Naturally Beautiful: Lavera & ONE (Review & Giveaway)

When I decided to take on this project at the beginning of 2010, I knew that it would be a slow transition filled with baby step after baby step.  One of my major ground rules was the choice to replace as needed.  So, when we finished the triple-bag of frosted mini-wheats, we would allow ourselves to buy an organic cereal.  Or, when the last spray of Windex was done, we opted for something safer and less toxic.

The food thing moved quite quickly because grocery shopping is something that we do on an obscenely-costly-regular basis.  But, our bathroom is at the opposite end of the spectrum.  We are starting to say hello to fall and I am just now using up the last dregs of my warehouse-size shampoo bottle or my umpteenth bar of soap courtesy of Santa in my stocking.  Well, last month I cleaned house and finally purged those goodies that I knew I would keep passing over for all eternity.  It seemed like needless effort to continue avoiding products that would like a new home.  I said good-bye to products filled with hormone disruptors and synthetic chemicals.  Unopened, perfectly good products were sent to the local food bank (yes, they do accept toiletries!) and anything used or left was disposed of as properly as I could manage…

And, in an effort to replenish a meager looking cabinet, I went searching for the products that met my standards and could fulfill our needs and our budget.

The two gems I found are guh-ood –

ONE Bath & Body www.onebathandbody.com

In a world filled with plastic bottles, it is so refreshing to find a company making their mark in the world of natural and organic cosmetics by taking eco-friendly to another level.  ONE Bath & Body has taken their packaging to a new level and showcases their entire line of personal care products in recycled and 100% recyclable materials!  The ingredients are natural and cruelty-free and the scents are scrumptious enough to eat or subtle enough to lose yourself in.

I have always lookie-looed the innovative products when I happenstance into my favorite bath and body store, but I could never pull the trigger when it came to looking away from my residential plastic bottles.  Well, I finally did it and I gotta admit – I am in love!  The Squeaky Clean solid shampoo bar is out of this world and after 25 shampoos there is hardly a mention of use to the bar.  I think that the long-lasting nature is due to the convenient and super practical tin that you can store it in.  It allows the bar to dry out, but protects it from an endless downpour in the shower.

ONE Bath & Body’s products are also becoming the hit with frequent airline travelers who rely on carry-on bags but are bound by the TSA regulations on liquids – including toiletries.  A solid shampoo bar in a convenient, easy to clean tin solves that problem in a jiffy!

Where to buy? Visit ONE’s website at www.onebathandbody.com

LAVERA Naturkosmetik www.lavera.com

My daily makeup routine consists of two products and one of them is strictly seasonal.  I darken my blonde, invisible lashes with mascara and in the winter months I blot my skin with a concealer and moisturizer combination (it makes me appear less peaked).  Needless to say, my supply of the two lasts a L-O-N-G time.  As serendipity would have it, I found myself actually in need of mascara when Lavera offered to send me a sample!Lavera is a European company that offers an entire line of cosmetics, toiletries and other personal care products that are 100% organic.  Let me repeat that again – one hundred percent organic.  Yes, that means that they are all natural.  Yes, that means you can pronounce the ingredients.  In addition to these great qualities, they are also specifically formulated for sensitive skin and those with allergies.  I sounds silly, but you could pass these off as non-organic, cheapo products to those unwilling to read the ingredients list.  The Volume Mascara No. 1 works as well, if not better, than my old silver bottle, but boasts an ingredient list I can feel safe using.

Where to buy? Visit your local Target’s cosmetic section or visit www.lavera.com for more locations and online retailers.

Ready for the giveaway?!

One lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a Squeaky Clean shampoo bar by ONE Bath & Body!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite innovative bath and body product?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of ONE Bath & Body on Facebook.
  • Follow @ONEBathandBody on Twitter.
  • Follow @laveraorganic on Twitter.

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, September 18th, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

This entry was posted in practically personal. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Naturally Beautiful: Lavera & ONE (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Condo Blues says:

    I love a good sugar scrub especially during the winter when my skin gets more than a little too dry. Even better is when I found out that one of my favorite sugar scrubs is really just olive oil and plain white sugar. Now I make it myself, which means I have a little extra $ to put toward a better for me product I can’t make like shampoo.

  2. Jenny says:

    I don’t know how innovative it is, but today I needed to replace my face soap, so I also replaced organically. I’m going to try Avalon Organics Facial Cleansing Milk. We’ll see how it works! 🙂

  3. Brittin Olson says:

    I like the honey body wash or you can also use it in bath water. I got it for Christmas one year, and it makes your skin feel like satin.

  4. Chrissy says:

    My interest is definitely piqued with this whole shampoo bar thing! I even looked them up & saw all of their different products. I’m not sure how innovative my favorite product is, but I loooove my Acne.org regimen that has finally ended my battle with acne. Sort of embarrassing, I guess, but there it is.

  5. Kristen van sickle says:

    Okay I am so skeptical of this product… A bar of shampoo? What craziness is this Kate!? But I am in it to try and win it! So that brings me to my favorite innovative bath and body product…. I have NO idea what that would be…. Conditioner? Sometimes my LNG locks require half A bottle to detangle…. Or maybe it’s the body scrubber thing. I am so done with using a washcloth!! Yeah, I think that one is it…. But if I win the shampoo bar, that I am sure will be my fave

  6. Kristen van sickle says:

    Retweeted to my peeps

  7. I LOVE the Cloud 9 Bath & Body Lotion It’s innovative in the way that it is 97% Natural 100% Safe for our Planet!
    Victoria Lester

  8. I follow OneBathandBody on twitter -@win_giveaways

  9. I follow One Bath and Body on facebook – I’m victoria lester

  10. I follow laveraorganic on twitter -@win_giveaways

  11. I subscribed via email – flophasit at yahoo dot com and confirmed! 😉

  12. Kat C says:

    Have you heard of ice cream soap? I really love it…it’s a treat on a hot day!

    katch05 at gmail dot com

  13. thepricklypinecone says:

    I love my dr bronners peppermint soap! I use it for most of my personal hygiene needs!

  14. Kristen van sickle says:

    Retweeted to my peeps today!!

Leave a Reply

