A Birthday to Remember: Beckett’s 2nd

Disclaimer:  If you are here for just the honeybees or the carbon footprint update, skip this post.  It’s all about an adorable little girl, a crazy birthday party and a whole lot of fun. And, since this post quickly surpassed 1000 words and I prefer to keep snoozing readers to a minimum, there will be an addendum to this that covers the behind the scenes “Green” of the party, but I had to lay the scene.  Little teasers like the answers to “How do you make green eggs without artificial food coloring?” and “What kind of eco-conscious gifts did Beckett open?”.  Just you wait!

Birthdays are a big deal to me.  Well, let me back up a second – PARTIES are a big deal to me.  I love weddings.  I love receptions.  I love anything that involves people, food and music (especially good-loud-dance-and-make-a-fool-of-yourself vibes!).  So, if I already go overboard at Halloween or turn a little cuckoo-crazy at Valentine’s, you can imagine what a birthday for my daughter entails.

First, there is the theme.


This year it was Dr. Seuss.  He is one of our favorite authors and his books have a very special message.  The cadence and tone are sweetly hypnotic and the artwork is second to none.  The work of Theodore Geisel (Dr. Seuss) is certainly worth my time and energy.

It’s the “Who’s Who of Whoville” – the Invites.

I tend to be a scrapbookin’ kind of person when it comes to memorable events.  On our bookshelf will see a baby book for Beckett journaling my pregnancy and her first year of life, but it ends after her birthday.  You will not find a scrapbook detailing the comings and goings of our daily life.  And, next to the chronicle of our wedding and honeymoon, you can peruse an awesome memory book of Jacob’s and my 19-day west coast baseball trip that covered eight stadiums in 2007 (the days before incessant toddler whinage was the result of car seat bondage).  That’s it – just three scrapbooks.

But, I get my fix other ways…

You will find that the invitations for Beckett’s birthdays sum up the theme to a tee and invite you to live it up at the shindig.  It sounds like a cheesy advertising slogan, but it’s not just a party – it’s an experience.  The key to the Dr. Seuss invite was to keep it tongue-twisting fun and full of rhyme and nonsense.  And, who better to adorn the front than the Cat-In-The-Hat himself?

Let’s live it up – it’s time for decorations!

The party starts the moment you enter our driveway.  This year I pulled the colors from the Cat-In-The-Hat book and worked with red, turquoise and pink as the main palate.  And, from there I checked out every single Dr. Seuss book title that the county library had.  Our shelves house a handful of our favorites, but there are so many more goodies out there.  After all, the books were the inspiration for every single decoration.  In an attempt to polish up my art skills and work with freehand drawing, I snagged butcher paper from work and started sketching away.

Outside was McElligot’s Pool and we filled Beckett’s plastic pool with an assortment of colored balls (McElligot’s Pool).

The lights were hung with handknit scarves posing as thneeds (The Lorax).

Every single flat surface had a Dr. Seuss book of some sort – 35 titles in all and a collection that beckoned the question from my mother, “Geez, did you leave any for the other kids at the library?!”.

The walls were a forest of truffula trees and home to the brown barbaloots (The Lorax).

One of my favorite decorations was Horton hiding in the field of dandelions.  The sweet motto of Horton was written on the bottom “A person’s a person no matter how small.” and the field was a collection of pink puff balls with brown dandelion stems (Horton Hears a Who).

The front door had a very Seuss-esc sign that offered directions “To Here” or “To There”.  And, the back door was emblazoned with the banner from the Butter Battle Book.

Another creative addition was the fish bowl on the table outside.  The goldfish is a constant companion in the Cat In The Hat and makes cameos in others books – so it was only fitting that he had center stage at Beckett party.

Eat, Drink & Be Merry – a menu to be made.

I think grabby, easy-to-chew-and-talk kind of foods when I plan a party and being that it was a kid-centered birthday, the menu needed to be child friendly, too.  I like polka dots and the whimsical circles started on the invitation and carried through into the party, too.

The tablecloth was a super fun red and white polka dot pattern that I snagged at the local fabric store for $1.00/yard (yippee!).

The drinks offered were moose juice and goose juice (The Yawn Book) and an ice-tub of classic soda pop.  The pop was a slight detour from our family’s eating rules, but it was special-edition, original recipe Pepsi and Mountain Dew made with “real sugar” because I refuse to budge on high-fructose corn syrup.

The cake was homemade by a dear friend who specializes in adorable wedding, birthday and party cakes that taste as good as they look.  The ingredients are natural and the flavors are unimaginably delicious.  The cake was flanked by dishes of Very Cherry red and Blue Raspberry jellybeans.

The snacks were watermelon kabobs (carved out with a melon baller) and round-pocket peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  The “Green Eggs and Ham” were sandwich makings of ham, cheese and bakery-fresh rolls and a platter of green deviled eggs.  For quick munchies, there was a bowl of red and blue tortilla chips and a dish of peanuts for Horton, too.

Parties are one of the things I live for.  I simply love the planning, brainstorming and presentation.  Beckett is my firstborn, but it is my full intention to keep the trend of “over-the-top-but-oh-so-affordable” birthdays rolling.  She is special to me in a way that only a parent can understand, so to devote my time and creativity to her one day out of the year is measly in comparison to the gift she has given me.  Dr. Seuss has a special place in both mine and Jacob’s hearts and it was wonderful to share the magic of his stories with our little girl.  It makes my heart smile to hear Beckett recite “Sam I am. I do not.” over and over in the back seat of the car…

Happy 2nd birthday my sweet Beckett!


This entry was posted in home & hearth, random rants, where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Birthday to Remember: Beckett’s 2nd

  1. Ginger says:

    Now THAT is a party! Can I hire you to plan our parties in the future? I love how much time, love and effort obviously went into every bit of it, and it looks like it was well worth it!

    • sacredbee says:

      Thank you! I actually have thought about doing party planning, but there isn’t much of a calling in a town of a hundred people… Perhaps if we moved to San Diego… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Keepin’ it green the best day of the year | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  3. Pingback: A world of make-believe: miYim and Blabla kids (Review & Giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  4. Pingback: three year celebration | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  5. Erin says:

    Love your take on a Dr. Seuss theme party! I was looking up Dr. Seuss party ideas and came across this post. All the decorations look amazing.

  6. Teresa WhiteOwl says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your party! I am one of ‘those’ creative types as well and was just perusing the web to glean ideas for my mom’s birthday. It’s actually today, but we will be celebrating this weekend. Since I was a small child, I have called my mother ‘Moose’. Over the years it caught on to the extent that the entire family, her former co-workers, customers–her entire community call her Moose. And, all of them over the years, have delighted in gifting her *all* sorts of moose trinkets, doo-dads and such. She now has hundreds of them, from moose slippers and nightie to moose coasters, wind chimes and stuffed moose everywhere! We call her home the ‘Moose Hoose’… or the ‘Mooseum’. 🙂 It is great fun!

    I love your idea for ‘Moose Juice’ and I hope you don’t mind if I borrow it for my mom this weekend. She will love it. We too adore parties, celebrations, holidays and the like and love to go all out to make them joyful and fun. We do ours on a budget, which is cool because it really gets the creativity activated to compensate for what we are not able to purchase. It’s more of a do-it-yourself kind of a thing and we love it.

    Many blessings to you,
    Teresa

    • sacredbee says:

      So happy to hear that you found the blog and the theme of the Dr. Suess party! Feel free to use as many ideas if you’d like. And, have a wonderful party celebrating your Mom.

      Blessings –
      Kate

Leave a Reply

