Dave’s Killer Bread: Just say no to bread on drugs! (Review & Giveaway)

About this time last year, the family took a road trip down to Portland to visit my bestie, Riccanne.  It was a much-needed weekend getaway and a time to indulge ourselves in the yumminess of the area.  And, eat we did.  A quick detour from the parking lot of Bob’s Red Mill led us into the store that bread-dreams are made of: Dave’s Killer Bread!

Dave’s Killer Bread has been a staple in our pantry since well before our visit and keeps our freezer stocked to the gills.  Our go-to source for the good stuff is Costco where it’s both affordable and readily available.  The list of ingredients and “organic” sticker on the package were the first reasons we snagged a loaf, but, we got hooked on the taste.  DKB has found a way to pull together over two-dozen whole grains and seeds into one single loaf and not only keep it edible – make it delicious.  Bleached-white bread will never make an appearance in our house and if the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches Beckett is living off at the moment are on healthy, whole-grain, organic bread then I feel a bit better about this “meal”.

I have never had a single DKB product that I didn’t love and I am so happy to be stocking our freezer with their latest goodness: “Robust Raisin” and “Blues Buns”.

The “Robust Raisin” gives you that sweet kick in the morning, but has enough substance and oomph to keep you full until lunchtime.  Unlike most cinnamon breads, I don’t feel like I am just eating dessert for breakfast-on-the-go.

And, if you are a burger fan, or a fish sandwich fan, or pretty much anything on any kind of bun fan – you have GOT to try the “Blues Buns”.  They are available at our local Fred Meyer and are definitely worth a special trip for a weekend barbeque.  Who says you need sunshine and warmth for a barbeque? Not me!  The buns have a deliciously hearty nuttiness that enhances the flavor of the filling and gives you a good chunk to hold onto when you are chowin’ down.

If you are looking for lighter fare or watching your calories, check out the newest line by DKB.  They have taken some of their classic bestsellers and started offering a “light” version.  Both the Good Seed Light and 21 Whole Grain Light boast a similarly delicious list of ingredients, but have less than 75-calories per slice.

The story behind DKB is just as cool as their products’ taste.  The “plastic” bags the breads are packaged in is “Oxo-biodegradable” and will biodegrade in 18-months under the right conditions.  Dave, himself, has turned his life around.  The once-upon-a-time felon is making right in this world and putting good, high-quality, natural food in our tummies.

  • Want to see Dave’s Killer Bread first hand?  Check out their homebase in Milwaukie, Oregon.
  • Want to see it second hand?  Check out my posting on our road trip to Portland!
  • Want to get socially connected?  Check out Dave’s Killer Bread on Facebook or the web.
  • Want to get your hands on some bread?  Check out the giveaway…

Three {!!} lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will each win a single loaf of Dave’s Killer Bread:

  • Dave’s Killer Bread: Robust Raisin Loaf
  • Dave’s Killer Bread: Good Seed Light Loaf
  • Dave’s Killer Bread: 21 Whole Grain Light Loaf

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite healthy eat around the house? A product that is not “on drugs”.

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Follow Dave’s Killer Bread on Facebook.
  • Sign-up for Dave’s Killer Bread’s email newsletter.

Winners will be drawn on Friday, February 4th at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dave’s Killer Bread: Just say no to bread on drugs! (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Virginia says:

    My favorite healthy eat has to be Wasa sourdough rye crackers. They’re good with cheese or peanut butter or just plain. Each cracker is big and fat-free and whole grain and… only 35 calories.

  2. Catherine says:

    Fresh fruit or Greek yogurt, but if I’m in a hurry, Larabars!

  3. Virginia says:

    I subscribed to Dave’ s email newsletter.

  4. Danielle says:

    I’m a carb junkie…so to stear clear I choose fresh fruits and veggies to snack on whenever possible. My FAVE is fresh mango with a 48oz glass of water w/ lemon & lime slices. I’ve also been on a grapefruit kick. YUM!

    I’m now following DKB on Facebook and subscribed to their newsletter 🙂

  5. Jordan P says:

    I love to take frozen bananas and put them in the food processor, it’s like soft-serv!! sprinkle some toppings on when I have the time.

  6. Eileen Martin says:

    I like to snack so i try to find a healthy snack, which at the moment is a mini bag of popcorn.
    I do have to say i have had DKB need to try the buns..

  7. Courtney says:

    Mmmmm….I love DKB Sin Dawg! It never lasts long in our house. As far as favorite healthy eat, we go through tons of “cuties” this time of year!

    I too follow DKB on FB!

  8. Amy Hall says:

    my current very favorite “healthy” eats is fresh brusselsprouts that have been oven roasted.

    I am also a fan of DKB!! It makes the best toast and is great for a pre-workout snack.

  9. Julie says:

    How weird @Amy my latest obsession has been roasted brussels sprouts as well!

    Not as healthy but grilled DKB Blues bread and tillamook cheese. Enough said!

  10. Russell Drew says:

    My favorite snack is DKB,Good Seed,with Adams peanut butter and my wife’s strawberry freezer jam.

  11. Julie Mullins says:

    I love DKB…and I follow them on fb. Thanks for the post.

  12. Ann Wood says:

    We just turned our lifestyle around to include whole grains. Who knew how delicious bread could be? Dave’s Killer Bread is on our weekly shopping list. No matter the variety, you feel sustained and eat less.

  13. Nancy Foulke says:

    My favorite thing to eat around home is just a slice of Dave Good Seed Light with honey drizzled on it! Best thing ever for a quick snack that is actually pretty healthy!
    I am a follower of Dave on facebook and am signed up for e-mails from DKB.
    Love his breads!

  14. Kelly says:

    I love “Ants on a Log.” Celery sticks with peanut butter and raisins on top. I’ve eaten it since I was a kid. It’s a great blend of sweet and healthy.

  15. Chris Irey says:

    I love this sandwich:
    Your favorite DKB, turkey slices, spinach, a slice of your favorite cheese and your favorite apple thinly sliced. Grill it! YUM!

  16. Pingback: Dave’s Killer Bread Winners! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

