OMG! Spicy Peanut Chicken

If I had been a queen in ancient Greece, I would not have had people filling my wine glass or dropping delicious olives into my mouth.  They would have been refilling bowls with ladle upon ladle of Thai peanut sauce.  You see, it is not just a condiment – it’s also a side dish and entrée.  And, it is simply divine.

Well, the Ferry hit the ball out of the park with dinner on Sunday night.  We made an all organic meal: spicy peanut chicken on a bed of short grain brown rice and chocolate chip cookies for dessert.  We really couldn’t go wrong – peanut sauce and chocolate chip cookies.  A good night indeed.

The recipe is titled Spicy Peanut Chicken and is courtesy of Rachael Ray (a.k.a. 30 minute meals).  Here is a copy of it: Spicy Peanut Chicken Recipe.  It is really a wonderfully diverse, throw it all together kind of dish. The final dish fed all three of us (including Beckett, who eats as much as a small adult) and there were leftovers for two pack lunches. Plus, it’s relatively healthy to boot.  There is only ¼ cup of peanut butter and three tablespoons of oil.  And, it’s loaded with vegetables.  Just a warning – you better like peanut sauce if you are making this.  It is peanuty-delicious.

A few tips:
o    Mix and match whatever veggies you like; we added peas because we like them and always have them in the freezer
o    Get things ready ahead of time.  If you are prepared – this dish goes quick and is ready in minutes.  So, act like a short order cook and have the goods chopped, measured and set out.
o    Slice it up pretty: I think that “julianne” is the word.  Jacob chunked everything into 1-inch cubes – it was very geometric.  But, the curb appeal would have been a little higher if there was some variety to the shapes.

Pictures, pictures, pictures – where are you?!?

I am new to this whole blogging thing and these posts are teaching me that it’s okay to be slightly narcissistic.  People obviously want to know what I am doing or they wouldn’t be reading.  But, I am just not a photo kind of person.  I am lucky if the batteries aren’t dead and once I do scrounge up the camera, I cross my fingers that Beckett won’t have red-eyes because I have the setting wrong.  And, honestly, there was no time for pictures.  Jacob, Beckett and I inhaled dinner.  We weren’t breathing – let alone picture taking.

But, don’t worry – I did get a picture of the chocolate chip cookies.  And they were oh-so-yummy!

Here’s the recipe for the cookies: Chocolate Chip Cookies courtesy of Toll House.  Everything listed in the recipe was replaced with organic ingredients – 100%.

I like cooking, I really like baking and I LOVE eating.  And, it is so positively refreshing to set food on the dinner table (not the cookies!) and know that it is homemade and completely free from any harmful chemicals.

Here’s to many more homemade, all organic meals – Cheers!

Yummo! They gotta be a little chewy - no crunchy cookies in our house.

This entry was posted in oh! it's organic!, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OMG! Spicy Peanut Chicken

  1. Ginger says:

    Oh, that sounds soo good!

    And now I’m craving cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

