Just throw it away

I am opening my mouth big and wide in this posting.  It is not my intent to stick my foot in my mouth, but I have been thinking (eek! It scares me sometimes, too…).  I have a Bachelor of Arts in Cultural Anthropology, but work as accountant.  I do work at a high school though; which qualifies in many respects as a daily case study.  My view on life tends to be very liberal and I preach a message of “Whatever floats your boat.”  I am also a voyeur by trade.  I want to understand why people do the things they do.   Why are humans so uniquely varied globally, but so similar is so many ways.  So, I wonder and I ask “why?”.  And, that dangerous pastime got me to here.

We live in a society of immediate gratification.  I don’t want it now – I wanted it five minutes ago.  It’s the “me, myself and I” ideology that my toddler prescribes to.

I know it’s a bold statement, but you really don’t have to look very far to see the evidence.

Store shelves are crammed with Christmas decorations in September.  I’d just like to enjoy Halloween before Santa is shouting “Ho Ho Ho!” around every street corner.

Fast food restaurants are neon eye-sores along every major highway and city street What’s that old phrase?…oh, a slow cooked meal – that’s it!

Wallets are fat with credit cards and borrowed money.  Cash has fallen by the wayside and so has its interest rate of zero.

Why do we throw away half drank pops without hesitation?  Why are our roadsides littered with food wrappers and other trash?  Why is the packaging on electronic items so ridiculously overdone that it appears to be in a contest to use the most plastic?

It is my opinion that this whole idea of consumerism and lack of appreciation for the life of items doesn’t just apply to tangible goods.  Our society lives by a code of conduct that doesn’t particularly frown upon divorce or infidelity…the list goes on and on.

And, why would we?  A person can find another lover.  A person can say those marriage vows, but forget what they mean and stand for.  You can throw it away.  Throwing away the wrappers on our hamburgers and bringing home leftovers in Styrofoam containers aren’t the only things we are accustomed to.  Our society as whole is raised to view everything as disposable.

I don’t need it.

I don’t want it.

I found something newer, shinier, better.

So, just throw it away.

But, those vows do mean something.  The television in the cabinet has life span and it ends when the lights go out and the power button no longer works.  The last bit of onion from dinner can spice up an omelet in the morning or contribute to the garden in the form of compost.  Everything matters.

Humans practice what they preach.  And, the pervasive message in our society right now is disposable.

Don’t just throw it away.

This entry was posted in random rants. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just throw it away

  1. Jenny says:

    Amen to that!

  2. Barb D.V. says:

    A big fat YES!!!!!

  3. Cutzi says:

    And let’s not forget the sweet little lives that we so quickly throw away. Why worry about what we do now when we can just dispose of the consequences later?

    Good post, Kate.

  4. Kat says:

    Well, I wholeheartedly agree that our “instant gradification” / disposable” way of life is in serious need of change, but…. being born “out of wedlock” is NOT something that should be “frowned” upon. I happen to be one of those you feel should be “frowned upon” and resent, and maybe even feel sorry for, anyone who feels they have a right to look down on me because my mother was not married to my father. It saddens me that children are still being taught this antuated way of viewing the world and their fellow human beings.

    • sacredbee says:

      Kat – This post was not meant to be judgmental regarding the decisions of others or how we end up where we end up. I struggle with seeing people rush into marriage, have children and then end it. Just like that. I am the child of divorce. And, I am better for it. I guess a better way of putting it would be to say it seems like people, unfortunately a lot of adults – don’t fully understand or grasp the repercussions and consequences of their actions. So, if we don’t get the big stuff as a society – why would we get the little stuff (like throwing your garbage in the ditch)? And, I think that when you start dissecting it and you look at the little things – you inevitably begin considering the big stuff.

      I cannot say it again or enough – children out of wedlock are not to be frowned on. They are to be loved and cared for. The parents who do not take responsibility for their children and their welfare are the ones to be frowned on.

      I hope that I have not just dug myself an even larger hole… Thank you for reading the post and thank you for commenting. I like hearing what other people thinking.

      -Kate

  5. Stephanie says:

    Whole-heartedly agree, Kate! I’m happy to have stumbled across your blog as I’m a Seattle-lite (south of Seattle in Kent, really) who is considering keeping bees so that I can have more honey for less cost. I’m just beginning to research this possibility, though, as I’m pretty scared of bees but I know that honey is a much healthier sweetener than our processed sugar and our family needs to make some major changes to our eating habits. I’ll “bee” checking on your blog from time to time.

    • sacredbee says:

      Hi Stephanie,
      Thanks for stopping by and checking the blog out. Give beekeeping a whirl – it really is wonderful and you will find that nothing is sweeter than the honey you extracted yourself!
      -Kate

  6. Condo Blues says:

    I wholeheartedly agree with the rushing of the seasons. I feel old because I remember when the only stores that had Christmas stuff out in August were the craft and fabric stores because making those items takes time.

    Labor Day weekend I was in a discount store and they were already putting away their back to school items away and replacing it with Christmas items!

  7. Kristen van sickle says:

    Well said Kate

Leave a Reply

