Nalgene: An old friend with new goods! (Review & Giveaway)

Nalgene has been a friend in my life for a long time.  Their plastic drinking bottles have been a constant companion and our friendship dates back to the middle school days of acid-washed jeans, neon legwarmers and comb teased hair.  Well, it is 2010 and I’ve grown up.  And, so has Nalgene.  Their plastic water bottles still sport awesome features, rugged toughness and the ever important BPA-free plastic.  But, lookie-loo, there are some new kids on the block and Nalgene’s product line is working to fit even better into my life and what I have got going on (no, there are no more legwarmers!).

Two of my recent favorite finds are the Kid’s Grip-n-Gulp that works perfect (as in – P-E-R-F-E-C-T) for a toddler and the adult friendly Stainless Steel water bottle!

KID’S GRIP-N-GULP

A first glance, you will immediately notice the fashionable colors, generous capacity (12 ounces!) and durable plastic.  But, once you start taking it apart and actually get to using it there are two really important features you’ll notice: VERY few parts to clean, take out or lose and the fact that it’s a no-leakage, anti-spillage, won’t-make-a-mess kind of cup.  But, that’s not all: Affordability (only $6.99 at the local Community Food Co-Op in Bellingham). Ergonomics – yes, it actually fits in a cup holder.  Companies who continue to make sippy cups that don’t fit in a cup holder have clearly never taken a toddler on a long road trip. And, possibly the most important feature of all: “Looks like Mommy’s Water Bottle”.  Anybody with a toddler knows that they don’t want to sweep with the kid’s broom, they want to use the adult one.  And, they certainly don’t want to use a baby fork, they want a shiny, stainless steel one like daddy has.  Well, the same theory applies to water bottles.  Thank you, Nalgene, for giving us one less battle to fight with our child.

STAINLESS STEEL BACKPACKER

Times are changing and the use of alternative materials is becoming a hot trend.  Water bottles are no exception and Nalgene has taken the opportunity to introduce their own line of stainless steel water bottles.  My personal favorite is the 32-ounce Backpacker that features a slimmed-down, tapered design making it possible to fit in cup holders (here we go again!), but has a mouth wide enough for ice-cubes and water filtration devices!  The brushed metal makes the bottle both stylish and functional – no harmful lining like those needed in aluminum bottles and certainly no more need for disposable grab-and-go water bottles.  On a side note, the screw off lid features a sturdy rope that allows the lid to stay attached at all times and the bottle is dishwasher safe!

Ready for the uber-cool giveaway!?

ONE lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a Nalgene Stainless Steel Backpacker Water Bottle!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favorite pack-and-go drink?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

  • Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner
    Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
    Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
  • Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
  • Follow Nalgene @nalgeneoutdoor on Twitter
  • Become a fan of Nalgene on Facebook

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, June 19, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in home & hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Nalgene: An old friend with new goods! (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Virginia says:

    My favorite pack-and-go drink? It has to be coffee!! Second favorite is just plain water.

  2. Carolyn D. says:

    For both me and my daughter, flavored water!

  3. Carolyn D. says:

    I’ve retweeted this giveaway! (cmd027)

  4. Ginger says:

    Pack-n-go? Probably water. Or, if I’m honest, Diet Coke.

  5. wendy fanello says:

    Hmm, would have to say coffee, w/ Diet Coke coming in at a close second. Not exactly organic, I know! My husband would LOVE the new Nalgene!

  6. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    I love the Crystal Light little containers of flavor that I can add to my water to liven it up! And yes I am 40, but my super favorite flavor is Hawaiian Punch Juicy red!

  7. Laura says:

    Lidl sell little cartons of pure apple juice with no added sugar or anything. It’s great and the cartons can be recycled nearby.

  8. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    Just retweeted to my peeps! Oh & I still love to take my instant packets to add to my water as my fav travel beverage!

  9. Michelle says:

    Water would be my number one; and then coffee would come in at a close second!

  10. A Mom's Take says:

    apple juice!
    janel_marie at yahoo dot com

  11. A Mom's Take says:

    following sponsor on facebook
    a moms take
    janel_marie at yahoo dot com

  12. A Mom's Take says:

    following sponsor on twitter
    amomstake
    janel_marie at yahoo dot com

  13. Emily Robison says:

    ooh I love to take Hot Chocolate with me on a cold day!

  14. Emily Robison says:

    I follow Nalgene on Twitter @erobison09

  15. Emily Robison says:

    I follow you on Twitter @erobison09

  16. Emily Robison says:

    I follow Nalgene on FB

  17. Tina says:

    To be honest….Cherry coke or Mt Dew…but then straight water 🙂

  18. Tina says:

    I follow nalgene on twitter

    @cricketina13

  19. Tina says:

    I follow you and retweeted on twitter

    @cricketina13

  20. Steph says:

    I love lemonade

  21. Steph says:

    i follow you on twitter @desmoinesdealin

  22. Steph says:

    i follow nalgene on twitter @desmoinesdealin

  23. Davney says:

    My favorite pack & go drink is WATER!

    aholicblog@gmail.com

  24. Davney says:

    I follow you on Twitter.

    aholicblog@gmail.com

  25. Davney says:

    I follow Nalgene on Twitter.

    aholicblog@gmail.com

  26. Davney says:

    I follow Nalgene on FB.

    aholicblog@gmail.com

  27. Virginia says:

    My favorite is just plain water!

  28. Christie says:

    I take bottled water and a crystal lite pack

  29. Cari says:

    My favorite is unsweetened iced tea!

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  30. Cari says:

    I’m following in Google Reader.

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  31. Cari says:

    I’m following Nalgene on FB – Cari S.

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  32. Cari says:

    I’m following Nalgene on Twitter @ThisLittleFam

    carissa.sutton(at)gmail.com

  33. LaVonne says:

    I like to grab my own small blue nalgene or a box of juice 😉

  34. LaVonne says:

    I am now a Twitter follower. I RT your giveaway post on your page. @lavonnelong is my username.

  35. LaVonne says:

    I now follow Nalgene on Twitter. @lavonnelong is my username

  36. LaVonne says:

    I now “like” Nalgene on FB.

  37. patdt13 says:

    I would say either water or iced tea.

  38. patdt13 says:

    I retweeted it.

  39. Pim says:

    My favorite pack-and-go drink is green tea!
    Also followed and tweeted about your giveaway. Username: “inn”
    Also became a fan of Nalgene on facebook.

    • sacredbee says:

      Hi Pim,

      Thanks for entering the giveaway! To get credit for each of these items, you need to do a comment for EACH item. Let me know if that doesn’t make sense.

      Thank you for following the Sacred Bee’s blog!

      -Kate

  40. Brad says:

    Fan of Nalgene on FB
    Following @nalgeneoutdoor on Twitter
    Following @sacredbee on Twitter
    Retweeted
    Posted on FB

    • sacredbee says:

      Hi Brad,

      Thanks for entering the giveaway! To get credit for each of these items, you need to do a comment for EACH item. Let me know if that doesn’t make sense.

      Thank you for following the Sacred Bee’s blog!

      -Kate

  41. Josh Gamache says:

    Cant beat ice cold well water!

  42. Elizabeth says:

    How boring am I? My favorite drink is water, without even a dash of lemon in it! But I do like raspberry iced tea if I can find it!

  43. Elizabeth says:

    Following you on twitter! (@iamconfessing)

  44. Elizabeth says:

    I’m following Nalgene Outdoor too!

  45. Elizabeth says:

    I added your URL to my blogroll found here:

    http://www.confessionsfromaworkingmom.com/

    (look on the right side of my home page, under the “I like these people” section– newest posts populate on top!)

  46. MY favorite drink is water flavored with Crystal Light.

  47. Flufferwuffer says:

    Coffee! I love having coffee wherever I go, but I hate buying it at overprices coffee shops.

  48. Kate says:

    My favorite pack n go drink is water….preferably cold!

  49. Kate says:

    I follow nalgene on twitter (@kcmichigan)

  50. dorothy l says:

    water or homemade lemonade

  51. I love Ozarka water . . . but when I want a pick me up I go with Amp energy drinks.

  52. Follow Nalgene on Twitter @jurenpamis

  53. Jessica Deratany says:

    Water for sure
    jrderatany@gmail.com

  54. Jessica Deratany says:

    I follow you on twitter
    jrderatany@gmail.com

  55. Jessica Deratany says:

    I follow nalgene on twitter
    jrderatany@gmail.com

  56. Jessica Deratany says:

    I am a fan of nalgene on facebook
    jrderatany@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

