Introducing “The Local Corner”

We are moving into a new year and I was thinking about this whole idea of being a “locavore”.  The word has a very elastic definition that seems to morph from person to person.   I talk on this blog about our focus on local and our commitment to trying to keep dollars spent in our community, but I don’t feel like there is a central source on this blog for reading about my “local”.  I’ve covered field trips where we devoured bread and cheese and done snippets on my conversations with farmers and people I meet, but there is so much more to the corner of the world we call home.

I want to add a bit of local flavor and talk about who these farmers are, who these meat producers are and who’s growing my schtuff.   Who’s my source for local vegetable plant starts, coffee, eggplant (can’t figure out how to grow this here!), bread, bacon, milk and everything in between.

My goal is to have this also be an open forum –

  • Do you know a good local person that I just have to talk to?
  • Interested in doing a guest post on a funky place or cool person in your area?
  • Got a great idea for a road trip?  I LOVE road trips!!

Don’t stop at Whatcom County – on my next trip to California to visit my parents or Tennessee for my in-laws, you’ll see the “Local Corner” shift locations.

Well, the first stop on this local train is Twin Brook Creamery

And, you can officially consider this forum open – Let’s talk!

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, supper & sustenance, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introducing “The Local Corner”

  1. Lauriel says:

    Half Acre Farms is amazing…we went there every week this summer and it was awesome to talk to the farmers and then harvest your own veggies!

  2. sacredbee says:

    Thanks for these wonderful ideas. Vermont is on our “must-see” list. We are still a little shell shocked from our last road trip with a two-year-old, but want to get back into the swing of traveling because we used to love road trips and “plan as you go” kind of adventures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

