Thinking WAY outside the box: Goodbye Detergent & Eco-Touch (Review & Giveaway)

I often refer to “thinking outside the box” or “ingenuity” when I talk about products on this blog.  Innovative and eco-friendly are two of the prime qualities I look for when reviewing something.  Occasionally I find a company who is literally defying the definition of the product they are making.  It’s an oxymoron of sorts.  Like dessert without calories? (Oh no – don’t get excited – I haven’t found this yet).  Or, clothing that is not fabric? (Yes, Coca-Cola actually makes t-shirts out of recycled drink bottles!)

Well, the two companies I am reviewing have done just this – thought WAY outside the box, defied your assumptions, made me scratch my head and go “huh?”.

GOODBYE DETERGENT: Environmentally Friendly Cleaning Products

I consider my dishwasher quite possibly the greatest luxury item in our house, right behind the washing machine.  Its services are invaluable to me.  It seems to be in a perennial state of “ready to run” or “needs to unloaded” and we are always resorting to washing dishes by hand.  And, no offence to the appliance, but you can’t beat the cleanliness of hand-scrubbing a spaghetti sauce encased pan or a baked-on-but-oh-so-delicious blackberry cobbler pan.  There is no comparison to what a bit of elbow grease can pull off.

Well, can you imagine handwashing dishes and NOT using any soap?  AND, getting clean dishes?  I know what you are thinking – Kate’s gone loopy.  Nope, not I.  But, Goodbye Detergent did get a little kooky when they created their original line of Spaghetti Scrubs.  The scrubbers are bizarre entanglements of what looks like colored, scratchy noodles.  The threads are blasted with corncob and peach pit bits and these organic materials are the abrasives used to get that gunky sauce or that gooey blackberry sludge off.  You can mix in a teensy-weensy dollop of soap for messy grease, but it’s really not necessary for your normal, day-to-day food schtuff.

Goodbye Detergent scrubbies have become a fixture in the kitchen of our camping trailer.  They eliminate the need for a massive bottle of dish detergent and they dry quickly and cleanly when hung over the faucet.  And, I appreciate that Goodbye Detergent has taken the initiative to use organic ingredients.  I honestly thought that the Spaghetti Scrubs would just be a fad-type item, but after using them on one camping trip after another, I know that they are here to stay.

Dishwashing with no soap – Whodathunkit?  Goodbye Detergent did!

Where to buy? Check out Goodbye Detergent’s website for more information.

Get socially connected – Follow Goodbye Detergent on Facebook and Twitter.

ECO TOUCH: Conscious Car Care

There was a brief period of time in my life when my car was always clean – before I worked at a school and before we had a child.  I can thank the dear high school students who “feed” the birds with their lunch litter and guarantee that the entire campus is pelted with a hailstorm of bird droppings on a twice-daily basis.  And, I can thank my sweet child for making sure that every sippy cup lid is tested for adequate sealage (most aren’t) and that there are always sufficient bits and crumbs under and between the seats to ensure our survival in the car for weeks.  This is my reality.

Eco Touch has created a line of products that are best described as earth friendly waterless car washes.  Huh!?  Yes, a waterless car wash.  I know that those of us who reside in Washington find it amusing to even consider the possibility of a place with insufficient water.  Words like drought and rationing are not part of our vocabulary.  But, these words are a reality for a very large portion of the United States.

Eco Touch’s entire line of car care products are all made of plant-derived ingredients (you can actually pronounce them!) and packaged in recyclable bottles.  The products are diverse and range from tire conditioners, window & mirror sprays, carpet and leather cleaners to the all-purpose car wash.  But, the coolest thing is that they work.

The products intended for the exterior of the car are P.E.R.F.E.C.T. for those days when my car receives a hit-and-miss visit from the lunchtime birds and isn’t in need of an entire body scrub down.  And, the interior upholstery and carpet cleaner is ideal for milk drips, fruit leather stickums and applesauce dollops (How the heck did the kid get applesauce in the car?!).  I love that it has a pleasing and natural scent and we aren’t forced to evacuate the car after cleaning.

It’s nice to see what a lot of natural, plant-based ingredients can do for both the cleanliness and beauty of the car.  And, for those of you who are fair weather friends and don’t battle the endless drear of Washington – think outside the box and try a waterless car wash from Eco Touch!

Where to buy? Check out Eco Touch’s website for more information.

Get socially connected – Follow Eco Touch on Facebook and Twitter.

Revved up for the giveaway?!  Woo hoo!

  • One lucky Sacred Bee blog reader will win a Waterless Car Wash Kit from Ecotouch!
  • One lucky Sacred Bee reader will win a set of scrubbers from Goodbye Detergent!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What your least favorite gunk to clean in the car, outta the car or in the sink?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Grab the Sacred Bee’s Button and add it to your blogroll or website.
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of Ecotouch on Facebook.
  • Become a fan of Goodbye Detergent on Facebook.

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, November 27thth, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thinking WAY outside the box: Goodbye Detergent & Eco-Touch (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    I hate cleaning hair out of the interior of the car and leaves from under the wipers and the inner trunk area. sign me up for those ‘spaghetti’ scrubbers..

    see you soon. xoxo

  2. Lauriel says:

    My least favorite gunk is cleaning out the drain catch in the sink…ug!

  3. Emily N. says:

    My least favorite is the drain in my sink. It gets all gooped up and is really gross.

  4. Emily N. says:

    following on twitter and tweeted

  5. RG says:

    I know its icky, but I’ve gotta say car sickness remains. Not my favorite chore. Ew.

  6. RG says:

    I subscribe via email. Yay for 2 entries!

  7. MomOfFour says:

    I hate cleaning the mess left behind by spaghetti dinner when it leaves an orange ring around the sink and all the dishes involved.

  8. MomOfFour says:

    I am an email subscriber #1

  9. MomOfFour says:

    I’m an email subscriber #2

  10. MomOfFour says:

    I’m an email subscriber #3

  11. Kristen van sickle says:

    Retweeted to my peeps

  12. Kristen van sickle says:

    I HATE cleaning hair out if the drain in the dink. The worst prt, my husband is bald, so I know I am the only one loosen’ hair down that drain! Argh!! As always , when talking about scrubbies for the kitchen a quick shout out to Grandma Mary and her scrubbies, loved them!!!

  13. Pingback: EcoTouch & Goodbye Detergent Winners! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

