Color Me Crazy: Eco Stars & Clementine Art (Review & Giveaway)

Some of the greatest joys in my life right now are the solitary, quiet (yes, actually quiet), time-consuming activities that Beckett can engross herself in for minutes on end.  They are literally miracles.  After spending countless months being our child’s sole source of amusement, she is learning to do things with herself.  Her building blocks go up into towers and come tumbling down over and over again.  Her barn is the centerpiece of a play date with animals and tractors.

And, then there is the drawing.

Coloring falls into an entirely different league of entertainment value.  It’s a big statement when an activity can hold her attention for tens of minutes in a world where she operates in seconds.  So, crayons and pencils have been a lifeline in this adventure called parenthood.  They provide me with a respite from the merry-go-round that is toddlerhood.

Eco Stars Recycled Crayons
I love this company.  I love their product.  I love their niche.  And, I love the statement they are making by using recycled materials.  The first thing that’s noteworthy are the materials that go into the crayons – they are made of 100% recycled crayons and as of August 2010, they had collected over 55,000 pounds (that’s A LOT of crayon bits).

The crayons come in the standard cylindrical shape and other funky designs like earthworms and stars, but the stars are our household favorite.  They don’t break under the extreme pressure of Beckett “etching” instead of coloring and there are five (!!) points on each crayon!  Eco Stars collects remnants from individuals, schools, restaurants and workplaces and ensures quality by discarding any crayons made in China and other foreign countries because they contain lead and plastic.  It’s an ingenious way to reduce landfill waste, albeit one bitty crayon at a time, and put old goods to a new use!

Clementine Art: Natural. Fresh. Real.
The soy rock crayons by Clementine Art were one of the first crayons in our house.  They  quickly became a favorite because they fit into Beckett’s chubby baby hands and the round shape made it nearly almost somewhat impossible for her to bite off chunks.  The shape is perfect for little ones just starting to experiment with coloring and great for older kids looking to cover a lot of area faster than you can say lickety-split.

But, the crayons are just the tip of the iceberg.  Clementine Art has an entire line of art products that are all-natural and completely non-toxic.  The colorings are vegetable and other plant based dyes and the ingredients are naturally occurring polymers and other minerals.  The packaging also makes a statement by utilizing 80% post-consumer waste and being quite minimal.  I like that Clementine Art is focused on truly non-toxic, all-natural alternatives to the everyday art products you can find.  The ingredients are innovative and the high-quality, unique products are one of a kind.

The world of art products and crayons goes so far beyond the old-school yellow box of Crayola sticks.  Crazy Crayons and Clementine Art are companies thinking outside this box  and finding innovative ways to reduce landfill waste and provide safe, non-toxic materials for our children to play with.  Color me crazy (or sleep deprived) but I think I love these guys!

And, now, for the giveaway you have been waiting for…

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a set of “Recycle” stick crayons from Crazy Crayons and another reader will win a set of Natural Paint from Clementine Art!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite color in the rainbow?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of Clementine Art on Facebook.
  • Follow Clementine Art on Twitter @clementineart.

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, October 16th, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Color Me Crazy: Eco Stars & Clementine Art (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Jenny says:

    My favorite color is blue (and Adam is happy to say that his is too. :-)) Andrew is green, David doesn’t have one and Elise is brown (because that is the color of most horses).

  2. Chrissy says:

    I love, love, love, love yellow! Yellow is the color of sunshine, sunflowers, & Fall leaves. It’s pure happiness!

  3. Ginger says:

    I love green the best. One day, after years of not thinking I had a favorite color, I looked around and realized almost all of my home goods were green (towels, comforters, sheets, etc). Sad that it took me so long to figure it out!

  4. Ginger says:

    And I’m subscribed to The Sacred Bee via Feedburner

  5. My favorite color of the rainbow is blue!
    Thanks 🙂

  6. Betsy says:

    That’s hard I like all the colors, I would have to say yellow at this moment, because I am enjoying all the fall leaves.

  7. RG says:

    I love the color green. In all shades. Followed closely by orange – in muted shades, purple, and brown. Green is a must in my home during the long winters. When I look at it, a sense of calm expectation arises. If I can’t see any, I sometimes get very down. A weird quirk about me, I know, but there ya go.

  8. Kat says:

    Green, spring, olive, forest, emerald, peridot, pea, jade, lime…. any shade of green makes me happy. I LOVE the ethical and honest approach you have for sponsors/ giveaways.

  9. Betsy says:

    Clementine Art fan on FB.

  10. Louis H says:

    my favorite color is blue in the rainbow

  11. Louis H says:

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

  12. Louis H says:

    following @ClementineArt on twitter @left_the_stars

  13. Louis H says:

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

  14. Louis H says:

    I like Clementine Art on facebook (Louis Here)

  15. Louis H says:

    linked to facebook

  16. pixie13 says:

    My favorite color is green

  17. pixie13 says:

    email subscriber

  18. pixie13 says:

    Following you & tweeted

  19. Melissa R says:

    I’ve always loved the color blue

  20. Melissa R says:

    I am a new email follower

  21. Melissa R says:

    #2 I am a new email subscriber

  22. Melissa R says:

    #3 I am a new email subscriber

  23. Melissa R says:

    I am a feedburner subscriber

  24. Melissa R says:

    I liked clementine art on facebook

  25. Melissa R says:

    I follow clemintine art on twitter @giveawaymommy

  26. Pingback: Winners of Color Me Crazy! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  27. Pingback: glob it on: botanical paints for a budding artist (review & giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  28. Pingback: Faber-Castell: An eco-friendly approach to art (review & giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

