

HappyBites
In a perfect world, every bit of food that was eaten by our family would be homemade from scratch.  I keep it real though with a full-time job, a handful of hobbies and a garden that needs tending – so most of we eat is from the scratch.  Our other dinner options usually come from the freezer.  HappyBites are just what kids love and they are a treat for Beckett when quiche is on the menu or we are serving another adult-friendly food she won’t touch.  The bites are nugget-sized tots.  The Veggie Tots even manage to sneak in a healthy serving of carrots, sweet potatoes, spinach, black beans and corn held together with a bit of cheesy goodness!

HappyBaby has truly grown up with Beckett and carried her from those first few bites of solid food into the current crazy, garbage-disposable-like mode that coincides in with her inevitable growth spurts.  I appreciate that HappyBaby takes pride in their ingredients and offers food made from wholesome, good-for-you food.

Where to buy? HappyBaby is available at most local retailers.  Check out their website for more locations.  Get socially connected: Follow HappyBaby on Facebook and Twitter!

Looking to try some HappyBaby food?  Well, you came to the right place.  We’ve got a giveaway on our hands!

Two {!!} lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win the following:

One coupon for each of the following product lines from HappyBaby!

  • HappyBellies Baby Cereals
  • HappyBaby Frozen foods for beginner through advanced eaters
  • HappyBites Frozen meals for toddlers and preschoolers
  • HappyPuffs bite size snacks for toddlers and preschoolers
  • HappyMelts Yogurt snacks for toddlers and preschoolers
  • HappyPouches for the on the go baby
  • HappyTots on the go meals for toddlers and preschoolers

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: How do you get greens in your kids’ diets? No kids – no worries.  How do YOU get greens into your diet?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of HappyBaby on Facebook
  • Follow @happybabyfood on Twitter
  • Sign up for HappyBaby’s newsletter
  • Sign up to follow HappyBaby’s blog

Winners will be drawn on Wednesday, April 6th at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to HappyMe, HappyYou, HappyBaby: Organic Goodness for Little Ones (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Danielle N. says:

    I shared this blog post on Facebook. I’m emailing you the post.

  2. Danielle N. says:

    I’m now following HappyBaby on Facebook.

  3. Danielle N. says:

    I signed up for HappyBaby’s newsletter.

  4. Danielle N. says:

    Most often I just use the rule of: introduce, introduce, introduce. It goes on their plate no matter what and they are urged to try it each time. Some times I will ‘sneak’ them in like adding spinach, kale and other leafy greens to their triple berry smoothies. Example by leading has always worked best. If they don’t see you eating your greens, they will follow suit. Our 4 yr. old now requests veggies on a daily basis. He loves ‘green stuff’ (salad) for lunch…just be sure to call it ‘green stuff’…otherwise named food items will not be consumed by this persistent minded child 🙂

  5. Virginia says:

    Well, my “kids” are grown (this blog is evidence!) so I’ll answer how I get green food in my diet. I’m afraid it’s always been easy for me. I’m a vegetarian and just like all kinds of vegetables. Spinach is a fav, either raw or quickly blanched. Same for broccoli, green beans, and the rest. I think the trick can be to have it ready-to-go (in a baggie for lunch) or ready-to-cook. What I love is that these new foods for children are both healthy and tasty! I raised my children to think wheat germ sprinkled on yogurt was a “treat” (until they learned better). 🙂

  6. Carol says:

    I’ve seen the puffs at our local store. My kiddo will NOT eat anything green so I’ll have to give these a try.

  7. Katie says:

    I’m very lucky that my son loves veggies. In fact, it’s hard to get protein into the kid. He goes for carrots, green beans, sometimes broccoli right away. I suspect that might change as he gets older though, in which case I have an arsenal of kid cookbooks at the ready!

  8. Sarah says:

    Well my little guy is just starting on solids so right now he thinks anything that comes on a spoon is delicious 🙂 So it is pretty easy to get greens in his diet.

  9. Katie says:

    oh yeah, I’m a big fan of Happy Baby on facebook.

  10. Katie says:

    also subscribe to the HappyBaby newsletter

  11. Crystal M says:

    Thankfully, I’ve never had a problem with my son eating veggies or fruits!

  12. ashley says:

    My 14 month old son LOVES HappyBaby products! We haven’t had a problem with him not eating his veggies which is awesome, the only thing we have to do to ensure he does eat his green beans or peas is to make sure they are warm. I’m very fortunate that he isn’t a picky eater like my 19 month old neice is. I have subscribed via email to Sacred Bee, liked HappyBaby on Facebook, signed up for the HappyBaby newsletter, and signed up to follow the HappyBaby blog. We would love to win all the goodies!

  13. Jennifer says:

    My 9 months old loves your puffs green ones (actually all of them) and she love the fruit veggies combo’s of your happy baby organic baby food pack’s. Love the container so much she plays with it when shes finished. Love your product so much!! Thank god I came across it!!! Keep up the good work.

  14. Robin says:

    I follow @happybabyfood on Twitter

  15. Robin says:

    I am a fan of HappyBaby on Facebook

  16. Robin says:

    My kids will eat greens–especially spinach–mixed into a dip I make with Greek yogurt and some mild spices.

  17. Robin says:

    I love eating greens in a big salad for lunch!

  18. Elissa says:

    I am following HappyBaby on Facebook.

  19. Angela Olsen says:

    My baby isn’t eating anything other than breast milk so far, but its coming up soon! For myself, i can eat steamed broccoli with almost anything! I am working to add more and more salads to my menu too. And fresh spinach leaves are a great lettuce!!

  20. jessica says:

    I get my daughter to make her foods with me. There is something about kids wanting to taste the food as their making it (just like the cake batter when your baking a cake). She always tries it without fail and continues to eat it cause it was “something she made special”

  21. Great giveaway! We love happy baby too! 🙂

  22. Emily says:

    My daughter has started eating purees and I am lucky to say that she pretty much loves everything so far! I hope getting greens into her stays this easy in the future! For me, I try to add greens to every meal but when I am in a rush with my daughter, things have to be quick and easy. I try to prepare things for meals ahead of time, like at night once she is sleeping, that way I have things like meal, sides, and salads that are quick to cook and eat!

  23. Emily says:

    I am an email subscriber!

  24. Kimberlie says:

    The baby gets happy baby spinach puffs and my older boys actually eat salad, so I put some spinach in with our romaine or green leaf lettuce and they don’t even notice!
    kteigen at yahoo dot com

  25. Emily says:

    I am a HappyBaby fan on facebook!

  26. Emily says:

    I get the HappyBaby newsletter too!

  27. Brandie Cox says:

    I am lucky, my son loves his greens! No need to hide or sneak them in, he eats them all! As far as snacks go his favorite puffs are the Happy Baby Organic Puffs Green Puffs with spinach, collard & kale! We follow HappyFamily on Facebook already and I am going to subscribe via email right now!

  28. Kimberlie says:

    New email subscriber
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com
    #1

  29. Kimberlie says:

    New email subscriber
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com
    #2

  30. Kimberlie says:

    New email subscriber
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com
    #3

  31. Kimberlie says:

    SIgned up for Happy Baby newletter.
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  32. Kimberlie says:

    Happy Baby Fb follower… Kimberlie S.T>
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  33. Kimberlie says:

    I follow Happy Baby on twitter…
    @JLJMommy
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  34. Kimberlie says:

    Follow you on twitter and retweeted your tweet about this giveaway…
    @JLJMommy
    ktiegen at yahoo dot com

  35. Heather says:

    For my 3 year old I puree, cut tiny pieces or grate veggies into the foods she loves like mac & cheese, tacos and spaghetti.

  36. Sarah says:

    I subscribe via rss

  37. Sarah says:

    I subscribe via e-mail 1

  38. Sarah says:

    I subscribe via e-mail 2

  39. Sarah says:

    I subscribe via e-mail 3

  40. Michelle Smith says:

    I get my kids to eat their greens by involving them in the process. My 1 year old is too young, but my 6 year old & 10 year old both help me garden, pick and prepare the green veggies. They really seem to enjoy their veggies more when they have a hand in making them!

  41. Michelle Smith says:

    I follow happybaby on facebook

  42. Michelle Smith says:

    I follow @HAPPYBABYFOOD on twitter

  43. Lesley says:

    My 3 year old loves avocado, it’s the only green thing he’ll eat and hey it’s one of those wonderful foods (minus the fat, which at his age he probably needs that too) so that’s my main way of getting greens into his diet, avocado with every meal.

  44. Deedee says:

    We roast broccoli with evoo, lemon juice, s&p and call it trees for my 2 yr old to eat! No need to sneak it in to the baby, she’ll eat it all!

  45. Sarah says:

    I’m a fan of HappyBaby on FB
    Sarah Bjo

  46. Sarah says:

    I follow @happybabyfood on twitter
    @skpowers3

  47. Sarah says:

    The key to getting my son, 9 mths., to eat greens was to introduce them as early as he was able to eat soilds. He was a BF baby (still is) so we started at the 5mth. mark. Avocado was his first green (easy on the tummy and on the gums). Plus it’s squishy which kids love. Yes you can go the route of mixing the greens with fruit, and we do that too – but the key with every food is to also serve it to them straight so the baby can appreciate the goodness as it comes, natural. Also if he sees us eat something he wants to try it, so setting an example is key. He loves HappyFamily products, and I have to say I do too for him. They have great blends, organic and a great value for the quality.

  48. RG says:

    I love sneaking green things into smoothies in the morning. It doesn’t affect taste, and smell isn’t an issue either.

  49. RG says:

    I subscribe via email.

  50. vanessa raschella-decker says:

    Thankfully, my kids like most veggies. But when it’s something that’s not a favorite, we just try to flavor it well.

  51. vanessa raschella-decker says:

    I subscribe via email.

  52. vanessa raschella-decker says:

    I like HappyBaby on Facebook.

  53. Jennifer H says:

    Thankfully my lil man doesn’t give me a problem about most foods, including veggies therefore I just serve it to him just as is. 🙂

  54. Jennifer H says:

    google reader

  55. Jennifer H says:

    fb fan of happy baby (J Cochrane)

  56. Cathy V says:

    We love HappyBaby Green Puffs to add a little green. We also add spinach to smoothies.

  57. Cathy V says:

    “liked” happy baby on facebook

  58. Michele says:

    I follow happybaby on facebook.

  59. debbie m says:

    i get greens in by serving them to my 5 year old and he eats them!! with my 8 month old i use happy baby, of course!!!

  60. debbie m says:

    already like happy baby on fb as debbie sauter moretti

  61. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #1

  62. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #2

  63. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #3

  64. lauren says:

    i just ‘liked’ happy baby on facebook 🙂

  65. lauren says:

    our favorite green food is steamed fresh green beans, cool in ice bath (preserve that green!)…add (amount according to preference) vegetable oil, salt and fresh MINT! serve cold…delish 🙂 even our 10 month old devours them!

  66. lauren says:

    ooohh…a HappyBaby’s newsletter…signed me up! LOVE HappyBaby ❤

  67. Mindi says:

    I love to feed my kids healthy organic meals. Happy Baby Food is my choice. I like them on facebook and have signed up for their newsletter too.

  68. Heidi says:

    Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
    Subscribed as meek_heidi@yahoo.com
    😉 Glad to have found you.

  69. Heidi says:

    Subscribe via a reader

    I have you on my front page now 😉

  70. Carol Syson Wood says:

    I just eat Organic Girl 50/50 or add frozen spinach to pasta dishes. Hopefully with the CSA I will get some new things to try.

  71. Lily Kwan says:

    I get greens into my diet by adding vegetables to pasta.

  72. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  73. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted about this giveaway at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/55825260305580033.

  74. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow HappyBaby on Facebook under the username likwan.

  75. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow @happybabyfood on Twitter under the username likwan.

  76. Lily Kwan says:

    I signed up for HappyBaby’s newsletter.

  77. Lily Kwan says:

    I signed up to follow HappyBaby’s blog.

  78. Lily Kwan says:

    I shared this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/188629321182582.

  79. Pingback: Happy Baby Food WINNERS! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

