Their eyes are watching me

Sometimes I get grand ideas, drive head first into them, work them over and enjoy the project, but then lose steam.  I pitter out.  And, you should see some of the projects and ideas I have tackled.  They were amazing – but, depressingly short lived.  I like the taste, but I don’t always stick around to chew.

So, last December when I decided to start on this project – I wanted to make sure that I succeeded.  I knew that it was going to be hard and it would be a long haul.  And, I knew I needed support and someone (or, hopefully, MANY people!) to hold me accountable.  That’s where the blog idea came in.  What better way to be held responsible than to have a devoted audience that follows my every move?

And, that’s where you all come in.

Well, here’s the story…

Last week, I sent out an email to all my friends at work and told them about the project that I was undertaking.  I heard some wonderfully positive feedback and it seemed like a handful had taken the bait.  The email and invitation were well received and I knew I had gained a handful of cyberspace followers.

Now for the confession…

I am the mother of a toddler.  I work full time.  I don’t sleep enough.  I usually eat on the go.  Sometimes I am lucky to just roll out of bed, find matching socks and scoot out the door with one eye open!  And, try as I might, I work hard to get that lunch packed the night before, but also try to remember to grab it in the morning…

So, please imagine a tummy grumbling pitifully loud at about 10 o’clock in the morning, no snacks in the desk drawer and a single vending machine on school campus.  Now, picture a vending machine stocked with bags of colored chips upon ridiculously high fat cookies next to stale packs of gum for absurd prices.  What’s a hungry girl to do?  Plunk my 85-cents into the machine, punch in D-4 and watch my Twix bar drop to the bottom.  Then, quickly grab my change, reach in, snatch my candy bar and make a move for the door with my head down.  But, what do I hear over my shoulder… “How’s that carbon footprint doin’?”

Oh, snap!  Caught red handed.  And, my only response was “It really is the healthiest thing in there!”  But, is it really?!  Yes, it pathetically is.  It is only 12 grams of fat for the two bars and the ingredients are things you might actually be able to pronounce.  But, it is definitely NOT organic or local and it is still laden with a laundry list of artificial, unhealthy ingredients.

I will still turn to the devilish vending machine when hungry strikes and I am all out of options.  But, my goal now is to make a more concerted effort to nip the hunger in the bud, restock my desk drawers with healthier, quick snacks and bring the goodness of our home pantry and refrigerator to work.

Looks like I am going to be held accountable in both cyberspace and in reality.  But, that’s good.  Bring on the support and watchful eyes…

So, here are the ingredients – drum roll, please…..

The official list of ingredients:

Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Milk Ingredients, Cocoa Mass, Lactose, Soy Lecithin, Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate, Artificial Flavour), Enriched Flour (Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Sugar, Hydrolyzed Palm and Palm Kernel Oil, Corn Syrup, Milk Ingredients, Dextrose, Salt, Cocoa Mass, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin, Soybean Oil, Artificial Flavor

This entry was posted in home & hearth, supper & sustenance. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Their eyes are watching me

  1. Nancy says:

    Hi Kate!
    A great adventure, huh? Thanks for including me on your list.
    We have been doing garbage/recycle pick up once per month for about a year now. As far as snacks go at work, hubby and I have a good system. Weekend planning for the week. Prioritize food for you days at work. I take 1-2 apples, presliced to eat throughout the day. Hubby takes a bag of apples and leaves it under his desk for the Week. For lunches we cook up a bunch of chicken in the just right portions. That way we can eat it finger food style (cold) with cheese, grapes, nuts or other stuff we might like for our mid day meal. Well, we’ve gone from eating out almost everyday to eating at work. Feels better and healthier!
    Anyway, you also know about our “going bagless” campaighn at the shop. I think it’s also important for businesses to look at ways to help the environment as well.
    Keep me informed about your progress! I think you are onto a grrrreat start! Just getting started is half the battle!

    • sacredbee says:

      Hi Nancy –

      Thank you for checking out the blog. I agree with your “business” decision to go bagless. That is so important to have businesses sending the message, too. And, yes, the eating home cooked food has the benefits of healthier eating, too. 🙂

      Keep checking this out!

      Take care and hopefully I’ll see you soon in the shop – I feel a knitting buzz coming on.

      -Kate

Leave a Reply

