Architec: Live Eco. Live Smart (Review & Giveaway)

I like my house.  I really like the people who live here.  But, truth be told, it’s cramped.  And, it seems to be getting more snug and cozy the older Beckett gets.  The baby gear is gone, but the mayhem of a toddler has filled up every nook and cranny.  The whirlwind leaves behind cupboards that once housed my divinely perfect Le Creuset cookware and replaced it with stack upon pile of chop-n-slice wooden vegetables, astronomical quantities of plastic building blocks and oodles of reformed baby blankets that now swaddle dolls, bears and every stuffed being in between.    Don’t you worry, I didn’t toss the cookware – heck no, it’s just now at the bottom of the pile…

Well, Beckett is here to stay.  And, so is Jacob.  Tucker is a keeper, too.

A “for sale” sign is not going to be posted anytime in the near future and I will myself to not completely jampack my cupboards, closets and every shelf with more stuff.  It is not in my nature to accept visible clutter.  And, it goes against every grain in my fiber to have clutter stashed away and hidden from the naked eye.  But, I make compromises and one of those is a haphazard style that incorporates strategically placed items that serve a dual function: decoration and utility.  Most of our decorations, just short of photographs, fulfill this requirement and contribute to our home aesthetically and purposefully.

And, that’s where Architec’s kitchen products come in.  They are fantastically functional and so attractive you find yourself literally “oooing” and “aahing” as you use them.  The two products I am proud to use and display on my kitchen counter, echoing the saving of precious cupboard space, are cutting boards from their Go-Green product line.

The first cutting board is an oh-so very cool Eco Smart Poly-Flax cutting board.  It is a generous 12 inches by 16 inches and at first glance appears to be a standard plastic type material.  But, there is more than meets the eye with this red speckled gem.  It is made of 100% recycled food-grade plastic and the flecked appearance is due to the addition of flax husks.  It’s dishwasher safe and totally, completely, all the way around designed and manufactured in the United States of America!  But, the cherry on top of this sundae is the “Eco Smart Take-Back Program”.  When you are done with the cutting board or it’s completely worn out, you can call Architec toll-free and request a pre-paid shipping label to send it back to them for recycling into a new Poly-Flax cutting board.  Talk about cool!

The second cutting board is made of a product that is both incredibly attractive and beautifully sustainable.  It is a 100% naturally renewable bamboo cutting board that features “gripper” feet that keep the cutting board securely set on the counter no matter how many toddler swipes it needs to deflect.  Bamboo is a ridiculously fast growing plant that boasts a rate of almost 24 inches per day!  It has become a popular choice for flooring, dishware, flatware and pretty much everything in between because it’s durable, affordable and did I mention, FAST-GROWING?!  The cutting board requires minimal care and holds up to the abuse of our kitchen much better than our standard hardwood boards.

Architec has helped me in my quest to balance life, stuff, a growing family and a smallish house.  If there is ever an opportunity to snatch up products that fill both the bill of attractiveness and the bill of function, I am the first in line.  Architec has surpassed my expectations and even found a way to remain affordable, handsome, sustainable and eco-conscious at the same time.

Where to buy? Check out Architec’s website for more information: www.architecproducts.com

Ready for the giveaway?!

Two lucky Sacred Bee Blog readers will win a single cutting board from Architec – one Bamboo cutting board and one Poly-Flax cutting board!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite functional decoration in your home?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner (three total entries for becoming or being a current subscriber via email!)
  • Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Become a fan of Architec on Facebook.

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, August 28th, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in home & hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Architec: Live Eco. Live Smart (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    I have to my mixer.

  2. Jordan P says:

    I have an old timey bottle opener that serves both function and form, it’s great at parties and it adds a dash of character to my kitchen!

  3. Ginger says:

    My favorite functional decoration right now is this large ottoman that is also a chest (now filled with toys), that currently also doubles as a baby barrier to the TV. Win/win/win.

  4. Diana says:

    Baskets. An endless array (a lifetime collection) of baskets which I could not possibly give up. So, they became part of the decor above my kitchen cabinets in a space that just begged for some fancy decor. Now I get to enjoy looking at my beautiful baskets, and I can quickly retrieve one when I need to put it in service.

  5. Brittin Olson says:

    I have coasters that you can put pictures inside, right now I have pictures of old trucks, but you can put anything in them.

  6. Victoria Lester says:

    My functional decoration is my orange strainers. I have two strainers that I hang in my kitchen. I have orange items in my kitchen so I use them as decor as well as them being functional as well.

  7. Victoria Lester says:

    I LIKE Architec on facebook. I’m victoria lester on fb.

  8. Victoria Lester says:

    I subscribed via email.

  9. Michelle says:

    Our coffee table…we love it!! It’s dark wood and big, kind of looks like a chest; the top lifts up with hinges and then there is a shelf to store books and remotes. Underneath that is a big cavity to stuff all our favorite blankets. Very functional and always cool to surprise our guests with!

  10. RG says:

    I have some leaf – shaped plates on the wall that are decoration, but then I take them down to serve snacks on when people come over. I have heard varying comments about this, but I want the things in my home to be multipurpose if possible.

  11. Angie P says:

    I subscribe via google reader

  12. Angie P says:

    I have antique blue Ball canning jars on my counter that I use for sugar and salt plus as a utensil holder.

  13. Everything I have out has to be functional, because I have four people and a dog in 800 square feet!

  14. Lauriel says:

    Our lovely espresso machine is our favorite! These cutting boards look amazing though!

  15. Virginia says:

    Favorite has to be my espresso machine, old as the hills but made to last!

  16. Virginia says:

    I’m subscribed via email! 🙂

  17. Virginia says:

    I’ve added SacredBee.net to my Facebook page!

  18. Cari S. says:

    My favorite functional decoration would definitely be the gazillion baskets I have around the house. They store anything from magazines to kids’ toys!

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  19. Cari S. says:

    email subscriber.

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  20. Cari S. says:

    I like Architec on FB – Cari S.

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  21. Pingback: Architec Giveaway Winner! | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  22. Pingback: architec: live smart (review & giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  23. Pingback: eco-paper cutting board {Architec} | In The Know Mom

Leave a Reply

