Kidishes: Kid-Friendly Tempered-Glass (Review & Giveaway)

Yes, you read the title of the blog right.  I’m talking about dishes for kids that are glass.  Yes, glass.  Just typing the words sends a shudder down my back.

Over the course of the past year, we have been working attempting struggling to clear out as many of our plastic containers and dishes as possible.  But, in an unimaginably heavy petroleum-byproduct based world, we are losing the battle.  A couple of months ago, I was resigned to the keeping the cupboard of toddler dishes packed with brightly colored, plastic (albeit BPA-free) dishes from our favorite blue-and-yellow-Swedish store.

Beckett resembles a pachinko ball in most of her daily activities.  In a constant state of motion she tends to ricochet, bounce, boink, plop, twirl, spin and fling her way through life.  Mealtimes are no exception. The idea of using a vessel for food and drink that couldn’t withstand this whirlwind and the ensuing falls that are inevitable was unthinkable.

That was until I saw an internet commercial for Kidishes by Zoë b Organic.

A six-year old child wearing irresistibly adorable swimming goggles drops a bowl of cereal from chest height onto hardwood floor and it doesn’t break.  It doesn’t crack.  It doesn’t shatter.   It makes a thud and takes a little hop.  This image got me thinking.  Miracle dishes had just appeared.  They could withstand the tornado that is my daughter’s daily life, were safe for taking from microwave to tabletop (no leaching chemicals!) and resembled the highly-coveted “breakable” dishes that Mommy and Daddy use at the dinner table.  I was sold.

I got my hands on a set that includes a bowl, tumbler, plate and square bowl with a BPA-free lid.  The starter set was perfect because it is usable throughout the day for multiple meals and just enough pieces that it wasn’t a wasted investment if it flopped shattered.  Well, bring on the second, third and fourth set, because I am sold.  The glass dishes have eliminated the double washings required for her eating bowl and her microwave-leftover-warming bowl.  And, the simple fact that they look like our breakable dishes has defused the predictable toddler-power struggle that arises when Beckett’s stuff looks different than our stuff.

Using my better judgment and the advice of Zoë b Organic, I restrained my husband from attempting to reenact the internet commercial.  Beckett, however, did not have the same restraint and in one meal took out both her cup with an elbow and flipped her plate with a long-cross-table stretch for the butter.  The only cleanup needed was a wipe with the towel and nobody was left crying over spilled milk or shattered glass.

Thank you Kidishes for making it possible to rid our house of plastic in one of the most unlikely places – my child’s dinnerware!

Where to buy? Check out Zoë b Organic’s website for ordering information and locations.

Get socially connected: Follow Zoë b Organic and Kidishes on Facebook, Twitter and Blogspot!

Happy New Year!

Get ready to rid yourself of some extra plastic…

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • A kidishes set including a plate, bowl and tumbler

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: Is there a product/household gadget/somethin’ you find yourself struggling to find a non-plastic alternative for?  What is it?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Follow Zoë b Organic on Twitter.
  • Follow Zoë b Organic on Facebook.
  • Become a follower of Zoë b Organic on Blogspot.

Winners will be drawn on Tuesday, January 25th at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Kidishes: Kid-Friendly Tempered-Glass (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Virginia says:

    I find it hard to replace my “tupperware” storage containers with something that has no plastic. (I say “tupperware” because what I actually use is a Rubbermaid product purchased at Costco. “Tupperware” is one of those words like “Kleenex” that is now generic in meaning.) I have tried the glass storage containers but they mostly have plastic lids. Often I use glass or ceramic bowls with cling-wrap instead. Soooo there’s my answer AND… I would love this give-a-away because it would be perfect for when my granddaughter comes to visit!! It even matches the restaurantware I use for glasses (the French Picardie style) — these are as sturdy as it gets.

  2. Virginia says:

    I have subscribed to ZoeB Organic on Blogspot via my Google Reader.

  3. Virginia says:

    I have subscribed to ZoeB Organic on Facebook.

  4. mommyp4 says:

    My hardest to get rid of is the little containers that I send in my husbands lunch; snack cups and salad bowls.

  5. mommyp4 says:

    I subscribe via google reader.

  6. mommyp4 says:

    I follow and tweeted!

  7. Cutzi says:

    Just came over here to see if you’d ever blogged about toddler cups and dishes and low and behold… a related post! Lucky me. Put my name in please!

  8. Cutzi says:

    And, of course, I subscribe through a reader. 😉

  9. Lauriel says:

    We just got rid of our plastic tupperware for new glass snapware and I LOVE IT! We are currently trying to replace many of the food products we buy (like yogurt and milk) so that they come in glass products!

  10. RG says:

    I do my own kefir, and it can’t be done with metal, so I would like to replace my plastic strainer with a good alternative, but I have small children also, so it is hard to find something suitable. I would love to win this.

  11. RG says:

    I subscribe. yay, that’s two entries.

  12. Ginger says:

    I think the containers for lunch are my hardest thing–the little plastic tupperware is so much easier, lighter, and less likely to get taken by an uncaring coworker. Even though we hate it so.

  13. Danielle says:

    I would LOVE these Kidishes! We also have been on the plastic-free mission. Which is really hard when you are also on the I’m-so-frugal-I-won’t-pay-for-that mission.

  14. I have tons of Tupperware… got it years ago way before I became so concerned with chemicals and plastics… One thing we use a lot of that I haven’t been able to replace is my jalapeno keeper (actually it is one of their Pick a Deli pickle containers) I buy jalapenos in a big jar and this works great at lifting up what we need for jalapenos without getting the juice all over us.

  15. Pingback: Kidishes Winner!! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  16. Pingback: ChicoBag: Ba-bye Plastic Produce Bags! (Review & Giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

