Ecofan by Caframo: Heat Powered Stove Fan (Review & Giveaway)

The first winter my husband and I lived in our house, we made the mistake of relying solely on our propane furnace for warmth.  We fell in love with our wood stove and the ambient glow it provided, but didn’t fully utilize its heating capacity.

After a direct hit to the jugular with a whopping… scream with me now… $900{!!!} bill for three months worth of propane, we revaluated our situation.  My drill-sergeant determination mixed with my hubby’s penny-pinching scroogy-ness meant we were officially wood stove burning peeps for life.  Forget the warm orange glow of a fire, I wanted free heat.  The kind that comes from a fallen tree and involves a whole lot of manual labor.

Five years later, we are still chucking log after log into our stove and using it as our primary heat source from early September to April.  But, I’ll be honest – wood heat is nearly free (yay for the cost!), but our house’s layout is not conducive to heat from a central source.  We have a classic rambler, with three bedrooms down the end of a long hallway.  This means we need a roaring fire with blazing heat in the living room if you even want to squeak past 60-degrees in the bedrooms.  The quick remedy is our obnoxiously loud electric fan that is part of the stove unit but operates at a decibel level similar to a jet engine.

And, then came the Ecofan by Caframo.  Take a deep breath with me – because I don’t type these words recklessly…  The Ecofan is the single greatest investment you will ever make with your wood or gas stove (right behind cleaning your chimney and other safety precautions).  The price tag hits at around $159.99, but returns itself ten-fold.

The fan is truly an ingeniously simple device.  It works on stoves with surface temperatures between 300°F and 650°F and works on the principal of thermoelectricity technology.  Huh, you ask?  Basically, there is a thermoelectric module at the center of the fan that is powered by a hot side and cold side.  The creation of these two opposite sides creates an effect that allows electrons to flow within the module and away the blades spin.

It is completely silent and can be pointed in any direction (into the kitchen during the day or down the hallway at night).  The unit is stout and strong – with a solid base and easy handle for moving when hot.  And, the blades are extremely lightweight, but push up to 150 cfm (cubic feet per minute).  I’m just sayin’, not that me or Jacob has tested this out because we have a toddler running loose, but you can stick your finger in them and it won’t hurt.

The Ecofan has changed the way that we heat our house.  It has dramatically increased our fuel efficiency, the heat distribution and all with effortless, whisper quiet technology.  You simply cannot find a better bang for your buck when it comes to stove heating!

Where to buy? Local retailers including Ace Hardware, Do It Best, Menard’s and Plow & Hearth.  Check out Caframo’s website for additional locations.

Get socially connected: Follow Ecofan on Facebook!

Happy New Year!

OMG! Can you believe it?!  There is a giveaway of one of these!?  YES!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win the following:

  • Ecofan Airplus 802 Model with Nickel Blades

(Model #802CA-KBX/MSRP: $159.99)

Interested in entering the giveaway? Comment on this post and tell me: What New Year’s Resolution are you tackling this year? No New Year’s Resolution for you?  Tell me how you are kicking off 2011.

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.

Winners will be drawn on Friday, January 14th at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, waste not, want not. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Ecofan by Caframo: Heat Powered Stove Fan (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Pingback: Ecofan by Caframo: Heat Powered Stove Fan (Review & Giveaway … |

  2. Virginia says:

    What a fabulous product!! I’m kicking off 2011 by living aligned with a short list of bywords and quotes (a mini-manifesto?) that I’ve created over the last few months. Here’re a few from the list:

    The rush and pressure of modern life are a form, perhaps the most common form of its innate violence. To allow oneself to be carried away by the multitude of conflicting concerns, to commit oneself to too many projects, to want to help everyone with everything is to succumb to violence, more than it is cooperation with violence. The frenzy of the activist neutralizes her or his work for peace. It destroys her or his inner capacity for peace. It destroys the fruitfulness of work because it kills the root of inner wisdom which makes work fruitful.
    –Thomas Merton

    “Make time for yourself to learn something useful; stop letting yourself be pulled in all directions.”
    –Marcus Aurelius

    “If one advances confidently in the direction of one’s dreams, and endeavors to live the life which one has imagined, one will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”
    –Henry David Thoreau

  3. Victoria Lester says:

    My new year resolution is to save money this year. I’m going to try hard to save a little bit for any extra expenses that may come up.
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  4. Victoria Lester says:

    Your link is on my facebook status:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=167425063301288&id=100001765210288
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  5. Victoria Lester says:

    I subscribed via email and confirmed
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  6. Danielle says:

    Hi Kate!!! What a great little invention of someone very clever. We SO need one of theses beauties on our stove. We have an electric fan behind our wood stove and its wonderful, but its plastic and needs to get moved out of there!
    So a New Years resolution…..? Maybe to go to bed earlier and to be able to wake up before the kids so I can be MORE awake with them. Ben will have to start going to school by 8:20! I dont have to wake up that early yet some days!! Its going to be killer.
    Love you!
    Dani

  7. Danielle says:

    And I shared this on Facebook!
    Ecofan by Caframo: Heat Powered Stove Fan (Review & Giveaway) | The Sacred Bee’s Blog
    wp.me
    The first winter my husband and I lived in our house, we made the mistake of relying solely on our propane furnace for warmth. We fell in love with our wood stove and the ambient glow it provided, but didn’t fully utilize its heating capacity.
    4 minutes ago
    Friends Only ·LikeUnlike · Comment · Share
    Write a comment…

  8. Cari S. says:

    I don’t have a New Year’s Resolution this year – I’m not a fan of doing them. I just feel like I’m setting myself up for failure. Instead – I work on improving myself throughout the year!

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  9. Cari S. says:

    email subscriber

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  10. Cari S. says:

    I have your button!

    http://www.thislittlefamily.net

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  11. Eileen Martin says:

    We just kick back and watch the fireworks go off on the reservation witha bottle of champagne.

    Happy New Year
    Kate and family

  12. Lauriel says:

    What an amazing product! I don’t understand why more people don’t use wood stoves!

    We aren’t huge fans of New Year’s resolutions over here…but we are trying to slow down and let more things go, enjoy the things we are doing.

    Happy New Year!

  13. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    This year I decided no New Years resolutions, it always bums me when a week in and I have failed already!
    But, I hope to keep in better contact with family amd friends. I feel like we let time and distance dictate how close we are to someone and this year I want to “feel” as if all my friends are near because they sure are dear!!

  14. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    Retweeted to my peeps!

  15. RG says:

    My resolution is to spend more time with my children and less time on stuff that doesn’t really matter.

  16. RG says:

    I subscribe. Thank you for the wonderful giveaway.

  17. I work in Energy Services, and we are looking for ways to help clients save money on their fuel costs so this is helpful, thanks for the review! Also, one way I am kicking off 2011 is health wise I am concentrating on trying to put myself first, in the past, I neglected my health due to work, family etc… and paid the price. Also, healthier eating habits, and trying to go more green are tops on my list.

  18. amber gi says:

    i am going to eat clean! i already ditched all artificial sweetners a few years ago but held on to splenda..when i quit splenda ,all my mysterious headaches, racing heart beat and dry mouth went away! now..it is time for a complete diet overhaul! my detox starts feb1!
    tattgiff at centurytel dot

  19. amber gi says:

    new email sub!
    tattgiff at centurytel dot

  20. amber gi says:

    rss sub also!
    tattgiff at centurytel dot

  21. Jerry Sasken says:

    New year’s resolution is to finish all outstanding projects.

  22. Kasandra Sasken says:

    My new year’s resolution is a continuation of 2010’s: to give up all things that make me feel aweful. (i.e. foods, activities, people)

  23. jenny who heats with wood says:

    this year i hope to be more satisfied with where i am right this minute.
    because this is where i am right this minute. this is it. it is enough. breathe.
    feel better already!

  24. Debra Fish says:

    Unfortunately, I am kicking 2011 off by looking for a job after 30 years at my previous job.
    I do like the idea of the fan…that would be great.
    follow on twitter and feedburner

  25. Pingback: Ecofan Giveaway WINNER! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  26. Pingback: 2010 Carbon Footprint | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

