Homestead Blessings: A must have for a homemaker in training

I prefer to think of corny as a relative term.  I tend to overindulge in things like tinsel at Christmastime and the house is decorated in a garish combination of red, white and blue for my birthday (yes, the 4th of July).  I would be remiss if I didn’t at least swing by every which kind of festival and parade that happens in our small town.   And, it simply wouldn’t be a day worth living if at least one show tune from any number of musicals was not belted out at full volume.

So, I understand if my whole “homemaker in training” persona is classified as corny, too.  And, I am more than okay with my newfound addiction to this series of instructional DVDs called “Homestead Blessings”.  The hour-long segments have all the elements of a groan worthy oh-my-God-we-are-not-actually-watching-this reaction from my husband.  The production quality is bleh.  The music is nauseatingly repetitive and totally in line with the musical interests of my toddler.  But, the ladies – three sisters and their mother – are absolutely delightful.  And, the information is spot-on.

The series covers a wide-range of topics including candlemaking, canning, cooking, dairy foods, sewing, quilting, gardening, herbs and my personal favorite, breadmaking.  There is one unique thread to all the videos and it is the ability to appeal to both newbies who have no clue about the subject and people with experience who are looking for a new perspective on things.  I have done my fair share of canning over the past three years and know the basics, but have never tried warming the jars in the oven or canning green beans.

The video below is adorable – I mean it.  You know you want to watch it…

And, the bread… oh, the bread.

I know that I tend to exaggerate anything pertaining to bread, but I love it.  I love, love, love it.  And, the mere thought of being able to bake my own bread, whenever I want it, gives me heart palpitations.  Sadly, I have struggled with it.  I can’t picture what rubbery, softish, elastic, bulbous risen loaves look like – can you?  But, show it to me on the television screen and now we are working together.  I want to see it.  I want to rewind it.  I want to pause it.  And, then watch it again.  And, again.

These last few weeks have asked my husband, Jacob, to sit patiently through still frame after still frame of excellent (in the eyes of this beholder) home-making tutorials, but I figure it’s his penance for the four five endless months of college football and NFL football he keeps on.  And, hey, he’s not one to complain about cheaper grocery bills, a pantry stocked with homemade tasty goodies and a fresh loaf bread on the counter…

More info on Homestead Blessings: http://www.homestead-blessings.com/

FYI: I was able to check out ALL of the videos in the series at my local library.  A cheery thank-you to the Whatcom County Library System!

This entry was posted in home & hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homestead Blessings: A must have for a homemaker in training

  1. Cutzi says:

    Cool!! You know me…. I’ll definitely be checking these out too.

    Also re: breadmaking – have you tried Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a Day? Seriously – the most awesome bread I’ve ever made. I always struggled with it before. Too bad for me we’re not eating it anymore. 😦

  2. Jenny says:

    Sounds like it’s right up my alley!! Thanks for the tip. Now to get these speakers working so I can actually hear what they are saying……Oh David! 😉

Leave a Reply

