A new love: The LocalHarvest Website!

Vacations are something I struggle with.  My husband would be content to sit in a chaise lounge on the beach with a margarita or beer in his hand and watch the world go by.  All week.  All vacation.  All the time.  Not me.  No sir.  I like the locals.  I like to find the local haunts, check out the eats and stock up on the kind of stuff you can’t find anywhere else.  There are no trips to tropical locales in our near future, but we were recently planning a short weekend away to eastern Washington.  Just enough time to stretch our legs, breathe  air that’s not damp and humid and still keep the finances in check.  We had compromised on how our time would be spent and Jacob conceded to let me stop at nothing short of half a dozen places to pick up organic peaches, apricots, cherries and hot peppers {!!}.

But, what’s a Whatcom County super savvy local shopper to do when thrown into new territory?  In an effort to conserve gas and limit “car time” for Beckett, I had to find an alternative to my crutch and go-to source for local farms (Sustainable Connections) and look elsewhere…

And, lookie-loo – I’ve got a new lifeline.  LOCAL HARVEST!!!  Ta dah!

www.localharvest.org

LocalHarvest’s website is interactive and includes a searchable map of the entire United States.  You can look by area (zip code and/or city, state).  You can look by product.  Or, you can combine the two.  It’s oh so, user-friendly!  And, I double checked the resources for my local area and it was spot on.

Now, about the trip.  Way-elll….. Miss Beckett came down with a terrible fever, the weekend was spent at Children’s Hospital in Seattle, hotel reservations were cancelled and farm stand stops were postponed.  The getaway is now penciled in for July, but I’ll keep you posted.  When everything else is unpredictable, at least I still have my resources…And, peach season lasts for awhile.

So, here is my gift to you: LocalHarvest.  You’re most welcome.

This entry was posted in where the locals go!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

