Rockin’ Green Laundry Detergent – You Rock! (Review & Giveaway)

I am blessed to have a husband that doesn’t smell.  Even after a hard day toiling with a shovel in the yard or working on a job site covered in debris and dust, he still smells good.  Before switching Beckett to cloth diapers, our primary function of laundry detergent was to “clean” our clothes.  I used it to say good-bye to stains, sweat marks and food goop.  And, the scent of clean clothes usually came from the sun as they dried on the clothesline outside.  Well, the advent of cloth diapers completely changed our “stink” issue.  Don’t worry, Jacob still doesn’t smell, but Beckett’s diapers do.  Pee-eew!

The poop goes away with a flush of the toilet, but the intoxicating ammonia odor lingers even after a dip in the toilet bowl of fresh water.  In an effort to not become reliant on water or hog this natural resource, I refuse to move diapers through the washing machine every day.  To make matters a little more difficult, cloth diapers are restricted to a confined list of appropriate detergents that shrinks dramatically when you start pigeon-holing it to the terms “eco-friendly”, “biodegradable” and “sensitive”.

After striking out with a bad stretch of diaper rashes related to residual ammonia, not detergent irritants, I went on the hunt for the urine eliminator….

Clean, ammonia-scent free diapers hanging on the line - bring on the sunshine!

And, I found it.  Let’s tune in to Rockin’ Green Laundry Detergent.  The product line is simple – three levels of cleaning power: Soft Rock (for sensitive skin), Classic Rock (for everyday use and standard water harshness levels) and Hard Rock (for hard water issues and above average stains and smells).  The detergents are affordable ($13.95 for a bag that does 45/90 loads of laundry – depending on whether or not you have a top-load or front-load washer) and the available scents are simply INCREDIBLE!  We treated ourselves to a batch of Cherry Almond and became so inebriated by the sweet, delicious scent we had to pull away for fear of succumbing to swirling it in a drink of sorts (think Pixie Sticks candy, but WAY better).  The detergent smells amazing and so do the diapers.  There is no more pungent, nostril irritating smell or butt chafing scum and the rags have a white glow that combines with sun-drying to make for an extremely clean diaper.

Don’t use cloth diapers?  Don’t worry.  Now that we have worked our way through our resident 150-ounce bottle of eco-friendly detergent, we are tuning in to Rockin’ Green laundry detergent for all our dirty clothes.  The ingredients are all-natural and biodegradable.  The smells are derived from natural fragrance oils and are out of this world.  And, it works.  You can’t beat a song that plays that tune or a detergent that works like that.

Rockin’ Green Laundry Detergent ROCKS!

http://rockingreensoap.com/

Here is the ingredient list – short and sweet, just how I like it.  Oh, and I can pronounce all the products, too.

Ingredients: sodium carbonate , sodium percarbonate, natural chelating agents, sodium sulfate, biodegradable surfactants, natural fragrance oils (if scented is chosen)

Image courtesy of Rockin Green

Ready for the giveaway?

ONE lucky Sacred Bee Blog reader will win a full 45/90 bag of Rockin’ Green Detergent! You pick the scent and rock level (hard, classic or soft)!

Interested in entering the giveaway?

Comment on this post and tell me: What is your favoritest, mostest, bestest smell in the whole wide world?

Want additional entries? You must follow these directions and tell me about them via a comment on this post. Each of these options is available for one single entry per giveaway, not per day.

• Subscribe via email – WordPress or Feedburner
• Subscribe via a reader – Feedburner
• Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your website (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
• Link the Sacred Bee’s Blog to your Facebook page (you must send me the link or a screen shot via a comment on this post)
• Follow @sacredbee on Twitter and retweet this giveaway. Notify me of the retweet using a comment on this post. Only one entry per single retweet each day.
• Follow Rockin’ Green @RockingGreenSoap on Twitter.
• Become a fan of Rockin’ Green on Facebook.

Winners will be drawn on Saturday, May 22nd, 2010 at 8:00pm PST.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in home & hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Rockin’ Green Laundry Detergent – You Rock! (Review & Giveaway)

  1. Cutzi says:

    Hmmm…. baby neck. The sweetest smell ever. 🙂

    Have you ever tried Charlie’s soap?

  2. sacredbee says:

    Yes, we gave it a try and it still couldn’t knock the smell out. Mmm…baby neck is one of the bestest smells ever. I suppose after we are done I will have to smell other people’s babies.

  3. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    whatr are the choices of smells? I want to be entered in this give away.

  4. Kimberlee Cruz says:

    I love lavender.

  5. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    Best smell ever… wet cement, like after the rain? ahh I LOVE that smell. A little secret, as a kid, I use to lick rocks just to have that comfort smell… I know weird, but oh so comforting (not that I do it any more..I swear, ok maybe once or twice…) 🙂
    So jealous you can dry your clothes on a line, thats another great smell, clean sheets dried on the clothes line. nice memories, thanks! 😀
    ~kristen

  6. Anita says:

    Rage Against the Raspberry (with honey) sounds like Sacredbee and sounds like I would like it, too! I love your blog and your concerted efforts to change lifestyle to set an example for Beckett!

  7. Melissa says:

    The best smell EVER? Has to be new baby smell, closely followed by the smell just after a spring shower. Not the earthworm smell, but the other good one. My favorite Rockin Green scent so far? Mango Sorbet, but I just got a sample of Smashing Watermelon, and bet I will love it!

  8. Rita Thomas says:

    My most favorite smell in the world is sweet pea!

  9. emily says:

    There are many smells that tickle my fancy. Freshly cut grass. My baby’s freshly shampooed head. You know, the usual. But who wants to read about smells we all like. Like Kristen, I totally identify with the licking of rocks and such. Mmmmm. But actually one of my favorite smells is mildew. Go ahead. Let your jaw drop. You’re sitting in front of the computer and no one will ever know that you think I’m the biggest freak show in town. And yes, I have been known to let my laundry sit in the washing machine for days to achieve that happy smell. But only on garage towels. Otherwise, that would be kinda gross.

  10. Lauren says:

    I would have to say my fav sent right now is baby breath…Before they start solids though =P just that sweet milk smell and baby *heart melts*

  11. Lauren says:

    I signed up for emails with your blog!

  12. Lauren says:

    and I’m a fan of RnG already on FB!

  13. Christy Long says:

    CLEAN BABIES fresh from a bath!!!

  14. Jamie says:

    I will have to choose the smell of cinnamon, cloves, and ginger simmering on the stove. It brings back memories of Christmas time when I was a kid. My mom made the holidays last until far into January…and this smell always floated through the house. Yum!

  15. Maria B says:

    My favorite thing to smell is my baby’s hair! Every time I hold him, I’m sniffing him. I can’t get enough of it! I’ll be sad when he loses that smell :(.

  16. Jessi says:

    My most favorite smell ever is my kids straight out of the bath 🙂

  17. tasha davey says:

    Newborn babies! Best smell ever.

  18. elizabeth says:

    My favorite smell is definitely ripe peaches

  19. Shaun says:

    I love the smell of fresh mowed grass. It always tells me that spring and summer are here 🙂

  20. Megan says:

    My favorite scent ever is my clean baby after a bath 🙂 RnG’s Grape Soda was a close second! Orangevana is a new fav 🙂

  21. Alison says:

    Freshly cut grass! Nothing’s better 🙂

  22. Wendy Hoard says:

    I love the grape soda scent. Almost finished with that bag and then I’m gonna have to try something new. Smells so delicious!!!

  23. Emily says:

    I think I would love the smell of Smashing Watermelons!

  24. Emily says:

    Subscribe via email!

  25. Emily says:

    Subscribe via google reader!

  26. Emily says:

    Follow you on twitter
    @missemmielou

  27. Emily says:

    I am a Facebook fan of Rockin’ Green
    Emily C

  28. Amanda Forgit says:

    My favourite smell of all time is Lilacs… so sad that its only a few weeks a month

  29. Amanda Forgit says:

    I subscribe via google reader 🙂

  30. Anna says:

    Hmm…the best smell I can think of laundry, fresh from the dryer. Fresh baked bread is pretty yummy too 🙂

  31. Candice Bishop says:

    Mmmm…. my favorite smell in the whole wide world is my sweet baby Kinsley. 🙂

  32. Candice Bishop says:

    I just suscribed via email!

  33. Andi says:

    florist shops. I sometimes just walk into them to inhale a few times.

  34. Sara says:

    I love the smell of oranges and other citrus fruits my ultimate favorite smell is Satsuma that is carried by The Body Shop.

  35. Sara says:

    I subscribed via email!

  36. Sara says:

    Added link to my blog

  37. Candice Bishop says:

    I follow on twitter now! And I retweeted the giveaway. I’m not sure how to get the link just right but when i’m on my profile I clicked on the time that I retweeted and it gave me this link: http://twitter.com/sacredbee/status/14077601945 It says on there that I retweeted it though. Is that what link you need posted on here for an entry? Thanks.

  38. Candice Bishop says:

    I already follow Rockin Green on Twitter! I love Rockin Green! Okay, but I am twitter-dumb as you can see from my last post! Here is my home page where you can see who I’m following (its not too many!). I didn’t get an email confirmation whenever I clicked to follow anyone though. Maybe that’s in a setting?? Anyway, I’m cebish on twitter. http://twitter.com/cebish

  39. Candice Bishop says:

    I already am a fan of Rockin Green on Facebook too! http://www.facebook.com/#!/rockingreensoap

  40. Candice Bishop says:

    I am a fan of Rockin Green on Facebook already too! http://www.facebook.com/#!/rockingreensoap

  41. Bec says:

    Brownies!

    I love Rockin Green, btw. I’ve only used it with the original scents. I loved the buttercream. I can’t wait to try the new ones.

  42. Stephanie says:

    My most favoritest smell in the whole wide world is the smell of my son. His sweet scent is my absolute favorite! I could smell him all day long. MMMM!

    If I had to pic a favorite “scent” as in candle, lotion, etc… I would pick coconut lime or just coconut.

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  43. Stephanie says:

    I subscribed via email!

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  44. Stephanie says:

    I subscribed via google reader.

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  45. What is your favoritest, mostest, bestest smell in the whole wide world?
    Mine would have to be Sandalwood essential oil.

  46. Kim says:

    Mint, anything mint: thin mints, rosemary mint, chocolate mint, lavender mint, mint juleps.

  47. Chrissie says:

    Best smell ever? Hmmm…toughie. Warm rain in the summertime, I would have to say. Oh, and I love Rockin Green for my diapers!

  48. Stephanie says:

    I follow you on twitter via @mynewlifeasmom and tweeted:

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  49. Stephanie says:

    I linked up to you on my facebook page.

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/stephaniemackey?v=wall&story_fbid=127407117270648

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  50. Stephanie says:

    I’ve linked up to your blog via a button on my sidebar.

    http://www.mynewlifeasmom.com

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  51. Stephanie says:

    I follow Rockin’ Green on twitter via @mynewlifeasmom

    here’s proof:

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  52. Stephanie says:

    I’m a fan of Rockin’ Green on Facebook via Stephanie Mackey.

    Here’s proof:

    stephanie at mynewlifeasmom dot com

  53. Nena Lotzer says:

    My favorite smell is something/anything baking. Like chocolate cookies and cakes! Now that would make you want to do laundry, huh?

  54. Cathi Kosanovic says:

    my favorite smells are lemon verbena, sweet pea and peach. Get me in this drawing.

    Kristen–wet cement..please! you have won enough. xoxo Beckett.

  55. Kristen says:

    The best smell ever is the smell of a new baby’s head, the tippy-top of their tiny head.

  56. Beatriz says:

    Baby’s breath. Uuuuuh so sweet.

  57. Beatriz says:

    I have linked you on my FB page
    Beatriz Fox

  58. Katie says:

    Pregnancy did something really weird to my nose. I can’t get enough 409 smell. Or lemon liquid dish soap, or my ocean breeze shower gel. But most of all I LOVE Cherry Lemon aid RnG.

  59. Holly E says:

    My favorite scent is probably the newborn baby smell and a close second is the smell of rain!

    – by the way… our son is named Beckett also! I never hear of anyone else with that name so congrats on the awesome name! hehe!

  60. Ginny says:

    Favorite scent is gardenias, second best is roses.

  61. My favorite smell? Easy–the top of my seven-year-old’s head. Would it be gross to say that my 2nd favorite is her breath?

  62. Barb D.V. says:

    The smell of clean clothes on the clothes line!! All our clothes are lined dried unless its raining or snowing!! I love to hang clothes outside–a breath of fresh air and relaxation for a few moments!!!

  63. Tamara Sz says:

    Hmmm…. favorite smell. The first thing that comes to mind is coffee. I just love my morning latte. But I also love the smell of Freesia.

  64. Emily says:

    tweet tweet

  65. Jill says:

    My baby girl’s breath used to smell like strawberries when she was breastfeeding exclusively. That was so… weird, but nice at the same time.

  66. Carolyn says:

    My fave scent ever is Sweet Almond Oil. So soothing.

    Also, I’m retweeting your giveaway tweet

  67. Heather K says:

    The most awesome smell in the world has to be new baby. Lying in a hospital bed taking in the scent of a brand new little life, mmmm, nothing like it! Too bad babies don’t always smell as good as the day they were born! 😉

    Oh and you are so LUCKY. My husband comes home from work smelling greasy & man-stinky. I’m jealous of anyone with a stink-free hubby!

  68. Heather K says:

    Already a fan of RnG on FB! Not sure how to link that here, though….does it still count?

  69. Heather K says:

    Just subscribed to your blog via email 🙂

  70. Heather K says:

    Ok, so I linked you on my FB page, but I’m not really sure how to link that here, or do a screen shot….I’m not exactly a tech expert 😉

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=626434614&ref=profile

  71. Kristen Van Sickle says:

    Re~tweeted to my peeps!
    http://twitter.com/kris10vs
    Fave smell, still wet cement, and score one for me, it’s raining down here in San Jose today! Good smells abound!!!
    ~kvs

  72. Corrie says:

    I have two most favorite-est smells… new baby and the air after a nice rain.

    I need to add that I do love entering giveaways, but some of your entry requirements are a bit hard to do… for instance, I’ve been following RnG on twitter and a fan of theirs on FB for a long long time. I don’t have those e-mail confirmations anymore!

    • sacredbee says:

      Thanks for the tip on the email confirmations for FB and twitter. I was just thinking that might be a problem, too. I have deleted these requirements. Please just send me a comment telling me you are a facebook fan and/or twitter fan (one comment for each). Thanks!
      -Kate

  73. Jenny says:

    Favorite smell….coffee. 🙂

  74. Erin McMullen says:

    My favorite smell ever is the smell of my baby when he was first born. I don’t know about you, but there is something absolutely intoxicating in that smell. Since I only get to smell that once, my second favorite is the smell of the first cut grass in the springtime….mmmmm…:)

  75. Emily says:

    tweet tweet

  76. Emily B says:

    I love the smell of melted chocolate!

  77. Emily B says:

    I follow you on twitter (emilyisland) and tweeted

  78. Emily B says:

    I follow @RockinGreenSoap on twitter (emilyisland)

  79. Danielle says:

    O how fun would this one be! I LOVE the smell of Clean. The clean laundry outside smell. The crisp smell of clean. Kate do you know what I mean? ;0) I know you do. And it is cost friendly. 45/90 loads @ $14. That is comparable to what we use. Nice find Kate!

  80. Emily says:

    tweet tweet

  81. Ellen in Conn says:

    I used to put a handful of borax in the diaper pail, with a gallon or so of water. The pail was an old joint compound bucket from the side of the road – fell off a sheetrocker’s truck. The borax keeps the ammonia down.

    • sacredbee says:

      That’s a great idea – Good old borax. I know that my mom swears by epson salts for curing all sorts of household issues. I’ll give it a try. Does the borax help with whitening, too?

  82. Emily says:

    tweet tweet

  83. Emily B says:

    tweet

  84. Emily says:

    tweet tweet

  85. Julie says:

    It’s a toss up between basil and lavender/vanilla

  86. Marla says:

    My favorite Rockin’ Green Laundry Detergent scent is currently Motley Clean (but sometimes it changes!)!

    In general, my favorite scents have to be lavender, or vanilla, or pumpkin pie! I also love the smell of the sea, my husband, and sun-dried diapers that have been hung on the line! (Yes, they do smell! And they smell so clean!)!

    heaventaste @ hotmail dot com

  87. Marla says:

    I subscribed to your blog via email!

    heaventaste @ hotmail dot com

  88. Marla says:

    I am following @sacredbee on Twitter @Marseepan

    Tweet! Tweet!

    http://twitter.com/#!/Marseepan/status/67433794612895744

    heaventaste @ hotmail dot com

  89. Marla says:

    I am following @RockingGreenSoap on Twitter!

    @Marseepan

    heaventaste @ hotmail dot com

  90. Marla says:

    I like Rockin’ Green on Facebook!

    FB ID: Marla Ross-Schad

    heaventaste @ hotmail dot com

  91. Pingback: personalized cleanliness: nellie’s all-natural & eco-me (review & giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

