Bob’s Red Mill: Goodness all year ’round! (Review & Giveaway)

Road trips are one of the best getaways out there.  And, I have learned to appreciate them even more as Beckett morphs through the stages of toddlerhood.  I know one thing for sure: Jacob and I can handle the pitch and volume of a full-blown, outta-this-world tantrum WAY better than an airplane full of unsuspecting, short-tempered passengers.  So, we choose to fly this coop and head out of town via the car.

The idea of traversing our area in the car is perfectly in line with this project and our family’s attempt to stay “local”.  Realistically speaking you can only drive so far, you know?  In February of this year, we took one of our most memorable road trips in a long time.  It was a double whammy of the best sort – a weekend with my best friend in Portland and hours spent gorging on scrumptious, all natural food while I lost myself at the shopping emporium and visitor’s center that is Bob’s Red Mill in Milwaukie, Oregon.  It was heaven.

Bob’s Red Mill is THE place when it comes to natural foods with over 400(!) products and a history dating back more than 25 years.  The company began with a man (yes, Bob) who chose to start a company founded on the principles that old-fashioned methods and hiqh-quality ingredients would make exceedingly delicious and healthy food.  His way of thinking was sweetly simple, but the honorable execution of his ideals has created an empire that stands for affordable, all natural goodness.

Long before starting this project, I became a fan of Bob’s Red Mill and our cupboards are ceremoniously stocked with a constant supply of their sundries; steel cut oats, wheat bran and buckwheat pancake mix to name a few.  So, when I was given the opportunity to review my choice of a variety of Bob’s Red Mill products – I jumped, leaped, hopped and squealed with excitement.  But, I wanted to step out of our comfort zone and find goods that filled a niche we had overlooked.  It’s easy to get stuck in that rut, especially when it’s so darn yummy.

Organic Whole Grain Quinoa

I used to think of quinoa {Keen-Wah} as one of those newfound trendy items that was gaining a following just because it sounded cool.  It does roll off the tongue nicely, but the real reason it has a growing fan club is because of its versatility and taste.  Take your pasta salad recipe and substitute quinoa for noodles.  Or, serve it on the side with grilled fish and steamed broccoli.  Even better – stir fry it up with fresh vegetables and a dash of soy sauce.  It’s divine.  Bob’s Red Mill Organic Quinoa is easy to cook on the stovetop or in the rice cooker and the perfect size to keep on hand in the pantry.  Let the word flow from your lips, but savor the goodness that is quinoa.

Organic Creamy Buckwheat & Buttermilk Pancake Mix

I could eat breakfast three times a day, five days a week.  Not sure if I could commit to seven days because that’d be A LOT of breakfast.  But, the offerings of the morning meal are endless especially when it comes to breakfast cereal.  When you start perusing the cupboard and begin tossing in a drip of vanilla, a dash of cinnamon, a dollop of honey or a handful of raisins, you liven things up.  The Organic Creamy Buckwheat is just the ticket to spicing up your morning.  It has the texture of creamed wheat, the aroma of a spelt-like berry and the fillingness of oatmeal.  Now, the Buttermilk Pancake Mix is another story because who doesn’t like buttermilk pancakes?!  I know I do!  This mix is the perfect, quick-throw-it-together, go-to breakfast.  It’s easy peasy and yum-yum-yummy!

Gluten-Free Brownie Mix

Even though I do not subscribe to a gluten-free lifestyle, I frequently find myself picking up and sampling GF recipes and desserts.  Occasionally I embarrassingly gag down the bite of tasteless, dry food (note that GF pasta fits right here), but more often that not I am surprised by the disguise that gluten-free foods hide under.  If it wasn’t for the label noting the different ingredients, one could easily gobble down the goods without evening realizing their hidden tag.  And, the Gluten-Free Brownie Mix falls into this same category.  It is going to be a staple in our pantry because it tastes guh-ood and it’s easy to make.  Enough said.  Forget your preconceptions about bad gluten-free baked goods, because Bob’s Red Mill has proven that the moniker “gluten-free” is just an asterisk on an amazing product!

Bob’s Red Mill certainly didn’t disappoint this go around and I have found myself moving boxes, bags and containers a little to the left and right to make room for our new groupies in the pantry.  It is truly a blessing that a company making products of this caliber and living by a worthy creed is located in our corner of the Pacific Northwest.  It’s not often that a half-day road trip can take you to a place of rarity.  Here’s to Bob’s Red Mill!

R-r-r-r-r-eady for the giveaway!?

Three lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win one of the following items!

  • Organic Whole Grain Quinoa
  • Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
  • Buttermilk Pancake Mix

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite breakfast food/dish/meal?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of Bob’s Red Mill on Facebook.
  • Follow Bob’s Red Mill on Twitter

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, October 9th, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in home & hearth, nice & natural, oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bob’s Red Mill: Goodness all year ’round! (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Virginia says:

    OK, so for my answer: almost everything in my “favorite breakfast” category already comes from Bob’s Red Mill! Yikes, I really want to win this one!! The Bob’s 7-Grain hot cereal and also the Organic 10-Grain High-Fibre hot cereal. Then the Irish Oats. The only hot cereal for regular breakfast that isn’t from Bob is Red River (Canadian product with flax and other grains…yummy but expensive). I usually do some kind of mix and then add blueberries, fresh or [usually] frozen/thawed. For an extra entry in the giveaway, I’ve become a friend of Bob’s on Fbook. Love your blog!!

  2. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    no.no, no Virginia, Kristen and Jenny S.–I really want to win this one. I was introduced to steel cut oatmeal by Virginia a few years back. That is definitely my favorite..add a dash of cinnamon or raisins. I have been known to eat breakfast for dinner (was always thought as a treat when I was a child to do this).

    pick me, pick me, pick me…

  3. My favorite all time breakfast meal is Pancakes. All different kind with different toppings.

  4. I subscribed via email – entry 1
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  5. I subscribed via email – entry 2
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  6. I subscribed via email – entry 3
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  7. I LIKE Bob’s Red Mill on facebook – I’m victoria lester on fb.
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  8. I follow Bob’s Red Mill on twitter – I’m @win_giveaways
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  9. RG says:

    I really like a bowl of oatmeal. Crazy to some, but deliciously simple.

  10. Jordan P says:

    I always love french toast, especially gussied up with fruit!

  11. Kathy says:

    Pancakes made with blueberries from my Dad’s 50 year old blueberry bushes..Love em

  12. Jessie C. says:

    I love pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast!

  13. Jessie C. says:

    I’m a subscriber
    1

  14. Jessie C. says:

    I’m a subscriber
    2

  15. Jessie C. says:

    I’m a subscriber
    3

  16. Jessie C. says:

    Reader subscriber as well.

  17. Jessie C. says:

    fan of Bob’s Red Mill on Facebook.@tcarolinep JessieKatie S

  18. Jessie C. says:

    Follow Bob’s Red Mill on Twitter@tcarolinep

  19. Lauriel says:

    Scrambles with eggs from our chickens and whatever vegetables are locally in season!

  20. Emily N. says:

    I love eggs or oatmeal for breakfast.

  21. Emily N. says:

    I follow on twitter and tweeted

  22. Betsy says:

    I love a bowl of granola, yogurt and fruit.

  23. Pingback: Bob’s Red Mill Giveaway WINNERS! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

