GrabGreen: Spring Clean 2011 (Review & Giveaway)

I wasn’t much of a label reader before I started this project.  I would occasionally peruse the fat content or caloric intake of a food just to make sure that I wasn’t setting the wheels in motion for a coronary.  As far as cleaning products go, I was literally clueless.  I ashamedly admit that I wasn’t even aware that there were ingredient lists on these products until about 15 months ago…

Well, I’m a bit more well-read and the inquisition of labels has become standard operating procedure while shopping.  I still consider myself a rook-rook-rookie when it comes to the ingredients, but I have honed my skills well enough to look out for certain “gotta avoid these things”.  One such ingredient is “phosphates”.

Phosphates seem to be the ugly elephant is the room when it comes to detergents – laundry and dish.  “PHOSPHATE-FREE” is proudly emblazoned on every single eco-conscious detergent and there is good reason for it.  Phosphates are used to soften hard water and also aid is suspending dirt and making it easier to remove.  The downsides to phosphates are the environmental effects they have once they reach the groundwater.  They are difficult to breakdown and readily increase algae growth resulting in large-scale eco-system shifts concerning aquatic life.

It’s a good idea to find phosphate-free detergents, but it’s a hard road to embark on.  Why, you ask?  Well, see phosphates are the cleaners, the go-getters, stain-fighters and gunk-destroyers in your detergent.  I have been through upwards of a dozen dish detergents looking for one that actually cleans our dishes.  I’m talking about something that can do the scrubbing I don’t want to do, get the glasses sparkling without needing a heat dry and blasting the most crusted-on berry bits out of the blender.

Guess what?  I found it!  It’s the Automatic Dishwashing Detergent from GrabGreenGrabGreen is a company that is focused on creating a variety of household products that boast ingredients that are naturally-derived and eco-friendly.  The packaging is both recyclable and made from post-consumer recycled waste.  The price tags are affordable, but the cherry on top is the fact that this stuff works.  I mean really, really, REALLY works!  The dishwashing detergent comes in little pouches that are wrapped in a water-soluble film that’s fully biodegradable.  The pre-portioned sizing takes the guesswork out of measuring and scooping and ensures that there is no waste.  When the dishes come out clean and sparkly, you won’t be left having to choose between all-natural and phosphate enhanced.  GrabGreen makes the decision for you by providing an eco-conscious alternative that works.

GrabGreen has a whole host of nifty household products and one of my favorite things about their entire line is the delicious array of scents.  There are few things that are irk me more than companies claiming to be green, but hiding synthetic fragrances inside their products.  I am big scents-person and I tend to flip over something that smells divine.  GrabGreen has managed to make their dish detergent smell like a fresh-cut orange and their room freshener smell like cut bouquets of lavender dipped in vanilla without using a single drop of fakeness.  Each one of their products are scented with essential oils and have a fragrance-free option if that’s more your thing.

If you have been telling yourself to steer clear of phosphate enhanced detergents, but are still frustrated by the lack of cleaning-oomph from phosphate-free – give GrabGreen’s Automatic Dishwashing Detergent a try.  And, if you want a house that smells lovely and puts a bit of fun back into cleaning without the use of synthetic fragrances, check out GrabGreen’s extensive line of products.  Each one promises to deliver and fits an eco-friendly bill I can stand behind.

Where to buy? Check out the GrabGreen Home’s websiteGet socially connected: Follow GrabGreen on Facebook and Twitter!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win the following:

  • GrabGreen’s Automatic Dishwashing Detergent

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite scent for cleaning around the house?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of GrabGreen on Facebook.
  • Follow @GrabGreen on Twitter.

Winners will be drawn on Wednesday, March 23rd at 8:00pm PST.

To see the Sacred Bee’s FCC Disclosure: click here

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to GrabGreen: Spring Clean 2011 (Review & Giveaway)

  1. vanessa raschella-decker says:

    My favorite scent around the house to clean with is anything citrus. It just smells so fresh.

  2. vanessa raschella-decker says:

    I subscribe via email.

  3. Eileen Martin says:

    I love the pine scent as it’s so refreshing.
    Thanks Kate always looking for cleaning items since we live by the water. Haven’t found a dishwasher soap that i like yet. I’ll have to give this one a try.

  4. Ginger says:

    Lemon. Anything lemon wins my heart and doesn’t hurt my (thanks to pregnancy) super sensitive sense of smell.

  5. Aubrey Fick says:

    Lemon is my fave! So fresh & clean.
    aubreyfick@yahoo.com

  6. wendy fanello says:

    I’m a total clean freak, so these products look fun to me. My favorite cleaning scent is probably citrus, but I prefer any scents to be really, really light.

  7. Catherine says:

    My favorite scent for cleaning is lavender.

  8. Catherine says:

    I’m subscribed via e-mail.

  9. Virginia says:

    Lemon! But I also love the Trader Joe’s cedar and sage all-purpose spray cleaner.

  10. Tara says:

    subscribe via reader

  11. Emily N. says:

    lemon or anything citrus

  12. Emily N. says:

    twitter follower and retweeted as prizepuzzle

  13. Sarah says:

    I like lemon scented cleaning products

  14. Becky says:

    I love cleaning with citrus!
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  15. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com
    entry 1

  16. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com
    entry 2

  17. Becky says:

    I subscribe via email
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com
    entry 3

  18. Becky says:

    I follow you on twitter

    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  19. Becky says:

    I like GrabGreen on FB
    Becky Fluff
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  20. Becky says:

    I follow Grab Green on twitter
    @rhuss85
    rahuss85 at gmail dot com

  21. Lily Kwan says:

    My favorite scent for cleaning around the house is lemon.

  22. Lily Kwan says:

    I subscribed by email.

  23. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow GrabGreen on Facebook under the username likwan.

  24. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow @GrabGreen on Twitter under the username likwan.

  25. Lily Kwan says:

    I posted this giveaway on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/likwan/posts/205625572799711.

  26. Lily Kwan says:

    I follow you on Twitter and tweeted the giveaway at http://twitter.com/likwan/status/50747225697030144.

  27. debbie m says:

    i honestly don’t like scented, but a light citrus would be my choice

  28. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #1

  29. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #2

  30. debbie m says:

    your email subscriber entry #3

  31. Pingback: GrabGreen WINNER! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

