Second verse, different than the first

I was born a singer.  I love to sing – in the shower, gardening in the yard, driving to work.  It doesn’t matter when or where – I am singing.  But, my husband has a saying: “God gave you the love of singing, but forgot to give you a suitcase to carry the tune in.”  Oh well, I have devoted, non-judgmental fans in Beckett and Tucker!

So, as you read my blog posts about my “Favorite Things” – I want you to picture Julie Andrews gallivanting across Swiss fields, sewing clothes from curtains and get swept away in a heartfelt, version of “these are my favorite things…”

A Few of My Favorite Things: Second verse

Gorilla Munch Cereal by Nature’s Path Organic http://www.naturespath.com

Three cheers for this cereal – yummo! yummo! yummo!  If you like cereal (especially Kix-like cereals), you will love this stuff.  It has only three ingredients: Organic corn meal, organic evaporated cane juice and sea salt.  All you really need to know is that it’s divinely delicious, organic and affordable.  And, a little bonus, it’s based out of Richmond, B.C. Canada and made in Blaine, Washington.  So, three cheers for local, too.  The Food Co-Op sells a 23 ounce bag for $6.49.

Fruit & Vegetable Wash by Environné http://www.vegiwash.com/

Maybe you are asking yourself “Why is Kate talking about a product for washing produce when she is only buying organic?”.  Well, yes, I am buying mainly organic – especially fruits and vegetables.  But, the term “organic” doesn’t mean that it is free from bees knees and other harmless contaminants or that the produce doesn’t have a shiny, wax coating from transport.  This wash takes the worry out of not knowing what might be on my produce.  I already know that the organic apple I am eating is clear from any pesticides or harmful chemicals, but I also want to know that it is cleaned of nature’s gunk and other contaminants.

California Baby Products www.californiababy.com

There are two California Baby Products that we can’t live without: Colds & Flu Aromatherapy Bubble Bath and Calming Diaper Rash Cream.  California Baby makes an enormous line of products that are made of all natural, mostly organic, hypoallergenic, biodegradable ingredients.  They also don’t test on animals and purchase ingredients that are farmed using sustainable methods.  The Colds & Flu Aromatherapy Bubble Bath came into our lives a few months ago when Beckett had a wicked cold, couldn’t breathe out of her nose, was cranky as a crotchety old man and wasn’t sleeping to boot!  My husband can attest to the statement that I HATE Vic’s Vaporub.  Just the thought of the horrendous smell makes me nauseous.  But, unfortunately, it works.  Well, California Baby came to the rescue.  An incredibly effective product that smells good enough to question whether it comes in lip balm, candles, laundry soap and even tea!

The second California Baby product we swear by was born out of necessity and the switch to cloth diapers.  It is the Calming Diaper Rash Cream.  If you use cloth diapers, you have to avoid products that will bond with the diaper liner and affect its absorbency (hence, making it not a very good diaper!).  Pretty much anything that has a goopy, gloppy consistency and gloms onto your skin with a white paste is a big no no.  But, this diaper rash cream is perfection.  It has an incredible lavender scent (noticing a pattern here?! – I like smells!), wipes off clean and coats your baby’s butt in a protective healing layer.  I hate seeing Beckett’s darling bum covered in a fire red painful diaper rash and hearing her say “owch hoort” over and over as I change her diaper.  This alleviates both my pain and hers.  And, the list of “good” ingredients falls in line with the California Baby philosophy.  You really can’t beat it – cloth diapers or not!

FYI: the best price I have found for these products is at Target.  Don’t even look at Haggen – your eyes will bug out, you might even mouth “Bagack” and surely turn on your heel.  You can find these for more affordable prices and, believe me, it’s worth the reasonable price.

Hyland’s Homeopathic Teething Tablets & Calms Forté www.hylands.com

Bring me a horribly cranky, feverish teething baby or a restless, hyperactive toddler and I will pop a Hyland’s Homeopathic Tablet in their mouth.  We swear by the Teething Tablets and the Calms Forté sleep aid.  They are affordable, all natural and I don’t have to worry about the number of teething tab doses Beckett can get in a 24-hour period.  If she needs another, or I need another, that’s okay.   The bottles range in price from about $5.50 to $8.00 for around 120 tablets.  And, they work well.  Incredibly well.  Hyland’s has become the Ferry Family’s pharmacist and our medicine cabinet is slowly becoming stocked with more homeopathic remedies as we transition from our old inoculates to more natural, less harsh options.  Bonus: you can easily find Hyland’s products in most major stores in Whatcom County.

As I travel down the road of life and become more involved in this project, I am continually amazed by the number of cool products out there.  Word of mouth is the best advertising.  If I can share a helpful hint with you or advice on how to make something work better for our environment, you’ll find it in a few of my favorite things.

On to the third verse…

This entry was posted in home & hearth, oh! it's organic!, practically personal, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second verse, different than the first

  1. Pingback: Nature’s Path: Delivering the goods (Review & Giveaway) | The Sacred Bee's Blog

  2. Pingback: A few favorite things: Ditto, Instinctive & Lopees | The Sacred Bee's Blog

Leave a Reply

